We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful situation on lagoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otaha Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punaauia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otaha Lodge
17 kilometers from Papeete | BP 380 231 Tamanu, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Punaauia B&B and Inns
Norfolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful situation on lagoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful situation on lagoon – perfect for swimming, snorkelling and kayaking. Beach reached by garden steps can get busy at week-ends. Other lodgers have to pass Bungalow 1 in order to use steps to and from beach.

Accommodation basic but fine. Friendly and very helpful owner but not intrusive. Very willing to provide lifts. Free use of kayaks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Titaua and her dogs are so welcoming and the lodge so idyllic with its lagoon/beach front location that we didn't want to leave after our 4 night stay. The lodge is 17km from Papeete, a short drive or about 30mins on the bus. Avoid travelling back on the bus from 3pm+ on school day. The scrum for the limited number of seats isn't worth it. Otherwise, travel to and from the city was easy and cheap. The beach is busy at the weekend but otherwise peaceful with beautiful views across the lagoon to Moorea. We even saw a whale out to sea on our last day. Titaua was happy to drive us to the local supermarket for supplies or it's about a 30min walk along the busy road. Titaua welcomed us into her home making us feel like we experienced genuine Tahitian hospitality.

Room Tip: Lodge 2c is the nearest to the beach access and opens out onto the garden with views of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at Otaha Lodge for 3 days after our airline schedule kept changing and we wanted to be on the main island of Tahitit with easier access to the airport.

We wished we had stayed here for the whole 6 days in Tahiti now rather than bothering to go to Moorea.

Otaha Lodge is located beachfront on a lovely lagoon about 12 kilometres from the airport. Titaua was our hostess (speaks English, French and Spanish)and she organised our transfer from the airport and gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. She immediately drove us around in her own car so that we could get a few items on arrival and pick up a pizza.

We had a beach front bure with a table and lounge area on the front patio. Double bed, good sized fridge, tv, separate shower, etc. It was just a few steps to the beach but the lovely lawned yard was also enclosed by a wire fence so we felt safe from anyone walking up from the beach onto the property.
The water in the lagoon was like a picture postcard and lovely and warm to swim in.
We had a late flight, but Titaua allowed us to keep occupying our accommodation until it was time to go to the airport and she also organised our transport again.

Don't be put off by the main road location and the property is located down a lane and right on the beach front. Maybe the only downside is that if you wish to walk to the local shops you need to walk along a very busy road or along the beach. There aqre a couple of mini markets and small restaurants and food vans within walking distance. We did also catch a bus back from Papeete one day after a bout of shopping and it dropped us right at the entrance to the lane way of Otaha Lodge.
Titaua also allowed us to use the internet on her computer. We felt very welcomed and a part of the family. Titaua also has several friendly dogs who come to say hello.
I would definitely come back to stay again and the price was better and the beach a lot nicer and the water more swimmable than where we stayed at Moorea. Please also see my review of Fare Miti on Moorea.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

It's hard to find but worth the effort. We prefer "off the beaten track" and Otaha Lodge fit the bill. Titaua, the owner, greeted us warmly and showed us to our bungalow. The photos on her website are spot on. It is charming; tile floors, woven bamboo walls, a tiny ktichenette. The sound of relentless waves crashed on the reef, green grass lead down to the beach, flowering plants filled the air with heady scents of gardenia and bouganvilla, the tiare flower. Don't expect to sleep in - the birds are crazy! We woke up giggling to their unending symphony. We had a car so could easily drive to Tahiti Iti and other parts of the island, avoiding the city all together. We enjoyed snorkeling right in front of the property and Gaugin sunsets of mango, purple and grey-blues. Titaua drove us to a local roulette for a fabulous dinner at a reasonable price. The next night she had us follow her to the restaurant we had chosen so we wouldn't get lost. She was so helpful and kind, producing maps and guidebooks to make our journey simpler. Her English is better than she thinks it is so that helped. Otherwise you must try to learn french no matter where you travel in French Polynesia! She christened us with the traditional shell lei's and a hug upon departure. Otaha is not for the 5 star luxury oriented traveler. It is for those who wish to feel the heart of Tahiti at it's traditional and primitive best.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otaha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otaha Lodge

Address: 17 kilometers from Papeete | BP 380 231 Tamanu, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Punaauia
Also Known As:
Otaha Lodge Tahiti/Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otaha Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Otaha Lodge to your Saves list