We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manava Suite Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punaauia
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Recommend for short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent our stop-over evenings at the Manava Suites. They are clean & comfortable, but would only recommend for a short stay. The staff are friendly & helpful, and the pool is a nice. What I would highly recommend about this hotel is the in house restaurant, The Vaitohi Restaurant - after a week of boring food in Bora Bora, we were pleasantly surprised by this restaurant's excellent service & food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    362
    128
    36
    14
See reviews for
118
522
28
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two days on our way home from a romantic stay on a small island north of Tahiti. The Manava appears to target travellers in need of a short stay. The hotel only have one feature which is the infinity pool but nothing else - no beach, no reefs and no access to the lagoon becuase of dangerous currents. The hotel is conveniently located close to the airport so if you only need a day or to to rest before or after a long-haul flight this hotel is perfect and accurately priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have been to Tahiti 3 times last 2 times at 5 star hotels, this time at Manava. Certainly the 5 star resorts were great but the staff and service at the Manava made up for the difference. hotel was well situated, great publec areas and the pool amazing. the rooms themselves ready for an update, but comfortable, clean and good to have kitchen facilities

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms great, but am sure the garden rooms would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We used Manava as our transition hotel to and from Moorea. The initial night we were situated on the road side which was a little noisy and lacked privacy and view. We upgraded to a ocean view studio which was well worth the extra NZ$70 per night for our return trip. The views overlooking the pool and Moorea are beautiful. The room and balcony were large with a small kitchen and nice bathroom. The facilities were clean and tidy. The staff were friendly, obliging and could speak excellent English. We did not use the restaurant as there was a small grocery store a few minutes away. We used and enjoyed the Roulettes down the road - a short 5 minute walk. Try the Sunset caravan - great pizza's and crepes - yum.
The pool is really very nice and looked well kept. My husband snorkelled out from the pool and saw some interesting fish life. Free beach towels were provided.
Free wifi in the main reception area which we used was a good free extra.
We also took a shuttle/taxis into the city which the staff arranged for us - they were on time and friendly. Cost was about NZ$30 return for two.
One issue was that the phones were not working - apparently have not been for at least three months. Not really an issue unless there was an emergency in your room.
On the whole - it is a good transition hotel on the way to the islands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Wild West
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our flight got in late, and we were taking the ferry to Moorea the next morning. All we needed out of the hotel was a place to sleep and a place to have breakfast before leaving. If that is all you need, this isn't a bad place. If we had been there any longer, I would have been very dissatisfied. The balcony doors were broken; one was slightly off its track causing the lock to jam, hence we couldn't enjoy the balcony. The tub was worn, with multiple chips in its surface. The outlet in the bathroom had an American plug, but something was wrong with it and it wouldn't power my wife's straightener. Breakfast was way overpriced, for what you got. I realize things are more expensive in French Polynesia, but 3000 XPF (around $30, give or take) each for a small buffet is ridiculous.

Again, for our purposes the Manava was acceptable, but I would not have wanted to spend any significant length of time there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent place, wonderful pool with amazing sunset over Moorea. All around that hotel there are local shops and pubs so explore, do not just stick to what this hotel offers. Very handy shuttle to Papeete on a good prize. If you go to Papeete you must visit the local market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days before a cruise and then had a day room there after the cruise.
Enjoyed the hotel. The grounds are lovely, the infinity pool is superb with a small man-made beach that leads into the pool and the view of Moorea is spectacular. Although there were a few things that were a bother, in general our stay was enjoyable and we would stay there again.

Pros:

- Unique rooms, most are different layouts. They are very comfortable and clean.
- Great view of Moorea and the sunsets from the lagoon view suites.
- The staff were very helpful and friendly in the main hotel. On both stays we asked for an extension to our check-out and received it, no hassle, no charge. Then they stored our luggage
after checkout on the last night as we had a late night flight home.
- On the day we left to join our cruise it poured with rain. The front desk got us plastic raincoats at no charge. Very helpful.

Cons:
- The room phones weren't working so we couldn't contact front desk or other rooms. From what I have read on this site they have been out since at least August. I don't know if this is the fault of the phone company or the hotel but it was most inconvenient.
- The air conditioning only works when you are in the suite with both front & back doors locked. So it was off most of the day and only worked at night. Not very comfortable in hot Tahiti.
-There were no English TV channels at all....but we really didn't go to Tahiti to watch TV!
- We found the staff in the restaurant brisk and unfriendly at night. We also ate there after we checked out on the last night and found they would only take payment in CPF. Odd since the front desk exchanges currency no problem!

Outside the hotel:

- We ate at the Roulottes one night and they were good. Very busy on a weekend. The food servings were huge and the prices were low. Pay in CPF. Beware at sunset if there's no wind because flying insects ivade and make it unbearable. However, they only last for about 15 minutes.
- There is a convenience store 5 minute walk from the hotel. They have a good variety of food that you can prepare in your suite. Soda and beer, wine, alcohol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Address: Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian décor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.