We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kololi Beach Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kololi Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kololi Beach Club to your Saves list
Kololi Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PMB 241, Kerr Serign | Kerr Serign, Kololi, Gambia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Price
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kololi Beach Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 25 day break at Kololi Beach Club.......fabulous time! The staff are wonderful and attentive. We enjoyed everything about it.

The food at the clubhouse has great quality with plenty of choice. Always a new dish on the menu and plenty of it!

Face the DJ played varied music and lots of fun in the evenings.

Room Tip: Villa 15 has both an ocean view and a pool view. Large and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Beach Club and concur with many other reviews that the staff are incredibly helpful and the villas are spotlessly clean!
We spent two weeks at Kololi and although we had a wonderful holiday there were a few niggling things.
On the Saturday after we arrived there was a wedding and then another wedding on the Monday! Now I understand that people want their weddings to be perfect but it did seem a bit much that we couldn't use all the facilities that we have paid for as they were off limits due to weddings! If their are going to be more weddings other arrangements really need to be made as it isn't fair to paying guests.
The villas are cleaned to an immaculate standard and the staff are lovely.
The restaurant was a bit disappointing to be honest - overpriced in many respects - especially when there are so many good restaurants on the strip. The menu needs to be updated and to be honest the building could do with being knocked down and rebuilt.
The activities were none existent really, only boules and water polo and it was a shame that people didn't know they were happening.
The evening entertainment was poor - the African dance troops were good though.
We were told that the Club was full - but there was no way that was true. Hardly anyone turned up for the entertainment as most people ate out on the strip and didn't bother with the restaurant on site.
However that all being said we had a wonderful time in the Gambian sun and would love to go back in a few years to see if changes have been made.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 5B and it was great - just watch out for the monkey's - DO NOT FEED THEM!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been visiting Kololi for many years. We have seen many changes some for the better and we still can't resist returning every dec/jan.

We visited for two weeks over New Year. No improvements to villa's this year, but our villa was well maintained and very clean. Air conditioning in the main bedroom only at an extra, extra fans can be hired at a cost.

All staff on site are very friendly, from maids to patio boys and a special mention to the bar staff and entertainment staff. Bowls on the beach, water polo and volleyball was all good fun. The pool and beach boys ensured there were always a supply of sunbeds where you wished to sit, and were understanding to your needs if you had back problems and they would supply an extra sunbed mattress or chair.

The clubhouse restaurant was much improved this year with the return of a fantastic familiar face in management. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the more relaxed dining atmosphere, bbq evenings and happy smiling service from the waiting staff.

Evening entertainment isn't the same but that is not resort thought for trying, the kololi area is so no well developed that people are enticed to use other restaurants/entertainment venues.

Looking forward to returning this christmas. The only request would be to cut the trees down that border the beach/pool as these shade the grassed beach area very early in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Those with walking difficulties request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I got married at the Kololi Beach Club in March and our experience with the hotel and staff is nothing but positive. Everything we were promised, happened and in fact the friendly team at Kololi delivered more and made it a stress free experience.
Our accommodation was really clean, comfortable, spacious and perfect to get ready in. The flowers used to decorate the venue and archways were beautiful and lasted perfectly in the heat, the marquee and bridal tent perfectly co-ordinated with our color scheme and in the heat were much needed and well thought out.
Our tables were beautifully decorated and we were really happy with them. The food was delicious both day and night, we especially loved the BBQ in the evening next to the pool side was was beautifully lit. The band recommended by the hotel were fantastic and we just didn’t want to stop the party.
The photographers recommended by Tony were excellent and we have the most beautiful photographs to remember our special day. We would certainly recommend them.

We cannot thank Tony and his team enough for making our special day run so smoothly. Everything was perfect and the fact that the team made the day run seamlessly despite the registrar running 1.5 hours late due to a flat tyre is testament to the staffs excellent team work and organisation. They all remained relaxed and friendly with ready smiles in what must have been a stressful time playing catch up to what was outside of their control. We cannot praise the Kololi team highly enough for what they did for us. In fact many of our guests commented how organised and smoothly the day went and what a great time they had. They went as far as saying it was the best wedding they had attended and the most organised. This is praise indeed.
We would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful resort as a venue for other weddings/events. In the sunshine next to the sea is a perfect setting. I would recommend that guests listen to Tony about what works, thanks to his experience our day could not have been better.
So once again, thank you for giving us the most special day which we will never forget at the most reasonable price. We look forward to coming back to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent a fantastic week here in March to dip our toes into The Gambia, now we cannot wait to come back again. From the welcome drink and meeting Mike the director, to sadly leaving 7 days later, we have nothing but praise for the resort.
The staff are fantastic, very friendly and had our names remembered after the first day, accommodation was clean, airy and well maintained. Garden areas were beautiful and eating dinner every day on the beach and watching the sun go down will live with us for ever. The food on the club menu was well prepared and there were daily specials on the boards. Evening entertainment was good as well and something was on every night. The lady in the shop that makes the bags, shirts, trousers and anything else was brilliant and we stocked up on some awesome Ipad covers. Just choose your material and design and pick it up the next day. The colourfull Gambian shirts will be a hit at home when Summer arrives.
As with everywhere else in The Gambia, credit and debit cards are not taken, but personal cheques are OK if mentioned when checking in. The 2 cash points in close proximity to the resort only accept Visa cards.
All in all, a real fantastic holiday experience.
Do make the effort though to book a couple of excursions into Gambia, the country and people are amazing.

Room Tip: We had 32A, ground floor and it was great. Ask for ground floor as the terrace looked better than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I went to Kololi Beach Club with a friend on exchange with Dial-An-Exchange. We had a large 2 bed villa which was very clean if somewhat shabby in places, particularly when comparing it to The Osborne where we are members. No dishwasher, air con only in the master bedroom, fans elsewhere. The grounds are lovely and the location is superb right next to a private clean beach with incredible sea views. The vast majority of the staff there are wonderful and I can honestly say that they made our holiday very special. They are such lovely people, very friendly, caring, fun and they cannot do enough for you. The entertainment which we enjoyed the most was the karaoke evening when we danced the night away with some other members who soon became our friends. Everyone is very friendly and there is a great club atmosphere. Other entertainment which was great was the African evening with fabulous drumming, dancing and fire eating, and the farewell evening on Thursday with a very good singer. The menu is reasonable and the food was very good as were the happy hour cocktails!
One slight annoyance was that free Wi-Fi is only available a certain distance around the reception area. Unfortunately I can't recommend the manicures on site but the massage I had at the Holistic Centre on site was very good and reasonable. There is also a shop and a library, so no need to take books with you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are 10 year+ timeshare owners in Majorca & Florida, and this February half term was our first exchange into Africa. Yes it was different from Europe/States, but Kololi Beach Club has some great assets. The wall to wall sunshine, the beachfront vista; watching the sun disappear at dusk into the sea; the monkeys entertaining us outside our villa; and the friendly staff - all made for a great holiday.

The 'Africa' things you need to remember are:
1. It is 100% a cash based society - so no credit cards accepted at the resort
2. There are no washing machines on site - so the 'clothes washing service' is your maid (gladly) hand washing your stuff for you in your villa
3. The concept of a "supermarket" is not part of the local culture - so if you want to self cater then don't expect to get all your provisions from the on site shop.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kololi Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololi Beach Club

Address: PMB 241, Kerr Serign | Kerr Serign, Kololi, Gambia
Phone Number:
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololi Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering Vilas and apartments set on beach front location, with gold course next to Bijilo nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kololi Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololi Beach Club Hotel Kololi
Kololi Beach Club Gambia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kololi Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.