We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golkonda Hyderabad

Save Saved
You added The Golkonda Hyderabad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Golkonda Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banjara Hills, | Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WiFi, B.Fast & Miles
Ranked #13 of 267 hotels in Hyderabad
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed at the Golkonda a few times before when visiting family in Hyderabad and have always been pleased with the service, and this week-long stay was no different. It seems to have been renovated recently although there are still some areas that show wear and tear. The staff is always pleasant and eager to assist. The buffet (breakfast, lunch, or dinner) is phenomenal, the best of Hyderabadi food for a very reasonable price. The rooms are a average size but clean, and beds are comfortable, I actually had to mend a blouse while I was here and room even came with a small sewing kit. The location is prime for shopping and sight-seeing. My only gripes are that the shower door kept leaking which completed drenched the bathroom floor every time we took a shower and that on some days housekeeping would tidy the room even when we had the "do not disturb" sign on, also the room could use better/more lighting (was too dull at night). Overall, this hotel is a great deal for the price and I will probably stay here again when visiting Hyderabad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    182
    35
    3
    3
See reviews for
61
48
73
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I selected the hotel reading the review here. Thanks everyone for recommending as it is definitely a good hotel though the rooms were slightly small but definitely clean, well kept hotel. Easily accessible and public transport was available immediately when you walked out of the hotel. It is not a hotel for a relaxing holiday as not much options but for a traveling holiday (when you don't plan to spend much time in the hotel) and business travel definitely yes. But in case you are a foodie and want to eat Hyderabadi food that is biryani, khichada, (speciality of hyderabad, really well cooked, kababs, etc, this is the place. Best biryani that I have eaten in a long long time in Hyderabad, the other places are horrible and the biryani, nothing to write about but they know the true meaning of biryani - Must Try. Even the food served in the coffee shop and buffet is really awesome, the chutneys, sambhar, etc. For the food I definitely recommend this place as the rooms are clean and good for the money they charge. And do try the Onion Kheer, I didn't know something like this existed also, really good and if they won't tell you, you won't know that's what you eating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here for two nights. The hotel facilities are good and the service is excellent. The location of the hotel helped to visit the location sightseeing attractions. The room is comparatively small though very well maintained. Internet access was complimentary. The hotel had a good pool though not a heated one.
The breakfast spread is good and we enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Being my 1st visit to hyd, I booked Golkonda purely on the basis of the reviews on this site & i was so pleased that it exceeded my expectations. I stayed here for 4 days. The staff was extremely efficient, courteous without being intrusive. Any query, doubt or assistance is immediately taken care of. The food is excellent, one of the best pastas i've had. I ordered room service on all 3 days, with the staff taking my order specifications very precisely and it isn't expensive either. The rooms are well furnished, comfortable & pretty well stocked with essentials. the free wi-fi service had good connection. The hotel isn't centrally located, so if your on vacation and want to be out about, have easy walkable access to eating places, shopping or merely a walk around the market, this might not be ideal for you. However main tourist places, and shopping centres are few kms away. (charminar & golkonda fort each are 10kms , around 40 mins away, while GVK one mall is about 2kms, 15mins). all in all , I enjoyed my stay here & thank you Golkonda for making my first trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: request for a higher floor with pool facing to avoid the nearby flyover noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel to attend a function in Hyderabad. Its a nice property, very centrally located. Rooms are comfortable and looked newly furnished. It seems that that was a old property which now newly furnished as it showed at few places specially in toilet as fittings were not properly fixed.
But we liked over all atmosphere. Check-in was fast. Beds were comfortable and staff if very cooperative.
The best part is the restaurant 'Jewel of Nizam' which is a must visit. Food there is really fantastic. But you need to reserve in advance.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Golkonda Hotel is about 30 mn from the airport and not very far from the main touristic points. I stayed here four nights. The staff is friendly and professional. Here we have free Wi-Fi with no extra costs unless you want a high-speed connection.The bedroom is suitable, with a comfortable bed and a small but decent bathroom. The TV channels have a few western channels and no Western European. My room was facing a road with lots off traffic and very noisy so I advise you to ask for a room facing the opposite side. Sometimes there was no hot water. Breakfast is very poor. One good surprise was the hotel restaurant called "Jewel of Nizam", which has a very professional staff, very nice food and affordable prices. Foreign tourists have to be careful with the prices that are asked by the taxi ordered by the travel desk. They are very expensive and people were not always honest with me. All in all I enjoyed my stay and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the opposite side of the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for checking in with us at The Golkonda Hotel Hyderabad recently. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and the associated amenities at the hotel. It is our constant endeavor to ensure that our guests receive the best of services for a pleasing and memorable stay. The Golkonda Hotel aim to create an ambience that is warmly received by both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Golkonda Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is the first time I stayed in Golkonda and I really liked the hotel. I have always stayed in Taj or Sarovar so this was a surprise. I was impressed by their hospitality and the staffs were really professional but friendly and helpful. The room rates are much more economical for the great experience. Food is good and there was variety. What is really great about this hotel is Hotels Travel desk has WI-FI Complimentary vehicles and its of no Charge something that’s so unique (mind u its hi-speed). The driver of the cab which took me to the city tour was kind enough to brief of the new service that was introduced and also helped me to log in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Golkonda Hotel, Hyderabad and for your valued feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and its associated services.
It is our constant endeavor at The Golkonda-Hyderabad to deliver an unsurpassed customer experience with an exquisite range of facilities to match.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the The Golkonda-Hyderabad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Golkonda Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Hyderabad

Address: Banjara Hills, | Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#13 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#13 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#17 Best Value Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Hyderabad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshingly all new four star business chic hotel in a Heart of Hyderabad and only moments away from the citys main commercial, IT, shopping and entertainment hubs. Beautifully furnished in contemporary style, provides a distinctive level of luxury, comfort and value for money, also the gateway hotel to the city from the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Golkonda Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golkonda Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golkonda Hyderabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.