We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something's Missing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Falaknuma Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Falaknuma Palace to your Saves list
Taj Falaknuma Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 279 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something's Missing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Falaknuma Palace for two night in December. A beautifully restored palace with nice rooms and beautiful grounds. The greeting at at the hotel is copied from the Taj Lake Palace complete with rose petals but with a carriage substituting for the boat. The service in the restaurant, although attentive was quite slow (the morning we left we had to leave before we got our main dish and there were only 4 people in the restaurant). The dining room is beautiful but the food was unmemorable. We were given a private "heritage" tour through a part of the unrestored portion of the palace but left on our own to view the restored rooms....beautiful but without an explanation of what you are seeing there is no meaning. The hotel has all of the classical Taj Palace Hotel part....wonderful location, beautiful property, attentive staff but it misses heart. As if it has no reason to be. We will return to many of the Taj Palace hotels we have been to. But not to Falaknuma Palace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    46
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
76
125
17
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We've visited this palace for a group dinner - truly spectacular palace with a great view over the city, magnificent garden and British interior (guided tours). Both the environment and food were of the top quality. Downsides:
- The italian and indian restaurants--despite located literally next to each other and run by the same personnel--operate separately and it is not possible to get an italian menu in the indian part of the restaurant. This wasn't communicated to us and caused a very unpleasant outcome of having to separate the team into two based on the menu individuals have ordered prior to the visit (luckily we had an almost even split).
- No mobile credit card terminals, I had to walk to the back-office as I paid with a chip-and-pin card.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent a couple of days recently at Taj Falaknuma. Perched on top of a hill, the hotel provides for a great view of the historic city of hyderabad. The welcom carriage ride gives you a sense of royalty. staff is super courteous, food is awesome and the evening qawealli performance is a true gem. The hotel is tad expensive but is worth every penny...the rooms are not too spacious but the large bathrooms and bath tubs make up for it. so close your eyes and make it to this palace asap. this is one trip that you will not regret....this is easily the top 5 hotels in this part of the world.

anand

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were treated to this place by my partner's company for 3 days. Needless to say the experience was so luxe, so top notch and the grounds were so delightful that we never left our hotel. We declined on a complementary half day tour because there was just no chance we were going to go anywhere.

The property is pretty breathtaking up at the top of a rock hill- with a palace, a courtyard and a layout that is on a very grand scale. It feels like something out of a fantasy movie.

We had an unusual experience which was that we were treated to a honeymoon package which included a complementary candlelight dinner (where the chef custom made a meal for each of us) and a spa massage. The month of jan is also quiet so we had great service and the weather was bearable.

All I can say is that if you come here, you should enjoy the property and all it has to offer. It is peaceful, elegant, rich in luxury and history and there is no need to leave the place as its too much of a treat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

amazing. rooms are perfection. the hotel is magnificent. the food was superb and service was incredible. well worth its cost. it will be one of the highlights of your trip to beautiful india. thank you for an experience i will often remember and enjoy. your doing a tremendous job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a lovely stay at a beautiful resort which was just marred by one particularly unpleasant lady at check out.

My daughter had decided to join us and we were quoted a sum for the extra person when we checked in.

Upon receiving our bill, we noted the amount had been added twice. We pointed this out to a lady on checking out who, without an apology or a smile, removed the amount. However, we noted she had still left the extra taxes on the bill and when this again was pointed out, she again did not see fit to apologise and had a particularly sour face. Even though I asked her why she was so surly, she just carried out with her head down! We have travelled length and breadth of India and never had such a bad check out experience.

On the plus side, all the other staff were charming including the gorgeous waitress in the Italian section who was a delightful girl.

In fact all the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, including leaving a beautiful cake and flowers in our room to celebrate our anniversary.

Lovely pool and gorgeous restaurants.

Service on terrace terribly slow - could do with a permanent staff member in attendance.

Buffet breakfast magnificent and lovely entrance 'performance' as mentioned by other Trip Advisor members.

Worth a visit, but check your bill!

We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Palace wing lovely - really comfy beds too with pillow choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stay for two nights after arriving late from mumbai , we were enchanted with the wellcoming at the palace , the staff very courteus and friendly , the food at the Indian rest very well presented and very good , they could improved more we ordered some wine and they did not have all the selection they offered, but they day of our departured our flight was canceled until late afternoon and they let us stay until 4 oclock in the rooms , when you traveled to the south you need to be patience not everything is like Rajasthan but they tried they best to make you feel confortable and happy

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#3 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#4 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#7 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Falaknuma Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.