We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with superb rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Krishna Hyderabad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Krishna Hyderabad to your Saves list
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road No: 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 274 Hotels in Hyderabad
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel with superb rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

This is a great hotel with excellent rooms. The bar here is fantastic, but very expensive with questionable Pinot Grigio.

The gym is fairly basic but they have a good barber who is cheap and professional.

The restaurant is excellent and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTKH, General Manager at Taj Krishna Hyderabad, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your feedback. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj Krishna, Hyderabad soon.
Best regards,

Sarabjeet Singh

Director Operations-TAJGVK Hotels and Resorts Ltd., and General Manager-Taj Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    213
    51
    11
    10
See reviews for
57
58
76
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haastrecht , the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

great place to stay if you can burn money. Since food and wine were 3-5 times the rate we had paid during our three weeks South India trip and the restaurant staff still gave the impression that we were cheap class tourists for selecting an 75 euro Indian wine , rather than a more than 100 euro French wine the next day we escaped to a nice restauarant one block away

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — price was outrageous
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

We stay here everytime we visit India. The rooms are great (the showers can be improved) and super nice people, especially Gopal Krishna, who took time to visit with us almost everyday to make sure we are being well taken care of. In fact, we just don't check into any other hotels in Hyd....very happy with our experince at Taj Krishna the past two times we stayed. We have small kids, we used their on call pediatrician during our stays at the hotel....very efficient and propmt....The doctor's fees were extremely cheap even at Taj Krishna's level and especially compared with the US healthcare costs. As a mother of three small children, I highly recommend it for parents, who are concerned about traveling with small children. Also, if you need more room because of children, I definitely recommend getting a suite with a balcony if possible....as we did to avoid being in the same room with three small kids...worked out beautifully for all of us! Ok, it can be pricy but one has to expect that even in India when staying at a five star hotel but it's worth it. We (family of five) always enjoy having breakfast at the hotel before we venture out...the chefs are very good about making whatever special request you may have. Oh, I especially loved the airport pickup and drop off service not with one vechicle but two to fit our family and the fifteen suitcases we were allowed on the plane.....again, it may cost you a little but don't forget the painfree experience and enjoy your stay to the fullest.
LHall

  • Liked — The Ambience and service
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTKH, General Manager at Taj Krishna Hyderabad, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your feedback. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj krishna, Hyderabad soon.

Best regards,

Sarabjeet Singh
Director Operations-TAJGVK Hotels and Resorts Ltd., and General Manager-Taj Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Although the hotel is lovely what made the stay memorable was the wonderful service I received. It began with the airport pick up. I stayed on the executive level and my butler was wonderful. As other travelers have mentioned ,the concierge service went far above and beyond what is routinely encountered in five star hotels. Breakfast on the executive level provided a wide range of choices and was more than ample.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTKH, General Manager at Taj Krishna Hyderabad, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your feedback. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj Krishna, Hyderabad soon.

Best regards,

Sarabjeet Singh

Director Operations-TAJGVK Hotels and Resorts Ltd., and General Manager-Taj Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Taj Krishna is a wonderful place to stay.
Our family of four had great time staying there.
Opulent, clean with a courteous staff, ready to please the customers.
Ms.Ruchi Sharma, Guest Relations executive, was exceptionally great in helping us and made the stay memorable.
I have one more thing to share which tells a lot about the character of the hotel.
One day we left the safe deposit box in the room unlocked (in hurry) with all the jewellary and 1.5 lakh rupees in it. When Mr.Anil kumar and Ms.Vrinda came to prepare the room and found the locker open, the security was called and security locked the safe. When we returned, we were given a new code to open it and every thing was in it.
Also Firdausi resturant should not be missed..for great food and great live singing (Hindi songs)
..Chandrakant Rao, M.D.

  • Liked — The staff, courteous and honest
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTKH, General Manager at Taj Krishna Hyderabad, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your feedback. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj Krishna, Hyderabad soon.

Warm regards,

Sarabjeet Singh
Director Operations-TAJGVK Hotels and Resorts Ltd.
and General Manager-Taj Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

I have been living at the Taj Krishna for the past three months as part of a temporary relocation from the US. I travel 150+ nights per year in the US, and have never encountered a better hotel overall. I could not ask for a better hotel in terms of quality of service, rooms, or convenience to the major attractions in Hyderabad. The moment you get picked up from the airport by the uniformed chauffeur in the 7-series BMW, you know you're in good shape.

The Taj Club staff in particular distinguished themselves in every way in terms of service, answering any question from the mundane to the philosophical. They were universally friendly, helping us arrange airport transfers, travel, solving computer problems, and even helping us understand the finer points of South Indian cuisine. They will do virtually anything (we never encountered the outer limit) to help a guest or keep him / her happy. As with everything in India, tipping for good service never hurts, but there is no "expectation" of tips as I have encountered elsewhere.

The Taj Club food makes for a great breakfast - there is an excellent buffet (Indian food is generally better than the Western stuff) and you can also order anything within reason from the staff if you don't see what you want. Cocktail hour (6:30 - 8:00pm) is also a good chance to grab a light snack and is quite possibly the only free drink you'll encounter in the country. Restaurants are so-so (Firdaus is good but overpriced; Encounters is not really worth going), but the room service is basically the same price as eating downstairs if you're feeling lazy or if it's late. If you're staying for a longer time, as many of my expat fellow guests appeared to be, there's a grocery store (Food Bazaar) across the street to stock up on basics - there are about a half-dozen restaurants in the same mall / complex.

