We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Coco's

Le Coco's
pK 13,200 cote mer | BP 1603 Punavai, Punaauia, French Polynesia
689 58 21 08
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 18 restaurants in Punaauia
Price range: $59 - $170
Cuisines: Diner, French, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Some of the best food I have ever enjoyed. Enjoying a tasty 4 course dinner while listening to the crashing waves was a delightful way to enjoy the first night in Tahiti. The Black Pearl dessert was the most unique desert ever enjoyed. I won't ruin the surprise we had with that, you'll have to go there and order it to know what I mean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    99
    27
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pricey but superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Get your wallet ready for a really expensive meal, but at the same time a superb one. Including tax and service starters were $50, mains $65 and desserts $35. WOW> But once you get over this shock you will have a superb meal, in a beautiful relaxed colonial setting with very good service

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a cheap alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pretty great meals here! Everyone seems to rave about all the dishes. They are tasty, big & the place is cute...a sand floor!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food at an expensive price tag!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The restaurant is nice compared to most on the island. Request a seat by the ocean if it is raining or one outside of it is raining. It was wonderful to hear and watch the waves crashing.

Food vs Price
The food was very good; however, portions are extremely small, and the price is $$$$. Dinner for two with one cocktail and tip was $450. For this kind of money I expect a lot more. Although presentation and the quality was good. We had the 7 course tasting menu including Fois Gras and black truffles (the truffles appeared to be actual fresh black winter truffles). These were promised in different islands in French Polynesia; however, this was the first time they were delivered. In other restaurants in French Polynesia they stated "fresh truffles" and used canned or bottled truffles. Overall I felt the food was very good the portions were very small and the price was extremely high. Not a great value for the money compared to what I am used to spending in New York and Rio De Janeiro where I spend a lot of time.

Service
Service was lacking and slow. There were attentive when you asked for something; however, a two hour dinner became three hours due to slow service. The wait stuff was French and French Polynesian and extremely friendly and helpful. The speed of the service was typical for the island and what I expected this far in to my trip. The only place I had excellent service was the St Regis in Bora Bora.


Overall
We were staying at the Intercontinental and had just checked and wanted to book Le Lotus within the hotel. We were refused due to them being overbooked. I was a bit upset because it was my wife's birthday and I didn't book in advance; however, it is rare that you have to book a hotel restaurant in advance. I would have preferred Le Lotus; however, Le Coco's is a true "French" fine dining experience. You will leave satisfied but the wallet may hurt a bit.

Location
15 minutes from the Intercontinental was $70 round trip adding to the cost of the bill. If you rented a car which I suggest you do you can save that cost.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ok, but definitely not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Le Coco's is trying to play in culinary top league but can't live up to that standard. Food was ok, not great. Service was ok , but not great. Overall it was just ok & for just ok it is very pricey. I would definitely not go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coco's also viewed

 
Punaauia, Tahiti
Mahina, Tahiti
 

Been to Le Coco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Coco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.