We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop over in Papeete!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Manava Suite Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punaauia
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice stop over in Papeete!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had two connecting rooms for 3 nights, they upgraded one of our basic studio rooms to a full room and they were both fantastic! We loved the décor and the pool was great.

Pros:
-Rooms were lovely, very large and no bug problems!
-Pool was large and had a great view
-The male staff members were GREAT! One even rung up about 5 restaurants for us to see if any were open on new years day because we got sick of the food there. He even offered us a ride, great customer service!

Cons:
-The were never enough umbrellas, chairs or towels on the beach.
-The restaurant was fully booked out for the new years eve dinner so we had room service in our room then decided to watch the Tahitian show only to find out it was only for the dinner people, we would have paid to see it!
-Restaurant was ok, we paid around $150AUD for 3 meals which were large but a little flavourless compared to other meals we had around Tahiti. We went during a public holiday so there was nothing else open.

Overall the resort is a great place to stay, I would probably not stay here over 3 nights as I would get bored but I liked our stop over before heading home.

Room Tip: If you want some privacy do not get the ocean view rooms as they get quite loud from the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    364
    128
    36
    15
See reviews for
118
525
28
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed with my wife and 2 kids for one night, as many do, awaiting a morning flight out of Tahiti. It was a 2500 PF taxi ride from the airport, and the ride took about 15 minutes. For those wanting the closest option to the airport, the Intercontinental is closer (other than the Tahiti Airport Hotel, which is cruddy).

For the negatives, they advertise that the pool is open 24 hours a day. But when we went to the pool at about 8 pm, it was pitch black and not a soul in sight. The pool may have been "open", but not really.

We asked for a roll-away bed for one of our kids. They said one was available for about 60 US. Forget that. We called and asked for an extra blanket and pillow. Nothing. We asked for someone to explain the DVD player. Nothing. The breakfast buffet was over 100 US for 2 adults and 2 kids. It was far too scant to command that kind of money.

As for the positives, I simply knew him as "bell boy". He initially took our bags to the room, and explained everything. He suggested a roulette for dinner, which was AWESOME. After being ignored when calling the front desk for help with extra blankets and help with the DVD player, I went to reception, and he came up with the blanket, and he explained the DVD. He's a champ.

The pool area is nice, and the grounds are well maintained. But after a week at the Pearl in Moorea, the Manava seems like a motel. It's just not very "Tahitian".

I'm not slamming the place. It's fine. They just need to work on their front desk customer service a bit, promote Bell Boy, and work on the Tahitian ambiance of the place.

As an FYI, the roulette that I mentioned is, if you leave the hotel and hang a left, maybe a couple of hundred feet away, across the street. Everyone knows that meals in Tahiti are expensive, but we got 4 very good steak dinners for 5500 PF. The do not take credit cards, but they do take US Dollars if you are a bit short of Francs.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a night, ocean view obviously is the move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Face it. French Polynesia is breathtakingly expensive, regardless of what country one is coming from. So for the first day or so, while you are getting over jet lag, or recovering from working too hard at a job that pays you enough to make a trip like this, you probably are going to want to rest and get acclimatized before you move on to the more exotic islands of French Polynesia. This is the perfect place to do so. The suites have great beds, full kitchens, amenities, lots of room and lovely gardens. The infinity pool is the largest in Tahiti. The beach bar is great and the sunsets are wonderful. And it's reasonably priced. So save your over the top luxury for better islands when you're actually awake and able to enjoy it. The hotel is 10 minutes from the airport but is not disturbed by it.

Room Tip: Refuse any room with a balcony at the front of the property. It is probably noisy facing on the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September while in transit to Moorea and had a great experience. Property is well maintained with nicely sized rooms and good amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel close to the airport was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon while in transfer to Moorea. We were here only one night, but it was great. The inifity pool was very large and had a fantastic view of Moorea. In fact, while sitting facing the water one morning, we saw a huge group of dolphins. It was so exciting! There is no beach, but that was not a big deal.
The service was wonderful and the staff was very helpful. Our bags didn't make the flight and the staff directed us to a local store to buy some necessities. In fact, when we had trouble finding the place, the locals were incredibly friendly in helping us find it, despite the language barrier.

The food was very good everything was great. It was a perfect place to stay while in transfer and I would've been happy to stay even longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Despite the rains - it was the rainy season after all - I enjoyed my stay at the Manava Suite Resort. The room was very spacious and lovely. Questions about the AC and TV were dealt with promptly by technicians sent to my room who were polite and professional. The pool was a big draw for me and I took advantage of it whenever the sun peeped out. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax before a long flight home or unwind after sightseeing. There were Tahitian families on vacation here as well. I only ate in the restaurant once. Like most places it's expensive and the food is only so-so, but it was a nice break from eating in my room. The little grocery store down the street provided basics, such as baguettes, juice and sandwich meat. I'd stay at the Manava again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room rather than a suite. It was on the front road but there was little if a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Manava on our way to Moorea, it was booked through our travel agent at Tahiti vacations, so I am not sure about the price. The pools are great, we enjoyed an evening swim, nice setting! We ate at the roulottes, which were a short walk up the road, popular with the locals and very good value! Yummy Pizza!

Room Tip: Don't choose a standard room facing the main road, as it is quite noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Address: Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian décor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.