We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms but service is inconsistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad

Save Saved
You added Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3-1024,Lower Tank Bund Road, Hyderabad 500080, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 for 2 - One Night On Us
Ranked #16 of 267 hotels in Hyderabad
India
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“good rooms but service is inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Good value for money hotel with comfortable rooms.
But the service is extremely inconsistent.
Here are the pros:
1. Very comfortable bed. I had a wonderful sleep.
2. Good location: You can see the Husain Sagar lake and the view is pretty decent. 20 mins from Banjara Hills which was quite convenient.
3. The gym at Marriott next door (connected by an aero bridge) is state of art and I felt that it was superbly managed by the staff. Loved the equipment. I didn't miss my gym for 2 days which was great.
4. Travel Desk goes out of their way to ensure that you get picked up and dropped to where ever you want in the city within no time. They even picked me on an emergency call within 15 mons from banjara Hills. In hyd, that's almost impossible due to traffic but the guys did it and I am very grateful to them because I managed to catch my flight on time.

Now the lows:
1. In room dining service is highly inconsistent. Over promise under deliver. Lunch arrived in 1 hr and that too wrong order. Luckily it was veg food and I simply ate it because I was starved. Then again in the night, I had some friends over and we ordered for a wine chiller, some flute glasses and a wine opener. They arrived after 1 hr. This is when we made atleast 10 calls. I understand that it was 1 AM or so but you expect from a hotel that such calls at such times will be entertained.
2. Bathroom had no amenities except soap and shampoo. I had to ask for toiletries which they obviously got wrong. Not sure what they were thinking. Once you are in the shower for long, the whole bathroom gets flooded. Very irritating.

I stayed here because of the price and the fact that this was a new hotel. I will def stay again but will ensure that I carry my own toiletries and have a handy snack all the time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    100
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
21
20
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Situated on the opposite side of the road to the Marriott Hotel, this property is connected to that one by a bridge on the 2nd floor and their in lies the hidden magic of this property - you have access to the restaurants and leisure facilities of the swankier property at the price of a Courtyard. Great value indeed.

The problem in the general, with the location is that a foul odour emanates at all times from the adjacent lake - this means that the lake, a pretty sight when viewed from inside your room, is unapproachable from the roadside - too bad, since with the nightlit Buddha statue it is a pretty view.

The Courtyard makes an attempt to appear basic - no doubt, driven by the need not to outshine the Marriott next door. The Service is pretty basic - consistent with a new property and untrained staff.

Otherwise, for the price, this is a great place to stay - the rooms are full featured (in contrast to the basic lobby), including a mini bar, steam iron and standard bathroom amenities - nothing to complain here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Well this might be a UK joke only but it is like staying in the luxury Faulty Towers. With it being a brand new hotel it all looks good but try to get something working and that’s another matter. I have had the maintenance team in my room 9 times, and 3 times in my first room. So if you are interested why:- The first room – The aircon did not work, no power sockets at a computer desk and the aircon a second time. The second room, The aircon on max is not powerful enough to cool the room, if you put the lights on the room gets warmer. A light in the wardrobe stays on everytime you open the door, after the third visit I told them to remove the bulb. The key card never works if the cleaner or maintenance has been in before. Day 2, a spot light switched on, after spend 20 minutes searching for a switch it was found it did not have one. The TV with buzzing sound.

The swimming pool is in the Marriot next door. Get the hotel guide out and it tells you to go to the 8th floor and walk across the sky bridge. Take the lift to the 8th floor to find a piece of plaster board stopping access. The bridge has not yet been built. If you go to the second floor you can take a tunnel, then walk through the unsigned maze until you find the stairs to walk up, round the terrace, down another two sets of stairs and a pool. This is a twenty minute walk each way, who needs the swimming exercise after that.

Reception has rung me 30 or so times to apologize. This gets very annoying if you are trying to make business calls on your mobile. They even rang at 11.30pm, luckily I was up.

The positives, the food is good, menu very confusing but when you get it get it, it’s lovely. The shower is very good, probably one of best I have seen in a hotel. They have some good Indian wine which is only 2000 inr. They try very hard to resolve the problems.

If you fancy staying in a rollercoaster that serves good food and wine, bring it on.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayd here for a night at the start of 2010.. Check-in was smooth and was up in my room in no time. Rooms are pretty big, with everything being brand spanking new...Room also offered a decent view of the Hussain sagar lake, with the room windows being a ceiling to floor window....

There's easy access to the other Marriott via a sky-bridge. Excellent location right in the heart of town.

Food at the MOMO Cafe was also good...will definitely stay here the next time in H'bad...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
669 reviews 669 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

A spanking new hotel with spacious, very functional rooms, excellent service, great location, views of the Lake. The public areas seem far more spacious and airy than its sister hotel the Marriott across the road. There is an interior connection between the hotels, so one can avail of all the restaurants and other facilities in both the hotels.

However, it is sad and disappointing that even the Courtyard brand does not offer complimentary broadband access in India, unlike its properties in the USA. This is a real shame and the only blackmark on this excellent hotel.

  • Liked — Location, spacious rooms, great service
  • Disliked — Charge for internet
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanded
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

tired with the business throughout the day. its time to fresh up yourself at the Courtyard. Charming beauties welcomes you here. The huge bathroom with warm bath tub makes to feel fresh. Its time to dine with wine. The grilled food one must taste. Nice stay - i love it

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad

Address: 1-3-1024,Lower Tank Bund Road, Hyderabad 500080, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 267 hotels in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard By Marriott Hyderabad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.