We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Resort Bay Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fortune Resort Bay Island to your Saves list
Fortune Resort Bay Island
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marine Hills,Port Blair, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Port Blair
chennai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed in Fortune Bay Island resort on March second week 2011 for 4 days. I would recommend this hotel just for the sea view,quality of food,service.Following are pros and cons which i could jot it down at this moment.
Pros : It is one the best sea view resort in portblair. We were in a sea facing room and had a good/pleasant 4 days. Nice Balcony.Friendly and courteous staff, Good food.
Cons: Being part of Fortune chain hotels, it is not at par compared to some of the other Fortune hotels i have seen before. Hotel needs a facelift. Flooring were not stable in the room we stayed.Bathroom was small and needs a renovation to be at par of the class of a star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    114
    80
    20
    17
See reviews for
102
133
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I stayed there during my honeymoon. It was a nice resort built on the slopes. Has a beach view though there is no beach as such.
Positives -
Resort is green. Facilities like Pool, TT table, Badminton court available. A serene sea walk outside the resort possible. However they close the gates at 5 pm.
Good restaurant, bar and very good breakfast buffet
Good sea view (though there is no beach access)
Service

Negatives -
On more than one occasion, I found the hotel staff blatantly biased towards foreigners and ignoring Indians.
No internet in room. However Paid internet (Rs. 90 per hour) in the lobby.
Bathrooms are little old fashioned - not the 4-star kind

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

food: Below average quality.
rooms maintenance: like a budget hotel
Bathrooms: worse than worst
All in all, not worth a stay here. Try for some other very good options. If you are staying here, dont take any food package, go to the adjacent hotels.
Do not expect any special treatment for you. If you have booked your room for 2 nights, you may be asked to change the room next day without prior notice to make you feel uncomfortable. Very overpriced cabs, go outside for much cheaper options.
Think about the worst swimming pool and you will find that even your worse thinking is better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Very few places qualify to be the right choice for honeymooners. Particularly in
places like Port Blair, there is hardly any other hotel which could beat this.
On our trip to Port Blair, my tour agent booked a 3 star hotel at Port Blair
which was very sub-standard. After one night's stay I surveyed other places at
Port Blair and moved to this one and that was one of the best decisions ever.
The place is lovely and the room has a luxury cottage-like look.
-The pool is beautiful and it has such a native touch - it is a pool of sea
water :)
-The food is good and the arrangement is better. There is an option of a
romantic candle-light dinner and the dining area is well-designed to serve as a
backdrop for a romantic dinner. It also oversees a light house and that gives it
a mystic touch.
- It has a pier through which the hotel is connected to the sea.

Andamans itself has the most beautiful corals among many beach destinations that
I have visited before. But on the negative side, the city is not really clean. I
really hope people visiting the place are more sensitive to the fact that
cleanliness is most important for a destination to be a popular tourist place.
Though disappointed with the city, Thanks to Fortune Bay our trip was a huge hit
and ended up as a luxurious, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durg, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This resort is my company's listed holiday homes so i can say it is the best resort property in andman. beautiful resort at top of hill, amezing sea view. services are very good. even if u r out of hotel during lunch time u can ask them to give u packed lunch and that contains puri bhaji fruits chips water bottel sandwitches.........enough lunch. room cleaning very good. they have beautifull garden. over all place anybody wants to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

The view from the hotel was awesome , you don'y get to see sea from so near from a hotel. The staff there was warm and courteous, specially GM who had gone out of the way and helped us in plannning our trip ahead in andamans. Very good Sea food available in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of a package tour to the islands. The staff stood out with their friendliness and helpful attitude. We had a bit of a medical emergency and the staff were extremely helpful. Nice staff is probably the biggest reason I'd recommend this place.

The property has been built to have a local character but the finish and upkeep leave quite a lot to be desired - the bathrooms are small and appear dingy, fittings are old and overall the hotel has a sense of an old place in need of a facelift. Very few rooms have a true sea view. I'd have liked a much more swish presentation.

The pool is definitely forgettable - it is dirty and slimy, didn't enjoy the swim. Another opportunity wasted - as it can definitely be spruced up to be a nice infinity pool.

And who in this day and world restricts internet access to only the lobby area? Wasn't fun sitting in the lobby checking mail while being bitten by mozzies and knowing that it's costing me a dollar every 30 minutes. And their travel service is exorbitant.

The restaurant and sitout are very nice with beautiful views of the bay and North Bay Island. Dining on the balcony with the breeze blowing was an excellent experience. Food is quite nice but it got boring after some time as they primarily offer buffets and dishes start tasting the same. A nice barbecue on the balcony or in the garden would have been nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune Resort Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Resort Bay Island

Address: Marine Hills,Port Blair, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortune Resort Bay Island 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fortune Resort Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Bay Island Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Hotel Bay Island
Fortune Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Resort Bay Island Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Resort Bay Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.