We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falaknuma Palace: Mirror in the Sky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Falaknuma Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Falaknuma Palace to your Saves list
Taj Falaknuma Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 274 Hotels in Hyderabad
Oriolo Romano, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Falaknuma Palace: Mirror in the Sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful palace once a royal guest house made into an opulent hotel in 2012. The architecture a potpourri of different styles, Neo- Renaissance, Baroque, Tudor, Italian and Art Deco! but a successful combination. A coach and horses will take you from the arrival gate to the main reception entrance. The rooms are comfortable rather than palatial. The service in the Hotel and in the restaurants is leisurely!
The famous Hyerabad Briyani was good but not fabulous. There are other 5 star Taj Hotels where the service arguably surpasses that of Falaknuma Palace

Room Tip: Take a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    38
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
98
16
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My teenager son had great expectations having already stayed at some fab hotels like Taj Oberoi, Schönburg Hotel Oberwesel on the Rhine, Niagara Hilton Fallsview. I think we were a bit disappointed, although the Carriage ride was great the guy who took the picture was rubbish!! As he was using the Digital camera he could have easily noticed that the eyes of my son were closed and could have taken another shot - so pls make sure your keepsake photo is good as you don't stay there everyday! It was only 10 days later when I called up they sent me via email. They made me fill out "Preference Sheet" with Spice levels..etc - don't bother wasting your time as they don't care!. Booked the Gol Bunglow for the experience - OK food, bitterly disappointed with the bland HALEEM!! (I've since had reply from the Hotel to improve based on my feedback)
As said earlier in some reviews you can't finish off the 7 Course food served, had to contend with the mosquitoes as well. We had lunch earlier in the day - it was sumptuous.Overall the service was great, Pav Bhaji served for Breakfast was to die for!
Oh Yeah, we had a great time as we were there on Diwali Day - special effort was made to involve the guests in Fire works and sweets. My sons enjoyed the Day. I booked an extra cot for my son, however at 11pm he was offered a mattress in the room for no cost - which was ok, as the rooms can easily accommodate 4 people.
Most impressive about this Palace is that you can actually sit, touch, feel and enjoy what the Royalty enjoyed, unlike when you visit Windsor Palace or Napoleon's Quarters in Louvre!!

Room Tip: Most rooms are spacious, ours was facing the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was super excited about the idea of staying in palace and so is the rest of the family. We had booked two rooms and one being the Jahangir Suite. The road to the palace was a rough ride and the palace itself appeared to be anything else but a palace. Don't go by the lustrous and gorgeous photoshopped pictures being posted by the hotel. The palace bear the look of neglect and lack of decent maintenance at various places. Inside, the room, specially the Jahangir suite, you would feel the old world charm, comfort and luxury though. We refused the welcoming procedure where one is made to sit on a horse driven coach as we have senior citizens among our family who cannot climb upto the highly placed platform to step into the coach. The shower of stale rose petals while we climbed the stairs of the palace was definitely not heart warming experience and the stale blackened Jasmine flower bands literally made me laugh at the hotel.

Two things, which definitely needs a mention is the food and service, both are disappointing if you have any expectations. I was expecting to taste some authentic and sumptuous Hyderabadi food as this was my very first visit to Hyderabad. Unfortunately, the hotel's Hyderabadi food is limiting in its number and taste. I loved the mussels there. The breakfast (no buffet though) that I ordered in the room was good except those cold and tasteless paranthas. Bacon was crispy and sausages were well done.

We wanted to buy pearls and fortunately the hotel housed a tiny Mangatrai Jewellery outlet. Overall not a great experience but it was not that bad either.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

once everyone should stay at falaknuma. try the rooms in eastern side garden. upgrade is rarely given, but i expected more upkeep of the gardens and the area in the eastern garden side, a dining option in the old building area is much needed. the hotel needs to add the hyderabad as an attraction. overall outstanding.

Room Tip: eastern garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being to this property for a business event . Being a die hard Taj loyalist ...it sometimes hurt to see if there is even a bit of lack of excellence .
THis property is truly amazing ..takes you back to royal Era . However the room service and F&B was not at all of standard of the property .
Had to wait for long ...probably the hotel mgmt uses contract staff for events ..coz the finesse and quality was lacking .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my overall experience was amazing. Me and my family had a great quality time.! we stayed there for about a week.. the staff is so well managed. the services was always on time.. I would surely like to visit it again

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like most people, I was blown away by the property. The folks at the Taj did an amazing job at bringing the property back to life. I was impressed with how so much of the original was kept in tact. The man cave on the 2nd floor is amazing.

I was also pleased by the food, the restaurant Adaa had some really delicious Mughal food, and the breakfast was all you can eat, and a la carte. It was all delicious.

The only negative feedback I have is the slow nature of the service. Whether it was waiting more than 25 minutes for a beer, or not even hearing yes or no on my request to try an upgraded room, I do think there are some clear gaps that need to be improved upon.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#4 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Falaknuma Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.