We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tao Restaurant

Tao Restaurant
Senegambia Area | next to Sarges Hotel, Kololi, Gambia
4461191
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 60 Restaurants in Kololi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We wouldn't normally visit a Chinese restaurant, preferring local food when we are on holiday. However Tao was recommended to us over 10 years and we visit there at least once during our annual one week holiday in Kololi. We try to go on Thursday night buffet night as it is excellent value. It is now run by the British husband of the Swedish wife who runs Scala, having taken over that role from her parents. The standard of food and service at both establishments is first class and Tao deserves more positive ratings on a tripadvisor to get it up there with Scala!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Purrmerend
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

we had the buffet dinner, but the food was bland. Nothing big, nothing special, just not worth going there. There aer plenty more better options in Kololi than this place

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Owned by the same people as the Scala we had a great meal here. A very good choice of Asian/Thai dishes, very fresh ingredients , well cooked and presented. Please note they tend to dumb down the chilli so if you like it hot you need to let them know.; we did and it was fine.
Good friendly service and the same excellent attention to customer service as the Scala.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is supposed to serve Thai and Cantonese food. Probably the worst Chinese food I have eaten anywhere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Food here is great, just wished i had knew about the buffet sooner. Staff friendly and food really hot which i like.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao Restaurant also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Tao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tao Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.