We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A life changing experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dialogue in The Dark

Dialogue in The Dark
Level 5, Inorbit Mall, Hitech City, Madhapur, Hyderabad, Hyderabad, India
+91 40 6460 3341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,962 Restaurants in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Have you ever wondered what the world would look like if it was stripped of all colours and light? For the first time in India, Dialogue in the Dark brings to you innovative experiences that promises to get you out of your comfort zone, challenge your mind and awaken your senses. An interactive and insightful social enterprise which has a presence in over 30 countries and 130 cities across the globe, Dialogue in the Dark offers two immersive entertainment experiences - Taste of Darkness and The Exhibition Tour - that are built around the idea of offering a glimpse of life around us without the sense of sight. Darkness is used as an educational tool to help people deal with familiar situations and everyday activities with a new perspective - one where the other four senses come alive. Visitors are led by Tour Guides into specially designed dark rooms that uses only sounds, smells, textures and tastes to convey the environment, be it a park, a city, a boat cruise or a bar. For the gourmets, our Dining Guides serve a surprise four course meal in total darkness that challenges your taste buds and table manners. Dining by completely relying on the other four senses result in a never-before experience where you are immersed in the feel, smell and taste of your meal. Apart from the two experiences, Dialogue in the Dark also aims to include people with disabilities into society by sensitizing the people on the abilities of the disabled. The sensitization helps the society to accept those with disabilities as job-worthy and opens people up to the idea of hiring them in their organization's workforce. So, come and experience Dialogue in the Dark!
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A life changing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I did not really know much about the place but my wife took me there for a surprise. I did not what to expect. But it was a life changing experience, It was very emotional and I did not know what to say for almost and hour after that. I have been here a number of times and has liked each time.
The food here is not bad they serve you in complete darkness so you might find it a little difficult.The meals are pre-plated I would suggest not using spoons or forks and use your hands to eat, it will add to the experience.
Overall a must visit if you haven't been here before, you will feel good about the money you would pay for food and experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is not a run of the mill multi cuisine restaurant. We had visited the restaurant for the unique experience of having a meal without being able to see the same. The restaurant serves set Veg-Non Veg meals apart from a four course meal. There is no menu to choose from, but again it is not the food but the experience that make it special. While it was dark and you could not see nothing at all, we were immediately put at ease by our guide. A Soothing voice, courteous gestures and very fast service was really impressive. It was indeed a paradigm shift to realize how difficult or unique a meal can be, when you need to feel it with your fingers, taste it to know the dish and smell it to savour the aroma...since you cannot see it. The food was nice with good portion size. We had a wonderful conversation with our guide , who was as passionate about what he does. People who are blessed with sight, should feel at least once, how the other senses are awakened when you cannot see anything at all...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and myself went to this restaurant on 5th April 2014. You get two choices of food here - one for Rs. 399 (Roti+Rice+Sabji) and other for Rs. 650 (4-course meal) before taxes; veg or non-veg. The detailed menu is a surprise and if you in a group of people (>1), you cannot mix and match the menu. All have to order the same thing for the sake of blind waiters who have to serve you in the dark.

Then after accepting T&C and making the payment, you deposit any light-emitting equipment (watches, mobiles, etc.) to security and are ushered inside the darkness in a straight line while holding on to each other's shoulders. You are served food in absolute darkness with music playing constantly. If you are claustrophobic, you should not go here as the darkness will make you panic.

The food is good but nothing to boast of. The experience of having the food in absolute darkness is what matters here! We thoroughly enjoyed our food and the experience. It is worth a visit once (or two if you like it).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Soul Stirring!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

One of its kind in our country, its definately a place to visit.
Just be there to feel the place..the surrondings and am sure you will like it.
There are two parts : Tour + Dinner. We did only the tour. which was about an hour long. It was pretty entertaining with lot of activities to do..it does force you to use the other dormant senses!
We played cricket in the dark!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“More than food it's experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I went there with office Collogue and really loved the overall experience. There I realized what it's the difference between eating in front of TV and eating with no distraction. My recommendation will be must go until you dont have claustrophobia. It can be tough for claustrophobic ppl.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dialogue in The Dark also viewed

Hyderabad, Telangana
Hyderabad, Telangana
 
Hyderabad, Telangana
Hyderabad, Telangana
 

Been to Dialogue in The Dark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dialogue in The Dark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.