We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Disappointing!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leonia Holistic Destination

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leonia Holistic Destination to your Saves list
Leonia Holistic Destination
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Survey No 389 (P), Plot no: 4-59 | Bommaraspet, Shameerpet, Ranga Reddy District, Hyderabad 500078, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 279 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Totally Disappointing!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were a group of 14 ladies who went to this so called holistic destination to relax and enjoy. We were stopped at the front office for an hour . We were given 14 buffet lunch tickets and 14 tea and snacks tickets and sent inside without any literature about the resort or any information about where to go and what to do.
Our joy ride started turning sour with the welcome drink itself. At every point you have to flash your tickets to the resort staff giving you a feeling of moving through an enemy territory or a feeling of trespassing.
We were given the welcome drink at a hall called splash. We asked them where our lunch buffet would be served and they communicated with someone and sent us to another hall near a theatre.
We were promptly stopped there too. The staff there spoke to someone else and we were told we would be served lunch at the sun and moon restaurant.
Then the surprise! We get a call from one of the resort staff that the buffet is cancelled and we have to go in for al-a-carte.
The attitude with which some of the staff spoke to us was almost insulting.
They are not even sorry about it.
After much argument the so called manager or whoever it was says he might be able to get the food ready by 2.15 or 2.30.
I can't imagine a resort or hotel in Hyderabad which serves lunch at 2.30.
We had a few diabetics in the group who suffered due to this callous attitude.
It was pathetic.
There was total lack of communication and coordination between the various departments of the resort.
The indoor games were not great either.
There were 2 or 3 carrom boards in the splash area which was infested with people, school children and the resort staff who hover around you like a black hawk and keep asking you which group you belong to. God knows why! It was irritating and humiliating to say the least.
The place which had the TT tables didn't have a single chair for the non players to sit. The side table was strewn with dirty used plates and tissues.
The pool was full of school children. We couldn't enjoy the pool either.
All this apart the attitude of the resort staff when we tried to talk to them about the lunch buffet and their total disregard for the guests was totally disappointing and humiliating.
We decided we had enough . We asked them for a refund and walked out of the resort without enjoying or eating anything.
The so called holistic destination was in no way a holistic destination and turned out to be a disappointing, humiliating and totally wasted trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia_India, Manager at Leonia Holistic Destination, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leonia Holistic Destination!!!

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. We are certainly disappointed that your visit was not all that, it could have been.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the ticket system & for making you wait in the reception. By introducing ticket system we are trying to stream line the process, due to our past experiences. We have spoken with our Front office head regarding the delay and suitable action would be taken.

We sincerely apologize to you and your friends, for the confusion and the lack of coordination among our staff and for not giving prior intimation to you about the cancellation of the buffet, during lunch. It has always been our motto to provide the best service in the Hotel industry but at times things do go out of hand. We have raised your experience with our entire service team and stressed on the fact that indifference among staff will not be tolerated.

We have discussed with our activities head regarding staff behavior at Splash and necessary action would be taken though it is their duty to see that everybody gets a chance to play and no one group monopolizes the games, especially during busy days.

We have highlighted with the concerned department for the need for plate clearance on a timely basis and to keep the games area clean.

Customer feedback has always been instrumental in making us learn & understand the needs of the guests. We would like to assure you that the matter has been taken up strongly with the concerned department heads as guest experience is our highest priority.

Hope you would give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in Leonia Holistic destination.


Thanks & warm regards,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    186
    51
    24
    23
See reviews for
179
123
7
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently spent a night as part of a corporate event & was stunned to see how this great resort of one time became a "shaadi (marriage) khana (hall". The condition of conf rooms "Asif Jah" 6 & 3 were pathetic for a 5 star resort with spots on all over the place, items get over in "global buffet menu" & most of staff with "take it or leave it" attitude. I know they started giving the place for marriage parties of 100+ & get good business & feel very soon, they will lose their earlier charm as Hyd's top resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia_India, Manager at Leonia Holistic Destination, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leonia Holistic Destination!!!

Thank you so much for sparing time to share your valuable feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience, you have experienced during your visit.

