We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome respite from sailboating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manava Suite Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Tijeras, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Welcome respite from sailboating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

4 of us stayed in a very nice clean 1 bedroom suite (with a pullout sofa/futon in the "living room") overlooking the infinity pool & harbor for our last night in French Polynesia after 3 weeks on a sailboat. Wonderful! We wished we'd had more time there. Figuring out how the different lights worked was a challenge but the world traveller in our group helped. The desk & housekeeping staff seemed friendly & responded quickly to our request for extra towels & bedding. Liked the poolside beach; the gradual incline/ramp down into the pool was easy on the knee strain some of us had. The pool area does need some more area lighting after dark. We had drinks at the poolside bar our 1st day in Papeete & again when we stayed our final night. Mixed drink prices may seem high to Americans but were not uncommonly so throughout the islands we visited. We ate in the Vaitohi hotel restaurant--it IS expensive but the attentive staff, killer drinks and good food made the splurge seem worth it.

Room Tip: Definitely spend extra for lagoon-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    336
    118
    33
    13
See reviews for
117
487
25
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived very early in the morning at PPT airport (5AM), and arrived at the Manava Suite Resort about an hour later for our three night stay.The very friendly people at the reception told us it was too early to check in (obviously), but said they would contact the manager to see if it was possible to get our room quicker. As we already booked an excursion at 8h30, we just freshened up in the toilets. Around 8AM they came to us with the key for the room, excellent! Rooms are spacious, clean and the view from our oceanview suite was breathtaking. Beautiful view over the infinity pool and Mo'orea. The kitchen was well equiped, and as there are a few good stores around it's easy to cook some standard stuff during the day and have breakfast on the balcony. The bathroom quite large, with a bathtub and a rainshower, toilet is separate. Large, comfortable bed for a good night rest. Wired internet good up to speed, WiFi in the lobby is less reliable in my opinion. The only less impressive point are some the details in the room. Things hanging loose in the wall (toilet paper & soap holder) and the paintwork on the walls isn't top quality. Nothing to be worried about though. The surroundings of the hotel are clean and well looked after. The resort is a 10 mins. drive from the Faa'a airport, and 15-20 mins. drive for the center of Papeete. I would strongly suggest to rent a car when you come to Tahiti & Moorea, as there are limited other possibilities to get around. We had a good stay, and can safely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view suite, not only for the spectacular views (duh). These rooms tend to be colder, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for a night at Manava prior to heading to Moorea and again at the end of our trip. The rooms are large and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful - even when we had a 5am check out - they were very attentive and came to collect our bags and made sure all was right.
The pool is beautiful - especially when you just arrive in Tahiti and are taken to this hotel and see the pool and the islands in the background - it's really breathtaking.
I would recommend family and friends to spend a night or two at this hotel on the way to the outer islands.

Room Tip: The garden rooms all have lovely balconies so you can sit outside at night which is good. I would i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very clean rooms, friendsly staff, excellent location, top service. My favorite in Papeete for short or long stays. The kitchenettes in the rooms make it very practical for your stay.
I love the pool plunging in the lagoon, the rooms with the view on Moorea

Room Tip: take the lagoon view studio, great for sunset or sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent six nights at Manava. Staff were very nice and helpful, even if their answers were not often correct..we found out. Housekeeping and support staff very attentive. Photos on website DO NOT match rooms; bright orange pillow/bedspread accents were no where to be seen. So rooms were drab looking but clean. Beds were okay but soft. Website photo of water front of resort DOES NOT match reality. Tiki hut in front of pool much smaller than the photo shows. And the building is dark brown and drab, not the white color the photos shows. So website is deceiving. The infinity pool was nice, looking right at Moorea Island. Buy the waterfalls in the pool are turned off halfway through the day for the rest of the day and the pool area/including the bar/eating area are all closed down and dark by 6pm. Very short supply of deck furniture and pool towels every day. No night life or nice outdoor views/seating areas for the night. Wonder if recession has hit and they are cutting corners. Restaurants are very expensive at hotel. We found two roulettes across the street on our own (staff did not mention them) that had outdoor seating, basic 'mobile unit' restaurants but the food is FABULOUS and the prices for Tahiti were great! If we did Tahiti again would stay shorter and stay at another hotel/resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, which is what we did. Ask for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Manava in a Garden View room on our way to Bora Bora. The rooms were quite new and there was nothing I could really fault. The bathroom was lovely and the main room quite big. There were only 2 tv channels in English however so if you plan on staying for a week and like to veg out and watch tv, you would be disappointed.

We also stayed at the Intercontinenal on our way back, I definitely rate the Manava much higher than the Intercontinental which was very run down and showing its age.

The taxi fare from the airport was about 2000xpf. For those tossing up whether to stay closer at the intercontinental don't bother. The Manava is much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We only stayed for two separate nights while in transit from The States to Bora Bora. The hotel was vey modern and clean and the staff attentive and genuinely friendly. In my opinion, the infinity pool with swim up bar is the best part of the Hotel and we had pretty decent drinks and service at the swim up bar ... but that was because we tip well. It helps... but we are professionals so...we made him work for it ;-)

The rooms are well appointed and really spacious and have a small kitchen. I totally enjoyed breakfast which was included with our room rate. We rented a car and drove around Tahiti and wished we had just stayed at the Manava and relaxed instead. After spending some time in Bora Bora Tahiti was a let-down and felt very dirty and third world.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that overlooks the water and pool, Higher floors = Better Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Address: Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian décor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.