We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel... with many teething troubles...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Falaknuma Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Falaknuma Palace to your Saves list
Taj Falaknuma Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 274 Hotels in Hyderabad
Edina, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel... with many teething troubles...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

On the plus side, exquisitely beautifully restored, peaceful. and they go through the motions of making you feel like royalty...and the "monsoon package" is a fantastic deal. The food at Celeste (the italian restaurant) is excellent, if expensive. The Hyderabadi food at Adaa is good but nothing special -- you could get better food in town at lower prices, but the ambience in the Adaa private room is truly special.

On the minus side, they haven't got some of the most basic issues sorted out. Cannot make a decent cup of filter-press coffee or cappuccino, take twenty minutes to serve a glass of wine when the open bottle is sitting within sight of us, not enough towels in the bathrooms (just one bath towel per head in a grand royal suite), some of the royal suites smell moldy (wet patches on the floor in the corridor outside the suite), not great for asthmatics (ask for a standard room in the new wing rather than a historic or royal suite) -- they keep spraying very strong-smelling pesticides all the tiime -- wish they would use organic alternatives. The first suite we were shown was literally stinking. No one seems to have checked the bathroom before assigning it to a new guest. To be fair, they did move us, but took their own sweet time to do it.

Overall, about half the staff seem to be unclear about who is doing whom a favor, and behave as if they'd rather not have you there, instead of trying to make you feel comfortable. The other half are sweet and do try to please. To make this a truly top ranked hotel with service on par with top hotels in SE Asia (say, Aman resorts) is going to be an uphill task for the Taj with the current levels of training and staff attitudes.

I have also come to value the honest opinions of real travelers on this site much more after our stay at the Falaknuma. We had two very close friends, on a writer for Traveler, and the other a travel blogger for the Taj group, who were both being given the tour and royal treatment when we were there, and believe me, they did not get to experience what we did or see what we saw. I am sorry to say that this is a hotel that cares less about its guests than about its media coverage.

Room Tip: Take any packages on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    38
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
71
102
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lizard Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Even the arrival at Falaknuma Palace is impressive and set up to transport you into another world! The moment you turn into the palace's driveway you leave behind the bustling city. After a few minutes you arrive at the first entrance gate, where you leave your vehicle and change into a carriage drawn by 4 beautiful arabian horses. These pull you at full speed up the hill and stop just in front of the palace, where you are very ceremoniously greeted, offered a refreshing drink and you have the first view over the city. This was the favorite palace of the last Nizam of Hyderabad (he had 21!). It is easy to understand. The Taj Group has made an enormous effort to restore it to its original beauty. The entrance hall of the palace is made to give you the impression that you are entering heaven. This definitely sets the stage for the rest of the experience. I do not want to spoil the surprise or first impression. Suffice it to say that the rooms are wonderfully decorated, very spacious, have wonderful and huge bathrooms. The gardens are beautifully manicured, peacocks wander around, parrots fly around. The food is delicious. There are two main restaurants. The chef can prepare great Indian fare, even for the most delicate western stomachs not used to spicy food. The breakfast on a terrace overlooking the city is breathtaking. There are many terraces where you can have drinks and snacks or simply enjoy the peace over the city. The staff is tremendously helpful and cordial. It is easy to feel like a prince or princess in a fairytale. Maybe the only not quite up to the same high standard set up is the pool, which is almost too small and less inviting. This is the perfect place to come and relax. You can take a break from all the bustle, noise and crowding in the rest of India. You are not only transported into another world, but into a reality where time seems to flow slower. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the amazing Taj Falaknuma Palace on a visit to Hyderabad, where we did a day trip to the famous Malikarjun temple. The palace has been beautifully restored to an amazing hotel with superb hospitality and every effort to make a guest feel like true royalty.

Room Tip: Try the Historical Suite with a balcony and stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Ma'am,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Taj Falaknuma indeed was an extraordinary stay. As an interior designer myself and having a keen interest in architecture and design it was great to see the best of furniture, upholstery,fittings. The Palace tour given to guests was something I will remember for ages.The dinner experience at ADAA was also very much authentic with the kind of food being served. However the menu prices are a bit on the higher side. The decor and service in the restaurant was well appreciated by my other colleagues as well. I am looking forward to visting the city once again in coming months.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

i would never go back again to this hotel as this palace instead of having couteous staff contains rude and full of attitude staffs miss sharon fernandes the manager she is full of attitude i would not appreciate her bt ambience is too gud gol bunglow is awsome to sit and the quwwali and one mr anirudhya in restaurant i dnt know how he became the manager of such a gud hotel when i visited restaurant no one was there to attend me and my family he saw us waiting for someone to attend bt not bother to come so i would request owner of the taj to look into it its not the property bt the staff which is creating bad reputation to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. We insist that you write to us in detail at falaknuma.hyderabad@tajhotels.com, for us to understand the reasons of your dissatisfaction and improve our service further.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Taj Falaknuma is recently renovated and opened and completely lives up to the hype. You reach the hotel in a horse drawn carriage and are showered with rose petals as you enter the front door (really too elaborate to be called just a door!) The palace interior is spectacular as are the grounds. I think I had a relatively standard room but it was spacious and luxurious, including a wonderful bathroom - the staff will prepare a bath for you using your choice of bath salts. Staff in general were amazing - pretty much anticipated every need before you even knew you had one. Pool is lovely; tea on the balcony a wonderful experience. The only drawback is the location - the Palace is waaaay outside of downtown Hyderabad - great for pleasure but a bit inconvenient for business. Still well worth a visit, though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have seen Falaknuma as kids and were incredibly happy when Taj group took it over, restored it and converted into a Hotel. We had a lot of respect for Taj because they simply are (were) the best. Even our honeymoon was in one of the Taj heritage hotels. Over the years, as a family we have spent a lot of time in other Taj hotels in Mumbai and Hyderabad and I was always at a lost for words how good they get every single time.

However, unfortunately, I can't say the same about Falaknuma Palace. They have the most incompetent people working for them. Don't bother reserving anything with them because they won't hold it.

I had invited my guests for a dinner because I was told tables were available. Only when I confirmed with my guests and got back specifically when they asked me to with the exact number and other details, I was told at my face that they are booked to the brim. Imagine my utter dismay and shock.

I remember Taj people to be very accommodating when they screwed up (because come on, everybody does every once in a while) but people like Vineeta and Mr. I'm-in-charge-no-one-above-me Aswhin seem just way too busy and uninterested. In fact, I was told how he needs to move around a lot of chairs and tables in order to ‘create’ a space for our dining which he wasn’t going to do it anyways because it was way too much work.

It’s incredible how bad staff can ruin the image of the most reputed. Now after this experience, I cannot imagine going back to any of the Taj hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. We insist that you write to us in detail at falaknuma.hyderabad@tajhotels.com, for us to understand the reasons of your dissatisfaction and improve our service further.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#3 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#4 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Falaknuma Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.