The location is very good - 20 min from the airport, 20 min from Hitec City, and walking distance from many shops, restaurants, and parks. For those deciding between the Sheraton and the Taj, be sure you understand the traffic / construction in Panjagutta, which can make the 1km drive between the two a 30 min. or more ordeal - a big advantage for the Taj in my book.

Pricing is reasonable by US standards / for anyone on an business tript; by Indian standards, you pay quite a bit for the Taj brand. Some of the big employers in town have negotiated significant discounts with the hotel (rooms, food, etc.), so it's worth asking.

A few cautions, which do not temper my overall enthusiasm:

1. Not all rooms are created equal. Insist on a room facing the garden / pool and you'll enjoy a gorgeous view across Banjara Hills to Hussain Sagr (the big lake in the center of town) and beyond. Despite previous reviews, street-facing rooms were unbearably noisy in our experience. One note - the hotel was installing new windows as of June 2007 and so noise may go down. Also, for Taj Club rooms, the rooms on the 7th and 8th floors are quite a bit nicer (better layout, nicer bathrooms, hand-laid wooden parquet floors, etc.) than those on the 6th floor and below. 7th floor may be most convenient as it is on the same level as the Taj Club serving food, drinks, etc.
2. Laundry prices are outrageous, even by Taj pricing standards (Rs 300 / $7.50 to wash a tee-shirt?!). If you're not on an expense account, this will add up fast.
3. Indian food is good, but there is better within walking distance of the hotel for a fraction of the price. Enjoy the food if you're feeling lazy, but go out otherwise.
4. The fitness center is nothing remarkable - adequate for a short stay, but not up to US standards nor at the level of the hotel's other facilities. For exercise buffs, the best option is swimming in the very nice pool.
5. It did not seem that all guests were treated equally; as a caucasian male I was treated very well but my traveling companion (East Asian female) was definitely treated with less respect.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTKH, General Manager at Taj Krishna Hyderabad, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your feedback. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj krishna, Hyderabad soon.

Best regards,

Sarabjeet Singh
Director Operations-TAJGVK Hotels and Resorts Ltd., and General Manager-Taj Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

This is a second time I am staying at Taj Krishna, and well I became more and more dissapointed every day. If you are making your reservation because it is a "memeber of the leading hotels in the world" well be prepared for a lot of surprises. If you can pack 2-3 towels of your own, because towels that are supposed to be white are nasty gray color. There are some member of managerment team who got a glued on frowning face, and they are very-very unattentive, and all your complaints to them will be in one ear out the other. I literally had to scream at the butlers at Taj Club, because I asked them for a "Nice, Big Fruit basket to gift it to a family who invited us for lunch" instead I got a small tray with maybe 1.5 lb of ugly looking fruits. They assumed it was ok for them to charge it to my room, an cost of it was about 5-6 times more than if I would buy it outside. I asked them to return it but they posted the charges and enjoyed the fruit themselves. Wonderful taxi service will cost you around Rs 4400, where the driver who was taking me around was earning Rs. 3000 per month. How about that? Cars were not nice at all, I think Chicago cabs are much nicer than these taxis. Limo cervice? There is no limo service!!! Rooms are very bland, and only 25% of the staff are pleasant, the rest will act like they are doing a great big favor to you. Food was terrible, since my husband's roots are from Hyderabad, I can tell bad food from good. if you wish to have some Indian food, call up a restaurant near by called Tabla, if you let them know they will make your food non spicy, medium or hot. Firdaus, an indian restaurant at Taj and room service didn't understand the word 'non-spicy" as I was trying to order some food to share with my 18 months old daughter. By day 20 my blood pressure got high from dealing with hotel people and local people. Try Sheraton instead. I would ask for my money back, but my husband asked me not to create a sceen.
P.S. in a picture attached if you look closely you will see that compared to a sunscreen bottle which is white towel is quite gray!!!

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Beauty salon and Health club
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Krishna Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Krishna Hyderabad

Address: Road No: 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#11 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#18 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Krishna Hyderabad 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Krishna on Banjara hills Road No. 1, Hyderabad, is one of the most distinguished addresses in the city. Its proximity to the business district has furthered the Hotel’s reputation as the epicenter of Hyderabad with its graceful architecture blending aesthetically with modern facilities. Along with its repertoire of renovated features, the hotel offers a perfect blend of contemporary comfort and stylish sophistication. With The Chambers – the city’s exclusive power statement; the newly-updated Deluxe Rooms, the in-house lifestyle store Taj Khazana and the soon-to-be re-launched Golden Dragon, the hotel has unarguably become Hyderabad’s most-preferred address offering the finest accommodation for discerning heads of state, corporate czars, celebrities and Royalty travelling to India. Indeed, it is a tribute to hospitality and service, complimenting the broad boulevards and leafy splendors of Hyderabad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Krishna Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Krishna Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad
Hotel Taj Krishna
Taj Krishna Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Krishna Hyderabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.