We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sherwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sherwood to your Saves list
Hotel Sherwood
Av.Guatemala,calle Peatonal Playera, Tela, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tela
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel Sherwood is one of the best option in Tela.
It's located right on the beach so as soon as you exit their restaurant deck your feet are already in contact with Tela's beach sand.

They have several types of rooms so make sure you choose which is right for you. In my last stay I took one with a double bed and ample sofa overlooking the ocean. if you are running on a tight budget they have smaller ones that may be an option for short stays.

The poolside is a nice spot to watch the day go-by while reading book or being on-line. Rooms also come with wireless internet (at least the one I stayed in)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
7
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rahway, nj
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've been staying at the Hotel Sherwood each year for the past ten years and I have no complaints. It is located on the beach and from there it just a short walk to anywhere in town. The staff is friendly, helpful and honest. I am from Tela I have stayed at most of the better hotels there, but I look forward to going to Sherwood each year for the convenience and the great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Speak to the manager. She is very attentive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We put all our things in room went down stairs to eat. We returned to the room,to find more than $2000 worth of items were missing, including our vacation money, new smart phone, gold chains, mexico money even a bag of cloths It had to be the hotel staff.
We reported the lost to Mr Sheerwood (the owner) He took our email and gave his. Told us he would contact us in 3 days
He would not answer emails.
We have now been told this has happened before. You are at risk there
Do not try your luck, there are many better hotels nearby.
Also the place is overpriced old and dirty

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Nice hotel with great staff decent location nice pool overlooking the bay . Great restaurant great food decent prices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Hotel Sherwood is a reasonably-priced property which suits Honduran standards. Sufficiently comfortable for international travelers. Reasonable food and service. Nice location on town beach. Veranda is great place to sit. Staff is friendly with some who speak English. Hotel is almost always in some state of renovation or repair.

Room Tip: Rooms on beach tend to be quieter on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We ended up here as we were arriving in Tela a day earlier and our booked hotel was full. A travel agent in Tela got us a room at the last minute at an extortinate price. The hotel is mid way through a refurb by the looks of things - new aircon in the rooms, nice terrace restaurant, new tvs - but no real indication of it continuing. They should have started with the basics - the plastic/enamel was peeling off the bath, the bamboo blinds didn't fit the windows and let in lots of light. The place didn't feel secure as anyone could walk in and the rooms didn't have v good locks. The only positive is the view of the beach/ocean from the room but we didn;t want to spend any time in the room so didn't get the benefit. Would not recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great,just off the beach. However,the rooms are in need of serious refurbishment. The bathroom was an unpleasant experience with the bathtub dirty. It was expensive too at $70 so we moved to another hotel after one night,which was not only cheaper but so much better!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sherwood

Address: Av.Guatemala,calle Peatonal Playera, Tela, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sherwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.