We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Manava Suite Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Punaauia
Beijing
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is not centrally located, but we stayed there on a weekend where a lot of shops are closed anyway so it was not an issue. The view over the pool, ocean and Moorea from our balcony was great. There is a small bar in the middle of the pool where you can swim to and order a cocktail and watch the sun go down. The food in the restaurant is good and of course pricey. But this is French Polynesia, so go ahead and spoil yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    300
    103
    28
    10
See reviews for
102
441
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent three peaceful nights in an ocean view suite (with a kitchen) at the Manava before leaving on a cruise. Our suite was comfortable, clean and met all our needs. The staff are friendly and helpful and arranged a good Island tour for us among other things. The breakfast was great and the grounds and vistas are lovely. It is an easy walk to the island's biggest shopping centre, yacht harbour, clubs and local stores. Local buses are available, although we always used the hotel shuttle. There is a workout room, free internet/pc in the lobby and a small gift shop. Expect to pay more for commodities, on island locations...being there is worth it!

Room Tip: The ocean view suites with large balconies are amazing but if its not within your budget, the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The property is in the middle of nowhere. Continental breakfast is $25 per person and full breakfast $35 per person. The George V in Paris is less expensive! The desk staff was helpful and friendly, but not able to help fix issues. We repeatedly asked for the floors in our room to be swept and they were not. The hotel gives one towel per person per day and it becomes an issue if you shower more than once...Ditto at the pool, only one towel is the policy and even a call to the manager will not change that. This should be a one night stay while you leave for a really nice property. Our friends and us stayed 4 days...far too long at this overpriced, budget minded resort. The infinity pool, by the way, is very nice and is fresh water.

Room Tip: Only consider a lagoon view room unless you want a room with bars across your windows or obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Manava for two nights until we left for Bora Bora. It was a very nice hotel we had an ocean view room which was fantastic. The pool was very nice but there was only a man made beach you could swim in the ocean but it was very rocky unless you swam out far. The pool bar was ok, the onsite restaurant was ok too. We found a little store close by which was helpful and there is also a big grocery store down the road. Room was great views were great staff was helpful free wifi downstairs. Short stay is my recommendation not a long stay hotel. But we were very satisfied!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night and it was just right for that. We arrived in the morning and they hurried to get our room ready. It was clean and adorable, modern yet with Tahitian flair. Free wi-fi was a plus but could only be used in the lobby area, which was fine with us as our room was not far away. The infinity pool was just okay and the drinks at the pool bar set us back $40 for just two drinks (though alcohol in Tahiti is generally expensive). Not too much to complain about for the price!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Bora Bora, One night was OK first room in need of some re-decorating second room better. Bathrooms from our experiance need a good deep clean. Reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms off the ground floor appear better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've chosen this place on a basis of good reviews on tripadvisor, and I seriously start doubting how much you can trust second-hand experience... The place is not far from the airport, but not really easy to find, as no signs towards the actual road exist.
Never mind, there we were, at midnight, found our way, and parked the car. The receptionist was in the back room, and despite a couple of calls from bellboy, didn't attend to us for a while. He later made some drama around the fact that we didn't have any voucher. The reservation number had been communicated to the hotel by our agent, together with the indication of a honeymoon, towards which no gesture was made whatsoever. Later he checked us in, naturally, but lengthy check in is hardly something I appreciate around midnight. Generally, I remember only a couple of friendly looking staff members during our stay, the rest were not paid to smile.
To the room. The size is fine, the bed is pretty good, and the aircon is quiet. The bathroom was not really sparkling. The bath itself chipped off in several places, and the shower had white stains all over the floor. Soap, mold, I did not feel like investigating..
The biggest disappointment, however, came from general grounds of the hotel. The passage from the car park to the lobby was full of water, and stinking with all sorts of things. The garden and the pool looked just sad. The pool is open all the time, meaning, it's just not covered for the night, so should you feel like swimming in cold water in the dark - you can do that. The pool bar was closed all the time. None of the beautiful water features from the photos were working, and instead you could see construction cranes sticking in the background.
Restaurant food was okay, but the presentation was really mediocre (sauces to accompany fish served in plastic bowls).
Overall, it is okay for a stopover (as in my case), but really, you can just go to Intercontinental, and have a better stay. I seriously do not understand all the raving reviews about Manava.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia
Address: Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian décor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.