We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right choice for Conferencing as well as Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golkonda Hyderabad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Golkonda Hyderabad to your Saves list
The Golkonda Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjara Hills, | Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WiFi, B.Fast & Miles
Ranked #15 of 274 Hotels in Hyderabad
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Right choice for Conferencing as well as Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Located near Masab Tank, this hotel with its refurbished status offers good value for money. The decor is soothing and ambiance nice. The food at the ground floor restaurant particularly the Hyderabadi dishes like biriyani, khubbani ka mitha are awesome. Room services and conferencing facilities are excellent. The travel desk can extend all necessary help for going around the city and its neighborhood. The hotel is equally attractive for travelers visiting Hyderabad for a vacation with family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Golkonda Hotel, Hyderabad and for your valued feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and its associated services.
It is our constant endeavor at The Golkonda-Hyderabad to deliver an unsurpassed customer experience with an exquisite range of facilities to match.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the The Golkonda-Hyderabad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    204
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
79
51
75
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Golkonda for two nights and really enjoyed it. While somewhat pricey by Indian standards, I learned the hard way over there that you get what you pay for. The extra expense was worth it. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and contemporary. The water was always hot and the Internet always working. The included breakfast spread was pretty impressive...tons of choices, both Indian and Western, and it was served in a very pleasant atmosphere. Service was always pleasant, as well. Two things keep me from giving this hotel 5 stars...both related to noise. The first night we were there, there was a party on the lawn by the pool (which our room overlooked). The music was blaring well into the night...past midnight at least (on a Tuesday!). It could be clearly heard in our room. Thankfully my husband and I both always travel with earplugs. The other thing, and I can't believe no one else has mentioned this, is that the hotel is located very near to a mosque...and you can hear the calls to prayer very easily in your room...including the one at dawn. Again, we had earplugs, but I am 100% positive that would have woken me up if I hadn't. Moral of the story: Great hotel overall...just be sure to bring earplugs!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Golkonda Hotel Hyderabad. Your detailed feedback is appreciated and helps us to a maintain check on our services. Your positive comments regarding our services and amenities are warmly received. Our hotel is located in the heart of the city’s business and entertainment district and offers perfect accessibility for the needs of our business and leisure travelers.
We have noted your concerns and would like to assure you that the matter will be addressed effectively. Guest reviews are taken very seriously by our team and any suggestions made are incorporated in our constant effort to improve the standard of our service.
We look forward to having you back at The Golkonda Hotel and assure a pleasant and comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed here three different times and found nothing lacking in service or amenities. The rooms are a little cramped but with twin beds and a seating area, comfortable.
The fitness facilities are adequate, though, be warned, the swimming pool is handkerchief sized. Still, it's private and accessible as well as clean.
The Hyderabadi restaurant in the hotel is amazing and the breakfast buffet in the coffeeshop has always been excellent. The bar is a little weirdly decorated but, oh well!
There are no decent restaurants in walking distance (except in the hotel) but Banjara Hills is close enough if you want to try other food while you're here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Golkonda Hyderabad. Your feedback is appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Your generous comments regarding our facilities are encouraging.
We would love to have you back with us in the near future and assure you of another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in hotel for about 15 days post my relocation to Hyderabad. It was a nice experience. Hotel ambience is good, staff is warm, friendly and helping. The best is the cusind. The buffet dinner has wide varieties and specilises in authentic hyderabadi non-veg recipes. I thoroughly enjoyed mutton roganjosh, hyderabadi biryani ( the best available in hyderabad) served with paaya shorba which is not easily available these days. Top it up with wide range of desserts. For an excellent regal dining experience -visit their signature restaurant "Jewel of Nizam" and indulge, get spoilt like a Nizam. Overall good value for money - decent 4 star property at affordable range. Its centrally located and convenient from Airport. Recommended.

Room Tip: Insist on garden/pool facing rooms for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The first time I visited Hyderabad, had stayed in Golkonda. And that was way back in 2008. It’s been almost 5 years after which I stayed again in Golkonda. The experience has been the same. The service has been the same. The quality has been the same. They are much better than most of the 3 star hotels in Hyderabad. What more do you ask for when you have a comfortable stay option, good number of eating options coupled with good food, a well-equipped gymnasium and courteous staff. There were certain glitches which occurred during this journey, however the manner and swiftness with which the service heads managed the problem is laudable.

Room Tip: This hotel is located on a busy street, hence there won't be any good view. However, check for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have visited Hyderabad several times however stayed in this hotel for the first time and have realised that this hotel is by far the best economical hotel out there. It is in the heart of the city with extremely great service.

Room Tip: Good comfirtable budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have visited Hyderabad several times and have realised that this hotel is by far the best economical hotel out there. It is in the heart of the city with extremely great service. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and wish that who ever is considering a place to stay definitely looks into this.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golkonda Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Hyderabad

Address: Banjara Hills, | Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#15 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#18 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#22 Best Value Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Hyderabad 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshingly all new four star business chic hotel in a Heart of Hyderabad and only moments away from the citys main commercial, IT, shopping and entertainment hubs. Beautifully furnished in contemporary style, provides a distinctive level of luxury, comfort and value for money, also the gateway hotel to the city from the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your The Golkonda Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golkonda Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golkonda Hyderabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.