We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay in Tela” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maya Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Maya Vista Hotel
Tela Nuevo, 10 Ave 9 Calle | Lempira Hill, Tela, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Tela B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay in Tela”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This place is a find. It is a multi-storied hotel offering stunning views of Tela, the ocean and the nearby mountains. We had a large 2 double bed room on the top floor and it was great. The AC worked very well, loads of hot water and great water pressure. Views are stunning. Dinner and breakfast were good too. The place is garded and safe and they even looked after our car. Going into town for a walk or dinner takes only 5 minutes. We needed advice on how to get to the nearby town of Miami and they drew us a map! Great service. For the price, this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
25
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Canadian owned and run. Great value for money, good bar and restaurant with Canadian chef, great views. Maya Vista is built on a hill so be prepared for lots of steps if you enter from the street side rather than the front road.. Provide your own drinking water.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson Tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for two nites we were impressed. we even thanked the owners for a great time but when we walked back to our rental car in was crashed. no one would take responsibility. so i walked around looking at the other cars parked when i noticed a pickup with paint from the rental on the bumper. come to find out it was the owner of the hotel son. he had gone out drinking and damaged my car. $200 worth of damage. you think the owner would have paid it.but they refuse to pay or take responsibility and made a big deal about it. so i got local police involved. the owners finally admited fault but could only get half the damages leaving me with the bill. very unprofessional. will never stay here again. watch where you park your car

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

After reading good reviews and having this hotel recommended by friends, it didn't disappoint us with regards to how beautiful and unique it was. We spent 4 nights here, and the first two were great. The very popular and busy restaurant (one night we were told it would take an hour to get our food) closes at 9:00pm so we didn't have any concerns about noise late at night. However, on the third night there was an 'after hours' party in the restaurant, which was located directly above our rooms. To make it worse, it wasn't hotel guests - most had wrist bands on, so obviously they were staying at a resort nearby. This party lasted (loudly) until 4:30 in the morning, at which point the party goers congregated in the parking lot outside our bedroom windows to talk some more. Unfortunately the concrete block construction of Honduran buildings is NOT soundproof, and the louvered windows also do little to shut anything out. The next evening there was another after-hours party involving a live band in the restaurant, it was obviously a birthday party. Again, this was non-hotel guests as we watched them leave at around midnight, again to congregate in the parking lot outside our bedroom windows. Both of these nights were weeknights. I know the owners are French speaking, and both of these parties and all the guests were also French, so we don't know if these were personal friends of the owners or if they rented the restaurant for these parties. Whatever the case it was a very unpleasant surprise to any of us as hotel guests who paid to enjoy what should have been, according to the hotel website, a 'peaceful' and 'relaxing' atmosphere. We apparently missed the paragraph speaking about how they will rent the restaurant to groups up to 40 people, which is quite the contradiction to the claim of being peaceful. And just a side note, there is no 'laundry service' as the website also claims, we were directed to carry our bags of laundry down the hill to a laundromat a couple streets away. Unfortunately as much as we liked the hotel itself, we're all very unimpressed (and tired) and will probably never stay here again or recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a night of sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comayagua, Honduras
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

After looking at rooms in the beachfront hotels, I settled on the Maya Vista because it was the best. I have travelled a lot in Mexico and Central America, and I know the difference between a good hotel and one that is not. This is a great hotel, highly reccomended!

The Maya Vista is a unique and fully realized property. It is maintained well, beautifully decorated and has an open, breezy feel to the rooms and the public spaces. There are only a couple of places in the hotel where you do not have an expansive view of the ocean. The staff was very helpful, and the owners are on the property, which makes a big difference I think.

The owners are paying attention to the details. This may sound quirky, but I don't know how many times I have cleaned my contact lenses without any way of stopping the sink, other than putting my hand over the drain while turning the levers with the other. The bathroom sink in my room worked as designed. Thank you, Maya Vista, for providing peace of mind!

While I did not take any meals at the hotel, I have no doubt that the food is very good. The hotel staff were very helpful, and you should be able to find at least one person working at any given time who will be able to speak English, if that's your language.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

THis is the place you want to stay when in Tela, I will go back just to stay at this place. Great staff, super nice and clean rooms, fantastic food. You will not go wrong if you select this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The problem with Mayavista is that it is in Tela, which is a hell hole. I did not feel safe or comfortable here. The nice thing about Mayavista is that it is a little removed from town and has an ok view of the scummy beach.

We went in September and it was dead. We stayed in a room that was decorated in seventies weird/ scary decor. We were in Tela to do tours into the national parks, but because there was no one else in town to make up the numbers we couldn't go out with any of the operators. We decided to get the first bus out the next morning because the town and accomodation were so seedy. The owner of the hotel, daniel assured us that we would be able to do a tour when we said we were leaving, that it would cost $50 and we could do it in the morning, so we didn't take our bus out.

In the morning, the owner then told us the tour would cost $120 each. This was way out of our price range and would have been a massive rip off so we said no, but this had made us miss our bus and our ferry. The owner blatantly just told us anything to make us stay in his dead hotel and lost interest pretty quickly when we said we wouldn't do the tour at that price and wanted to leave.

I have a suspicion that the owner is somehow affiliated with lonely planet, which is why the review of his hotel and Tela itself are so good, and the place is so horrid.

Seriously, if you want to do tours, you can do them all from la ceiba, which is much less creepy. You can hike in pico bonito national park, go kayaking in mangroves there, take a boat trip to cayos cochinos, all from la ceiba. Don't do it in Tela. The town and beach are disgusting and feel very unsafe. The hotel is outdated, creepy and the staff are unfriendly. The owner is only interested in getting you to stay there, not in you enjoying your experience.

We heard that Tela used to be the place to go, but it def isn't now and I have a feeling good reviews for the place and the Mayavista are down to affiliations of the owner rather that real opinions, or are very out of date.

I would avoid. If I could do my trip again I would go straight from Copan (Amazing beautiful friendly town) to la ceiba to do tours, then over to the bay islands, avoiding Tela completely.

The only good thing about this hotel/ place are that it made the rest of our experience in honduras so much nicer in comparison!

We did eat some good fish in the restaurant and enjoyed the sunset here. But it was expensive and we only ate here because we didn't really want to explore outside at night. I was with my boyfriend so I felt ok, but I would say that a lone female traveller could feel quite unsafe here.

A rubbish place in an otherwise amazing country. Maybe if we had managed to do the tours our experience would have been different. I would advise calling the tour operators before you go to Tela to check availability. If you are doing tours your experience might not be as bad as ours.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Vista Hotel

Address: Tela Nuevo, 10 Ave 9 Calle | Lempira Hill, Tela, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maya Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.