We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A retreat for the entire family..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Las Iguanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Posada Las Iguanas to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Las Iguanas
Bo. Buena Vista, No 529, Tela, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tela
San Francisco de Dos Ríos, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A retreat for the entire family..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel Posada Las Iguanas isn't just a place to spend the night but a place to completely relax, unwind and rest. So close to beach and everything, but we enjoyed hanging out here more than the beach! After the last few months, we were looking for more than a hotel..This is a great place for couple get aways or family retreats. Janet and Norma spoiled us rotten, I haven't experienced better service or care anywhere else. The porches, rooms and entire place was gorgeous, peaceful and tranquil..the pool was so refreshing and the food was wonderful. Can't wait to have an excuse to go back. Thanks Norma and Janet for the outstanding service and friendship.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When I first enter in the property, and took a tour, i was not expecting to see such a nice and beautiful hotel, obviously used to be a family house made out of wood, big windows, beautiful garden with avocado & cooconut trees, hibicus flowers, a small swimming pool, an open breakfast área with a rustic but elegant decoration, hamacks, a small but tasty shop, i was impressed from the beginning but then when I was accommodated in one of the three villas with beautiful accomodation, a fully equipped kitchen with coffee and coffee maker, this was a WOW moment!! but more important I was amazed of the great service Janet gave us, a welcome coctail, a delicious morning Breakfast, a fantastic and súper delicious lunch. Janet did really make me feel like a Queen! I have no words to discribed this hotel, one of the best i had have in Central America just yet. Janet is outstanding, what a great host she is. Congratulations Norma for such a visión and care for your guest. I really appreciated and thank you both for the fantastic time. I definetly will be coming back and recommending your Exclusive Hotel or I should say your Boutique Hotel. "Posada las Iguanas" Thanks Norma & Janet!! thank you, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Janet is magnificent she has a strong work ethic and is wonderful person with great service. Great service is hard to find in some areas, but she is exemption she did everything we ask of her. She always had a smile and never said no. Great experience. Rooms are nice the location is a little difficult to find if you are not from the area, but once you find it is worth it. The location is perfect far away from the busy downtown streets of Tela but close enough to walk or take a cab to downtown Tela. It is about one minute drive to downtown area. I recommend this hotel and I am looking forward to returning. Oh and she has great connections if interested in taking a trip to Punta Sal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The lady that works there deserves a AWARD!!!! she showed us a great time.. He had a terrible experience trying to rent this other place.. was such a relief to find this place!

Clean rooms..great service...

its a little far from the beach but if you have your own car shouldn't be a problem at all..

Room Tip: if your a with a group.. great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at Posadas Las Iguanas during the summer months with an excellent staff. This hotel truely filled all my expectations and beyond. It is a relaxing, peaceful and even secluded atmosphere allowing you to just be worry free. One of the things that stands out to me were the array of fruit trees that you can pick from to eat and the diverse flower selection on the property. You can hear the birds chirping in the coconut trees or the avocado trees. There is instant access to the pool area for a quick swim or for bathing on the lounge chairs or even on the hammocks around the property. The ocean is only a 5min car ride to the beach or simply a 10min scenic walk. The ammenities are high end and the rooms are all furnished with exquisit taste. I stayed on the main floor suite and had no complaints. It was so nice to have a fully stocked kitchen. It is fully airconditioned for those really hot days or open the windows and use the ceiling fans if you wish. The beds were soo comfortable and prestine. Would recommend this place to people of all ages looking for tranquility.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at Posada Las Iguanas for about 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Not only were the accomodations beautiful and and spotless but Norma and Janet were hospitable and extremely helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and recommend it to anyone wanting a get-a-way to Tela.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Posada Las Iguanas in Tela for 5 nights with my in-laws. We stayed in the main floor suite- it was beautiful! It had everything we could ask for: fully stocked kitchen, TV, comfortable beds- everything! The staff is wonderful. Norma & the on-site manager, Janet were available for any need or concern we had. It is a little bit away from the main stretch but that is what makes it so peaceful. We often just hung out at the pool (very clean and great lounge chairs) so being a few min away from the beach wasn't that bad. One day I decided to walk to the beach and it was only a 20 min walk- a very nice one at that. All in all, if you're looking to stay a little bit off the beaten track, we definitely recommend Posada Las Iguanas. They will treat you wonderfully! Muchisima gracias a Norma y Janet!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORMA MRIAM F, Gerente at Hotel Posada Las Iguanas, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your kindness, we hope you comeback very soon to enjoy the Caribbean Sea .

POSADA LAS IGUANAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Las Iguanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Las Iguanas

Address: Bo. Buena Vista, No 529, Tela, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Posada Las Iguanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Las Iguanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.