We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TSG Emerald View

Save Saved
You added TSG Emerald View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TSG Emerald View
#25 M.A Road, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Port Blair
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pretty Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was booked in this hotel via makemytrip packaged tour. If I had a choice I would not book this place. Its location is pretty poor. Cannot see the sea at all. The rooms are pretty poor and not well maintained. The towels were not clean and the bed spread was shabby. The only saving grace is reasonably good food. I loved the Surmai (King fish) curry that was prepared. The breakfast the buffet one was again ordinary. This hotel is definitely avoidable especially if you have children. There is nothing for them to do. I was fortunate that the stay was only for 2 nights and during the day we were out seeing the Andaman beauty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    31
    5
    19
See reviews for
42
46
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stay was comfortable. Bit delay while check in due to some miss communication. Otherwise hotel is nice and clean. No internet is working, but they say it is working excellently for others. When rise complain about it they will sorry about that technician is not available.

Room Tip: Premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stay was comfortable as expected from a hotel of this stature.
It is easily accessible.
We particularly liked the restaurant there.
Wonderful food -prawn, lobster at reasonable rates. Do not miss the tiger prawn curries and fries. So much quantity for just 200-300 rupees :)
The food was much much better than what we experienced in Havelock Island.
Clean rooms. AC, Geyser.
Decent rates.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over night before departing towards Havelock Island. Hotels rooms were spacious, but service was just average. We were made to change our both rooms due to some problems. Bar was good and food was good too. Hotel is very near to the jetty that's the reason we book with this hotel so that we can catch the cruze early in the morning for havelock. Hotel taxi charges are too high...you may get other private taxi much cheaper. This hotel is suitable only for transit travelers.

Room Tip: this is a budget hotel, good for transit travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A hotel used in many tour packages. Though it is relatively cheap, and though it meets minimum standards for the medium range traveler, it is a very cramped property with some 50 rooms. Rooms on the right (probably 004-006, 110-125, 210-225) when you enter the corridor are very dark as they face the back of the some other hotel rooms some 20 feet away only and will need to keep the light on all the time. You may even get a balcony on this side, but it is worthless since all you can see is the practically bare wall of the hotel and the hotel gas cylinders and some disused material lying around below.

The rooms on the left side are bright and airy but do not have any significant view either. The restaurant is decent enough, but has a strong smell of seas food at times (even though there is a separate sea food restaurant in the hotel). Once we ordered and then had it delivered to our room to eat due to this.

Room Tip: Select rooms on the left side of the mian corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A decent hotel with well appointed rooms not far from the main Aberdeen Bazaar. Also has a good restaurant. The complimentary breakfast is good and sumptuous and the staff at the restaurant are decent, polite and helpful. The staff at the reception are also courteous and helpful. Only negative point is that it has an early morning check out as compared to other hotels in Port Blair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Title says it all. We stayed here for a couple of night during our trip. This hotel is located in the heart of the city, so commuting is not a problem. The food here is good too. But the rooms are shabby and under-lit. Also, to makes matter worse, we saw a rat in our room. That just killed any positives for this hotel in our eyes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TSG Emerald View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TSG Emerald View

Address: #25 M.A Road, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744102, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your TSG Emerald View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsg Emerald View Hotel Port Blair
TSG Emerald View Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TSG Emerald View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.