We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Falaknuma Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Falaknuma Palace to your Saves list
Taj Falaknuma Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 284 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights. We have been living in India and travelling lots in India, staying lots at Taj. This hotel breakfast was one of the best breakfast I had in Taj. I loved pastry, croissant etc. It was really good standard. The room and the hotel was beautiful and love surrunding.

Only the negative was staff. They were quite slow and not very efficient, but it did not bother me too much, as the hotel was really great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful and detailed review post your recent stay with us at our Palace.

We are glad to note that overall you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and we did notice that some of the attributes we have not been able to meet your expectations fully. Specifically, please do accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused with regards to the slow service. I have taken up the matter very seriously with our Manager – Food & Beverages as well as the Training Manager and please be assured that we’ll ensure that corrective measures are taken in terms of attentiveness to ensure that such an incident does not reoccur again.


I’m also delighted to share exiting news with you Taj Falaknuma Palace recently won the prestigious Travel + Leisure India’s Best Heritage Hotel Award 2013 and The Best Spa Interiors award 2013 (Hotel & Resort) by Geospa AsiaSpa India Awards. We have also been awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2013 for consistently earning high traveler ratings by travelers, and also have been featured among the Top 25 Luxury Hotels in the Trip Advsior’s Travelers Choice Awards 2013.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday and assure you of our best services and fullest attention at all times.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    51
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
83
137
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This TAJ property - the former residence of the Nizam of Hyderabad, is one of the finest luxurious hotels in India, with the ambiance, decor, location, heritage and a view to kill. It is 2000 feet above Hyderabad. The grand chandeliers, rare furniture, grand marble staircases, fountains, gardens, priceless statues and stained-glass windows are worth seeing. The Palace Library, a replica of the one at Windsor Castle. They have 2 restaurants one serving sumptuous Indian cuisines and the other Mediterranean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members especially, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

Let us share with you some more interesting information about the Palace restoration.

The restoration has almost took ten years, and the Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces has infused new life into the Falaknuma Palace, which is ready to resume its status as Hyderabad’s most exclusive address to offer its guests a glimpse of the regal lifestyle of the Nizams who governed the legendary city of Hyderabad. After 10 years of extensive restoration, and preserving the priceless art and artifacts, Taj Falaknuma Palace now welcomes guests – completely restored, renewed and reinstated to its former glory.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday - a bit longer stay for the next time.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We decided to spend 3 days, including New Year’s eve, at the Falaknuma Palace when in Hyderabad to visit friends. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The carriage ride from the security stop to the hotel was very nice. The hotel staff greeting was warm and check-in was painless. Our room, a Suite on the second floor was spacious, impeccably decorated and well equipped. A warm bath with rose petals was waiting for us when we arrived. Little touches like both terry and cotton bathrobes were a very nice touch. The property is beautiful and grounds are perfectly maintained. The spa is exceptional. The gift shop is very, very nice. The big disappointment was service and food quality. Having staying in several of the Taj Palace properties (Taj Mahal Mumbai, Lake Palace, Rambaugh) we had an expectation of the quality of facilities and service we would find at Falaknuma – sadly, we were disappointed. The food quality, while very nice, was not the exceptional standard of other properties. The table service was very friendly but not efficient for example, from when we ordered it took 10 – 15 mins for morning coffee to arrive at breakfast; one night our cocktail order took 20 mins. the next night 30 mins. this was accompanied with apologies and explanations that the delay was because the type of vodka we had requested was located in a different bar. I should note that in each case it was not sufficiently busy to account for the service. In every case the staff was very pleasant but it left us wondering whether it would be better to strike a balance between courteous/helpful staff and efficient service. Finally, the communications for the New Year’s Eve festivities (which were great fun) was very poor. No one we spoke to was clear about what time it would start and whether seating was reserved or not and therefore what time we should plan to arrive to ensure a nice table. As it turned our tables had been reserved in advance, ours was lovely and the evening was great fun. The next evening, a price fixe dinner was being served on the outside dining area – we could not find out any information about it in advance. Finally, unlike every other Taj property, we were not asked to provide feedback on our experience – very odd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i stayed with a friend on 17th jan 2013 ..It was an amazing place to be...the welcome was unique and interesting you are taken to the palace on a horse carriage and the shower of rose petals on arrival is very special...you are treated like royalty. Rooms are very nice ,food and service is extraordinary...A must for every tourist who come to hyderabad ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Tak Falaknuma in November for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Beautiful grounds, lovely carriage ride, a special refreshing drink and sweeping views of the city greet you once you get there. Rooms are luxurious but it was the evening Qawwali at the Gol Bungalow that blew us away. It has got to be one of the most spectacular views of the city and a great way to spend the evening. Dinner was delicious, in particular the haleem. The staff was gracious and always helpful but at times felt a little green, especially at the restaurant which seemed a bit hurried. The hotel still being relatively new this was understandable. We would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to have a wonderful stay. We'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well appointed. You couldn't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel/palace experience is just amazing. From the time one steps on to property at the entrance of the Castle, one is treated like royalty. We stayed in the palace for 4 nights in early December 2012 and totally enjoyed every minute. The staff were discreet but always available to every whim of ours and as one would expect for this class of hotel, they went the extra steps to find out about our tastes and demands.
Lots of honeymoon couples come to spend just a night in the hotel and hardly get the full joy of staying in this place. Hence, the jazz bar with it's live singer is hardly appreciated.

Room Tip: Spa needs to be updated with extra modern requirements of guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Falakmuma Palace in early January, 2013 and had a spectactular two night-three day visit. As a historian by profession, I was enchanted with the palace's history (there were daily tours), and as we left, the staff regaled us with stories of the Nizams' family history and showed us the coronation room, now under restoration. The grounds, the rooms the facilities were excellent. One has a 360 view of Hyderabad from the palace's mountainous perch and lights sparkle at night. The food was fabulous--the bakery deserves special mention.. The service could not be better. All in all (and we have stayed at most Taj heritage hotels over the years), we had a wonderul, memorable time and would, despite its steep tab, highly recommend it. Plus, there is much to see and experience in Hyderabad, which does not receive the number of tourists (especially from abroad) that more popular venues, such as Rajastan or Kerala do.

Room Tip: All the rooms (60 in all) are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#7 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Falaknuma Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.