We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaitohi

Vaitohi
PK 10.5 Cote Mer | Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
+689 473100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Punaauia
Price range: $2,500 - $6,500
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: For a delectable experience in the elegant setting of the Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, come to the Vaitohi restaurant and its trendy Punavai Lounge bar, and sample Polynesian, French and international flavours. Discover the true meaning of Polynesian hospitality and service, warm and spontaneous, one of a kind. Opening hours: 6:00am to 1:00am - 7 days - Last order at MIDNIGHT
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ate here while staying at the Manava Suites. Great food, and great service. After a week holiday on an island in Bora Bora, we were craving some decent food, and this restaurant proved to be a pleasant surprise. Maybe a little overpriced but it was so worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wild Wild West
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had breakfast here before catching the shuttle to the ferry terminal. The food was pretty decent, but the meal was WAY overpriced for what we got. We paid 3000 XPF each (around $30) for a small buffet with a few hot items, and a few more cold offerings. Everything is more expensive in French Polynesia, but I would not have wanted to pay more than $15 for what we had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the Manava and went there several times. We enjoyed our meal and I would eat there again, but given this was the #1 rated restaurant in Punaaui, I expected to be blown away.

For that, I would recommend Le Coco's which was amazing.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing little find! Great value, great food, great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on reviews we read. So glad we did. The best meal we had on the entire time in Tahiti! Had spring rolls and sushi appetizer. The little Tuna gift they bring you was amazing. For dinner I had the pasta with carbonara and it was some of the best I have had and I'm Italian. My husband had the filet with the mushroom and pancetta cannelloni. Omg. It was delicious. All that and drinks and it was $80 total. The service was amazing and they had all the extras of home.... i.e. Parmesan cheese, butter , oil and balsamic all without having to ask! Great variety of menu .. Something for everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food in a pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We dined at Vaitohi twice during our visit to French Polynesia - at the beginning and end of our trip. The atmosphere was lovely. We sat outside overlooking the garden area. Be aware that several cats seem to hang around and sit beside diners in the hope for a bite to eat! It didn't bother us as cats seem to hang around most outdoor restaurants in French Polynesia and by the end of our trip we were used to it. The service was better on our first night there as they seemed to have a new staff member on the second night we dined there. They offer 2 menus, with a good variety of choices, but you can select from both. One has a French emphasis and the other has a French Polynesian focus. The food was very good, except the bread rolls on the second night had a very hard crust. I had the duck confit one evening and it was delicious. From memory, the cost of a main course varied between 2100 and 3500xpf. Wine was a little on the pricey side but this is the norm in French Polynesia.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaitohi also viewed

Punaauia, Tahiti
Punaauia, Tahiti
 
Punaauia, Tahiti
Punaauia, Tahiti
 

Been to Vaitohi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaitohi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.