We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papillon Restaurant & Bar

Papillon Restaurant & Bar
Bertil Harding Highway, Kololi, Gambia
00220-7439269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 65 Restaurants in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: German, International, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: In our restaurant you will find german, european, african and thai dishes.We pay attention in using the relevant spices for an authentic taste of the meals. With that, we want to remind you, to care for the hotness of the menu. Our friendly staff will assist you in any question concerning our meals. Particular changes in preparing your food, will be considered.Our serviceDaily changing "Lunch special" from 12:00 - 16:00 for D150.Happy hour from 12:00 - 16:00 Julbrew D 30 Softdrinks D 20You can order all meals for take away.Also you can join our catering service, if you decide another location for our menu.Most likely we welcome you inside our Restaurant and wish you a pleasant stay.
Shropshire, UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose Papillon for a change of cuisine and were delighted.

We both opted for Thai - a green chicken curry and another fiery chicken option with chillies and cashews. Both were delicious.

Service was prompt and attentive and the owner visited all tables. The setting is pleasant - we ate in the garden in front of the restaurant which is one the main road a few metres along from the Senegambia strip turn, but is well set back from the road and quiet.

Everything was clean and the place has style that is not common in local restaurants - we thought it matched Scala.

We wouldn't hesitate to go back, or to recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Papillon excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just come back from the Gambia and found Papillon, a nice quiet restaurant. Food was excellent and prices were reasonable, considering all the prices for food have gone up a lot in the Gambia. Next time I go I will definitely eat at this place a lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Slow and expensive, a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having read the reviews we thought that this would be a good place to come, unfortunately we were very disappointed.
The service was painfully slow, the waiter although pleasant didn't have much idea and didn't appear to be backed up by anyone else.
Although the food that we had was OK the main course soups were definitely only starter size, a number of dishes we ordered were not available, the waiting time was painful and the wine awful (fine if you like German wine I guess).
On top of this, it was one of the most expensive meals we eat in Gambia.
Sorry, I can't be more positive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillon-gambia, Inhaber at Papillon Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Very strange review. First time, that someone complain about the size of
soup ( 450ml ), meanwhile other customers are mentioning the huge
portions, which are served. We should not forget, that a group of 8
people can not get their meals within 15min, if it should be served at
the same time. Secondly, all dishes were available apart from Vanilla
icecream. Herefore it should be considered, that we are in Gambia, and
in all catagories you will find a shortage from time to time. And how we
have to see it, when an additional glas of " awful " german wine is
ordered, when previously 1 bottle was drunk ? Most customers wonder, how
we can manage the quality of food for that small amount of money. Maybe
it is caused by the the travel style " on a tight budget " ( members
profile ), to call it exspensive. Did we complain about the childrens
feet having on the tables inside the lounge and the trashed area of
dinner ? All in all, that review looks very constructed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a let-down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After readibg the reviews I was looking foward to at least an edible meal. What a dissapointment.
I had butterfish and I can honestly say I have never had worse.
Tough, dry and tastless.
Every time I have been to Gambia I eat butterfish 2 or 3 times, it is my favourite fish, but I have never tasted one so badly cooked.
My partner had the Spaghetti Bolognese and though I refused to taste it I was assured it was barely edible, but in no way enjoyable.
I will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First visit, won't be the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

excellent food, excellent service. We had the seafood plate and it was wonderful - 2 types of fish and grilled prawns served with either chips or rice. Cooked perfectly and very tasty. Will be back next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillon Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Papillon Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papillon Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.