We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resting place for a short visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Manava Suite Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Punaauia
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great resting place for a short visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Manava for two nights until we left for Bora Bora. It was a very nice hotel we had an ocean view room which was fantastic. The pool was very nice but there was only a man made beach you could swim in the ocean but it was very rocky unless you swam out far. The pool bar was ok, the onsite restaurant was ok too. We found a little store close by which was helpful and there is also a big grocery store down the road. Room was great views were great staff was helpful free wifi downstairs. Short stay is my recommendation not a long stay hotel. But we were very satisfied!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    313
    110
    31
    11
See reviews for
105
461
22
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night and it was just right for that. We arrived in the morning and they hurried to get our room ready. It was clean and adorable, modern yet with Tahitian flair. Free wi-fi was a plus but could only be used in the lobby area, which was fine with us as our room was not far away. The infinity pool was just okay and the drinks at the pool bar set us back $40 for just two drinks (though alcohol in Tahiti is generally expensive). Not too much to complain about for the price!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Bora Bora, One night was OK first room in need of some re-decorating second room better. Bathrooms from our experiance need a good deep clean. Reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms off the ground floor appear better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've chosen this place on a basis of good reviews on tripadvisor, and I seriously start doubting how much you can trust second-hand experience... The place is not far from the airport, but not really easy to find, as no signs towards the actual road exist.
Never mind, there we were, at midnight, found our way, and parked the car. The receptionist was in the back room, and despite a couple of calls from bellboy, didn't attend to us for a while. He later made some drama around the fact that we didn't have any voucher. The reservation number had been communicated to the hotel by our agent, together with the indication of a honeymoon, towards which no gesture was made whatsoever. Later he checked us in, naturally, but lengthy check in is hardly something I appreciate around midnight. Generally, I remember only a couple of friendly looking staff members during our stay, the rest were not paid to smile.
To the room. The size is fine, the bed is pretty good, and the aircon is quiet. The bathroom was not really sparkling. The bath itself chipped off in several places, and the shower had white stains all over the floor. Soap, mold, I did not feel like investigating..
The biggest disappointment, however, came from general grounds of the hotel. The passage from the car park to the lobby was full of water, and stinking with all sorts of things. The garden and the pool looked just sad. The pool is open all the time, meaning, it's just not covered for the night, so should you feel like swimming in cold water in the dark - you can do that. The pool bar was closed all the time. None of the beautiful water features from the photos were working, and instead you could see construction cranes sticking in the background.
Restaurant food was okay, but the presentation was really mediocre (sauces to accompany fish served in plastic bowls).
Overall, it is okay for a stopover (as in my case), but really, you can just go to Intercontinental, and have a better stay. I seriously do not understand all the raving reviews about Manava.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

As our first stop from New Zealand, the Manava was truly amazing. We had chosen on a recommendation from a friend from Tahiti and as we were on a budget and short on time we did not venture to the outer islands. No trouble checking in late, our flight was delayed and ended up arriving at midnight but the staff were there waiting and in good spirits too! We absolutely loved the location and the view of Moorea was fantastic especially at sunset! The staff were amazingly friendly, even the guys that were roaming around at midnight when we arrived just to make sure everything was okay. We stayed in a Garden View Suite for four nights. Though people say they would pay more to upgrade to Lagoon View, it was quite nice to look out over the garden and up the mountain behind and after all we spent most of the time in the pool looking out over the lagoon anyway. Room was air-conditioned which was indeed a life-saver at times! Would highly recommend the in-house restaurant. The food was truly spectacular, though quite pricey, it was more than worth it, some of the best meals we've ever had! If you don't want to eat in the restaurant there is a small dairy that sells basic groceries for reasonable prices and the most delicious baguettes! Literally turn left out of the hotel gates and two mins on the opposite side! Though there is no beach, the pool-beach is one of the more wondrous parts of the property. Such an awesome feeling sipping cocktails at the pool bar whilst watching the sunset over Moorea. It was quite quiet when we were there, more people staying for a night before heading to one of the islands or on their flight home rather than staying for longer. Overall a wonderful experience and would definitely return again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I first stayed at the Manava on my arrival in Papeete and was upgraded to a lovely lagoon view suite complete with a kitchen, could not fault the hotel. On my way back from Rangiroa due to the p,and being delayed I missed the last ferry to moorea and had to book a last minute room for myself and another couple. As the Sofitel and two other hotels had closed in the recent weeks the Manava was full to the brim as three cruise ships were in port. My room this time was a much smaller but still comfortable upstairs room in the main building. Unfortunately the room had not been prepared and there were no toiletries or towels but far worse, the toilet had not been cleaned. I reported this disgusting mess to the front desk and received a free breakfast. This hotel is well located and has a beautiful infinity pool and is well positioned for a couple of nights stay. Food was average and breakfast is very overpriced. Eat at the roulotte across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a kitchen if you plan on staying more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here on the way back home after finishing our holiday in Moorea and were pleasantly surprised at how nice this place was. We stayed at Tahiti Nui hotel at the start of our holiday because it was close to the marina for the moorea ferry and we chose manava due to its proximity to the airport but I would probably stay here again at the start of our holiday as well. Our room wasnt the best room at the hotel because it faced the main road and there were lots of loud motorbikes and scooters speeding past the hotel at night making it challenging to catch some sleep but you cannot fault the location of the hotel bar and pool. It overlooks the island of moorea and the view was amazing. My wife and i had some great cocktails at the bar. The cocktails here were surprisingly more expensive (1800 xpf) than the Hilton at moorea where we stayed but they were made well. The hotel pool is an infinity pool with access to the bar which is a nice touch. There was a nice truck shop across the road from the hotel as well which was great for an inexpensive dinner (steak and chips) I would recommend this hotel for anyone on their way to or from bora bora, moorea or other surrounding islands.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Address: Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian décor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.