We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The resort is made of wood and bamboos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Grove Eco Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palm Grove Eco Resort to your Saves list
Palm Grove Eco Resort
2.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Prothrapur, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
kolkata
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The resort is made of wood and bamboos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The resort is very eco friendly, the cottages are of great vale. The location is good having nice sea view. The cottage is having decent interior, but during night the condition is not very good. The mosqitose are there, whcih make the stay a bit uneasy. The food is good but room service is bit slow.

  • Liked — The cottage structure was great with goos nature view
  • Disliked — the room service is not thata good
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

we had been in portblair from 13.05.2009 to 18.05.2009,we all really enjoyed our stay in Palmgrove eco resorts ,a stay we cannot forget.The Room service excellent,Food homely,Rooms well furnished with A/c,at very moderate cost.WE are especially thankful to Mr.Shibu,his father and Mr Sathya who took excellent care of all our tour arrangements.Thank you,sirs Sairam Family,Saidapet Chennai

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Very good and friendly hotel staff. Took care of all travel and food reqmnts at short notice. A fishing pond(more like a canal) construction is in progress. I had suggested to double it as swimming pool. Stayed with family and friends for 1 week. They offered all sight seeing/snorkelling trips at best economic cost - i had checked with other tour operators/hotels which were higher by atleast 30%.

I would recommend the Eco Standard AC room and the Nicobari hut cottage which are Value For Money. The tree top cottage is a bit overrated, though worth a day's stay for its 'one of a kind' USP. Very few hotels in Port Blair offer such eco friendly accom at such rates. The resort is located 15 mins drive from airport and 3 kms from Corbyn's Cove beach. It is a bit far from the bazaar but all daily essentials are available within 10 mins walk from the resort.

  • Liked — Homely Stay and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Non avlblty of swimming pool, open bar
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Where do i start.
let me number it
1. it is very very far away from Airport..not at all the 4km they say on their website.
2. The Hotel has stone crushers around it..so everything you see it full of dust, even the plants in and outside of hotel is full of dirt.
3. The hotel has a very bad location....the slums are around it and you dont feel like going out to look for even a bottle of water.
4. Food.... i dont find it edible AT ALL. flies are sitting all over the bread and the staff turned a blind eye to it.and what ever we ordered was pathetic...was unable to eat it though i tried very hard.
5.Their dinning hall is like community service area. with four concrete walls and plastic chairs with just one door and you feel suffocated while sitting in it.
6. Rooms are what they show in picture but the dust is predominant and the bed sheets are torn and the doors are so high from the ground that mosqitoes find an easy way to visit you. and they come with full families..you have no way to stop them.
7. bed bugs are extreme types. they bite you hard. i was the victim too :(
8. Bathrooms are not even basic and dont talk about cleanliness. the buckets they provide can make you throw away.
the sinks are so small that you cant even brush without spilling.
9. the Treetop huts are three stories high but the steps are so small that you fear of falling away the next step.
10.No intercom or direct line to reception in the rooms. Not even glasses in the rooms and fans are full of dust.

Do you want me to go on ???
Overall Pathetic experience.. it was like being in cell for a night.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Grove Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Eco Resort

Address: Prothrapur, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744103, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Grove Eco Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Grove Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Eco Resort Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Grove Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.