We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People watch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ali Baba Restaurant and Garden

Ali Baba Restaurant and Garden
Heart of Senegambia | Kololi Senegambia, Kololi, Gambia
+220 761 1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 56 restaurants in Kololi
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ali Baba Garden Bar & Restaurant Have Been Open Since 1996.Our Place Provide a Large Menu,Different Choices Of International Cuisine Our Famous Pizzas & Our New Pasta Section (Chicken Pesto. Seafood Pasta .Spaghetti) Also Our Large Refreshing Cocktails. Reasonable Prices,From 4 To 8 euro Per Person
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“People watch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice place to eat and drink watch the world go by!!always a good meeting place to relax and have a few beers

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    69
    94
    69
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“large menu large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As always Ali Baba was worth another visit with great food and service the menu is large with a great choice of local or European food and at good prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not as good as its been”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten here on many occasions my husband and I were looking forward to our meal and evening there. When we arrived we were surprised that not many people were there about 6 tables and this was at 8:30. We ordered our food I opted for fish and chips English style. All I can say is not again. The fish was coated in a thick sauce then battered and fried. I tried my best to remove the coating from the fish but I didn't enjoy it.

The level of people did increase around 10pm but not up to the same numbers as previous trips.

I'm disappointed that what normally is a thriving establishment and generally good food has slipped.

Also tried Ali baba's kotu branch, squeezed in, poor service, bad food again. Three of the four of us had chips and all had bad stomachs the next day. Shame.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
501 helpful votes 501 helpful votes
“OK for a leisurely beer and people-watch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We twice visited this bar for a cold beer, to rest our feet and watch the world go by. The beer was tasty with quite a bitter taste (more like English bitter than a normal lager). It cost only 40 dalasis (80p) and was served in a handled beer mug, well chilled. If you take a table near the roadside, you can be entertained by the variety of passers-by. The bar is located only 100 yards from the Senegambia Hotel entrance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food but you have to wait !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

7 adults went for dinner with 3 children and waited for over an hour for our food. Entertainment good

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba Restaurant and Garden also viewed

 
Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Ali Baba Restaurant and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali Baba Restaurant and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.