It’s always been a constant endeavor on our part to provide the best experience to the guests but your experience shows that we have failed this time.

We would like to assure you that corrective action would be taken and we would ensure that every single guest who visits our resort walks out with a wonderful and memorable experience as catering to people from diverse backgrounds & groups is what Leonia would like to be known for.
We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of, our best services and complete attention at all times.


Thanks & warm regards,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The drive from the airport to the resort took us 2 hours and 15 minutes since we got caught in the evening peak traffic of Hyderabad. By the time we reached there, we were tired; not from the flight but from the long drive. Once inside the resort (couldn’t see much around since it was dark), the person at the front desk cleared us quickly and allotted us the rooms.

The rooms were nothing fancy. Adequately sized rooms with twin beds, a tv, a mini fridge that was unplugged. There was a plate of four cookies (in the three nights we spent there, it was never replaced or refilled!). The bathrooms were small. There was no shower cubicle, only a curtain which allowed the water to splash all over the bathroom. Two bath towels were provided, no face towels and no bath mat. Basic toiletries – soap, shampoo, moisturizer – were provided but the moisturizer smelt bad!

Only the next morning when I went for a walk, did I get to see the barren landscape! I guess building something that far away from the city does have its drawbacks! The place covers 400 acres and each segment is very much separated from the other (by road barriers too)! The landscaping is slowly getting done. I guess it will be greener when the next visit happens, if it does! However, the highlight was, during my early morning walks, I did find quite a lot of bird life. There were munias, parakeets, warblers, prinias, mynas… If some fig or banyan trees are planted, there will be a dramatic increase in the bird life around the resort.

The rooms were in a building close to the building housing the conference halls. There is no dearth of space. There are huge corridors (sometimes too huge and they look empty)! Though the resort is relatively new, there were gaping holes in the ceiling near the staircase of the conference hall.

The breakfast has a reasonable spread though some found it disappointing since there was no live counter for eggs. The buffets for lunch and dinner were good though it became repetitive to have spicy Indian food all the time. For a change, there could have been Chinese or continental at least for a change.

I guess I expected too much looking at the beautiful pictures on the net! If I had gone to the place without any expectations, I would have found it satisfactory for a business convention.

Room Tip: Ask for all the options, don't go by what you see on the net!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia_India, Manager at Leonia Holistic Destination, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leonia Holistic Destination!!!

Your detailed account of your experience at Leonia is very much appreciated and we thank you for it.

The hotel where you stayed in Leonia, LICEC is a value for money hotel with no fancy trimmings, for guests who would want to stay and enjoy more of the destination rather than the rooms.

We do place cookies in the room as a part of Welcome experience to the guests, once they Check-in.

Your observations regarding the bathroom, toiletries have been noted and required action would be taken to improve the same. As far as the size of the bathroom is concerned, we shall definitely look into it during our next renovation.

We are working with our horticulturist to make our resort more green & the landscape more interesting and appealing to the eye.

We are a little away from the city, the advantage being a pollution free, peace full place for the guests to relax and rejuvenate and one of the reasons you could enjoy the bird life which is next to impossible in a bustling city.

Your suggestion to plant a Fig or banyan tree will definitely be considered, to increase the bird life.

Our resort is huge and widespread with four different hotels, separated so that each hotel retains its individuality and guests have a unique experience when they visit us.

Your preference for a change in the menu from Indian to Chinese or Continental and introduction of live counters will be looked into in future.

Our hotel LICEC, most recently developed of all is still being given the final touches, one step at a time to give it the classy feel which answers your comment about the gap in the ceiling, which has been closed after the repair work was done.

It’s always been a constant endeavor on our part to not only meet the guest expectations but exceed them, which we have accomplished many a time but when we haven’t we don’t leave any stone unturned to achieve the same.

Eagerly looking forward, for your next visit, to experience our other hotels Celestia with Cascade rooms with water cascading down in your own personal mini garden, Lagoon Villa with rooms attached with a swimming pool running the length of it, just waiting for you to jump in.

