We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Coco's

Le Coco's
pK 13,200 cote mer | BP 1603 Punavai, Punaauia, French Polynesia
+689 40 58 21 08
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Punaauia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $170
Cuisines: French, Diner, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Some of the best food I have ever enjoyed. Enjoying a tasty 4 course dinner while listening to the crashing waves was a delightful way to enjoy the first night in Tahiti. The Black Pearl dessert was the most unique desert ever enjoyed. I won't ruin the surprise we had with that, you'll have to go there and order it to know what I mean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
205 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pricey but superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Get your wallet ready for a really expensive meal, but at the same time a superb one. Including tax and service starters were $50, mains $65 and desserts $35. WOW> But once you get over this shock you will have a superb meal, in a beautiful relaxed colonial setting with very good service

Visited January 2013
Thank bigvicSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a cheap alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pretty great meals here! Everyone seems to rave about all the dishes. They are tasty, big & the place is cute...a sand floor!!

Visited December 2012
Thank terelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at an expensive price tag!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The restaurant is nice compared to most on the island. Request a seat by the ocean if it is raining or one outside of it is raining. It was wonderful to hear and watch the waves crashing.

Food vs Price
The food was very good; however, portions are extremely small, and the price is $$$$. Dinner for two with one cocktail and tip was $450. For this kind of money I expect a lot more. Although presentation and the quality was good. We had the 7 course tasting menu including Fois Gras and black truffles (the truffles appeared to be actual fresh black winter truffles). These were promised in different islands in French Polynesia; however, this was the first time they were delivered. In other restaurants in French Polynesia they stated "fresh truffles" and used canned or bottled truffles. Overall I felt the food was very good the portions were very small and the price was extremely high. Not a great value for the money compared to what I am used to spending in New York and Rio De Janeiro where I spend a lot of time.

Service was lacking and slow. There were attentive when you asked for something; however, a two hour dinner became three hours due to slow service. The wait stuff was French and French Polynesian and extremely friendly and helpful. The speed of the service was typical for the island and what I expected this far in to my trip. The only place I had excellent service was the St Regis in Bora Bora.

We were staying at the Intercontinental and had just checked and wanted to book Le Lotus within the hotel. We were refused due to them being overbooked. I was a bit upset because it was my wife's birthday and I didn't book in advance; however, it is rare that you have to book a hotel restaurant in advance. I would have preferred Le Lotus; however, Le Coco's is a true "French" fine dining experience. You will leave satisfied but the wallet may hurt a bit.

15 minutes from the Intercontinental was $70 round trip adding to the cost of the bill. If you rented a car which I suggest you do you can save that cost.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank morganscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ok, but definitely not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Le Coco's is trying to play in culinary top league but can't live up to that standard. Food was ok, not great. Service was ok , but not great. Overall it was just ok & for just ok it is very pricey. I would definitely not go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
3 Thank Yiukohah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coco's also viewed

Punaauia, Tahiti

Been to Le Coco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing