We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for Evening hangout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corbyn's Cove

Corbyn's Cove
Nr. Port Blair, Port Blair, South Andaman Island, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Attractions in Port Blair
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good place for Evening hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

One the day we reached port Blair, we visited cellular jail and failed to get tickets for the evening show. Hence we went to the Corbyn's cove beach. The sun was already set, the beach was almost empty, The beach chairs are deserted for the day. The place is well lit and there is a beer bar on the beach.
So whole beach become virtually ours.. boys enjoyed the sea breeze with beers, girls enjoyed the place with evening snacks and whole beach was playground for kids.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    55
    73
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice place for evening leasuire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A nice place to spent the time in the evening. water sports available for adventure. Japanese bunkers can be seen. A happening place in port blair.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average beach, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This one was near to my hotel. (In fact, my tour operator saved lots of money by putting me at Sinclair Bay View hotel). Again tour manager or your car driver or tour agent will try to fleece you by offering you a ride in a motor boat to snake island, no not to see sea snakes but stop the boat at snake Island (which is hardly 0.5 nautical mile), remain seated in boat and ask boatman to take your photo!!! Per head charges for this trip to Snake Island? Rs. 750!

Instead we spent time on beach, enjoyed spicy Bhel and coconut water! Sea is dirty and hence not good for swimming -- at least at the time when we visited -- i didn't see anyone swimming or venturing into sea.

Average beach.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Only beach in Port Blair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Although if one compares this beach with other beaches in India, it would rate as superior, if you check out the other wonderful beaches in Andamans, unfortunately this would rate as only average. One can only laze around in the Cove as there is too much activity and noise due to speed boats and water scooters zipping past all over. There are seats to relax and small shops to pick up trinkets from....especially a hat or a cap that is so essential in the warm Andamans - the weather could change dramatically during a single day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Small but good beach in Port Blair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is perhaps the best beach in Port Blair as per my experience in Port Blair. There are lot of water sports. The beach is calm and quite and we enjoyed our time there.
I recommend tourists to a make a short visit there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corbyn's Cove also viewed

Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 

Been to Corbyn's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corbyn's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.