Thanks & warm regards,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was skeptical about Leonia but i placed my trust in tripadvisor and I was rewarded! The staff were friendly, helpful and resourceful. Truly a lovely place to unwind and let go. I went with my better half for a couple of days and opted for the cascade suite. I was pleased with everything except the time taken for the room service and the time taken during check out. Nonetheless i'd recommend this place to anyone who's looking to get away from everything and relaxing i the middle of nowhere with pretty much everything at hand!

Room Tip: Opt for the cascade suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia_India, Manager at Leonia Holistic Destination, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leonia Holistic Destination!!!

Thank you so much for sparing time to share your valuable feedback.

It’s a pleasure to know that you found our resort a’ lovely place to unwind’.

Your appreciation of our staff inspires all of us to aim higher & give the best possible service in the hospitality industry.

We apologize for the slow, room service and check – out, we have highlighted the same to the concerned departments and required action would be taken.

We are pleased to learn that you would recommend our resort to others, who would want to get away and relax and experience our resort as it’s meant to be.

Eagerly looking forward, for your next visit, to have a great experience.

Thanks & warm regards,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The layout - extremely spacious
The ambiance - peaceful
The service - over the top
We stayed in the lagoon villa rooms as well as the cascade suites and the experience was surreal.
Hats-off to the entire team for a very well managed, clean, welcoming and soothing destination.

Room Tip: if it is a couple getaway - go for the lagoon villa!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia_India, Manager at Leonia Holistic Destination, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leonia Holistic Destination!!!

Thank you so much for sparing time to share your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to know that you found the ambiance peaceful in our vast resort and most importantly your comments about our service as “over the top’ is an award for our efforts and will encourage us to do even better.

We are delighted to know that your experience in our rooms both in Lagoon villa & Cascade was surreal.

Your observations about our resort as well managed, clean, welcoming and soothing destination is a pat on the back for the entire team of Leonia and we are happy that you have experienced our resort as it’s truly meant to be.

We look forward for your next visit to rejuvenate and have another wonderful experience at Leonia Holistic Destination.

Thanks & warm regards,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

i had opportunity to visit leonia by celebrating my brothers reception.he is a software engineer in microsoft seattle usa and he had seen the website and informed us that he wants to celebrate his reception in leonia. we booked rooms for guests and family members.every body enjoyed and everybody had a memorable experience.The room i had was spacious and pretty,music system was awesome and i like the mood lighting and there was night mode in which stars appear on the roof.food is good and particularly chicken dishes are tasty. negative point- it is too far away from the city and approach road connected from the rajiv rahadari national highway is horrible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia_India, Manager at Leonia Holistic Destination, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Leonia Holistic Destination!!!

Thank you so much for sparing time to share your valuable feedback.

We are glad to know that you had a memorable experience on your visit here to our resort, for your brother’s reception.

We are pleased to learn that you found the rooms spacious and pretty and especially the music system, awesome and even liked the mood lighting option.

We are happy that you found the food, good particularly chicken dishes.

Our resort is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in an area which is peaceful and free from pollution, to give the guests, a real holiday experience.

Eagerly looking forward, for your next visit, to have another memorable experience.



Thanks & warm regards,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leonia Holistic Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonia Holistic Destination

Address: Survey No 389 (P), Plot no: 4-59 | Bommaraspet, Shameerpet, Ranga Reddy District, Hyderabad 500078, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hyderabad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#9 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#11 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonia Holistic Destination 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leonia Holistic Destination is a unique destination spread in sprawling greenery and natural rock formations that portray a warm invitation to guests from across the world to dwell in the ambience of luxury, warm hospitality and richness of integrated services offered by its villas and hotels. Celestia Suites - 70 luxuriously designed suites to cater to your private or business moments.Lagoon Bay - 18 villas set in picture-perfect environment with dramatic semi private lagoon and private patio await to pamper you.Leo Biz Hotel - 266 rooms and suites for business and family travellers.LICEC hotel - 100 convention rooms hotel for Meetings, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leonia Holistic Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonia Holistic Destination Hotel Hyderabad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonia Holistic Destination, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.