We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for One Night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Save Saved
You added Manava Suite Resort Tahiti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Punaauia
Wild Wild West
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not Bad for One Night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our flight got in late, and we were taking the ferry to Moorea the next morning. All we needed out of the hotel was a place to sleep and a place to have breakfast before leaving. If that is all you need, this isn't a bad place. If we had been there any longer, I would have been very dissatisfied. The balcony doors were broken; one was slightly off its track causing the lock to jam, hence we couldn't enjoy the balcony. The tub was worn, with multiple chips in its surface. The outlet in the bathroom had an American plug, but something was wrong with it and it wouldn't power my wife's straightener. Breakfast was way overpriced, for what you got. I realize things are more expensive in French Polynesia, but 3000 XPF (around $30, give or take) each for a small buffet is ridiculous.

Again, for our purposes the Manava was acceptable, but I would not have wanted to spend any significant length of time there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    328
    114
    32
    11
See reviews for
110
474
24
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent place, wonderful pool with amazing sunset over Moorea. All around that hotel there are local shops and pubs so explore, do not just stick to what this hotel offers. Very handy shuttle to Papeete on a good prize. If you go to Papeete you must visit the local market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days before a cruise and then had a day room there after the cruise.
Enjoyed the hotel. The grounds are lovely, the infinity pool is superb with a small man-made beach that leads into the pool and the view of Moorea is spectacular. Although there were a few things that were a bother, in general our stay was enjoyable and we would stay there again.

Pros:

- Unique rooms, most are different layouts. They are very comfortable and clean.
- Great view of Moorea and the sunsets from the lagoon view suites.
- The staff were very helpful and friendly in the main hotel. On both stays we asked for an extension to our check-out and received it, no hassle, no charge. Then they stored our luggage
after checkout on the last night as we had a late night flight home.
- On the day we left to join our cruise it poured with rain. The front desk got us plastic raincoats at no charge. Very helpful.

Cons:
- The room phones weren't working so we couldn't contact front desk or other rooms. From what I have read on this site they have been out since at least August. I don't know if this is the fault of the phone company or the hotel but it was most inconvenient.
- The air conditioning only works when you are in the suite with both front & back doors locked. So it was off most of the day and only worked at night. Not very comfortable in hot Tahiti.
-There were no English TV channels at all....but we really didn't go to Tahiti to watch TV!
- We found the staff in the restaurant brisk and unfriendly at night. We also ate there after we checked out on the last night and found they would only take payment in CPF. Odd since the front desk exchanges currency no problem!

Outside the hotel:

- We ate at the Roulottes one night and they were good. Very busy on a weekend. The food servings were huge and the prices were low. Pay in CPF. Beware at sunset if there's no wind because flying insects ivade and make it unbearable. However, they only last for about 15 minutes.
- There is a convenience store 5 minute walk from the hotel. They have a good variety of food that you can prepare in your suite. Soda and beer, wine, alcohol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The swimming pool was beautiful. We loved the modern architecture. The food at the restaurant was delicious. Everything was perfect. Especially the staff, who were really nice and were always happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived into Papeete around 9:45 p.m. on April 18, 2012. It was a little hot getting off the plane and then standing in line for customs seemed like it took forever. After going through customs and getting our bags, we were transported to the Manava Suite Resort. Upon arriving to the hotel, it was quite late so we didn't really get to see much of anything except our rooms. We were in a studio suite, which was set up beautifully. It had a little kitchen area in it as well. That would be nice if someone was staying for a few days, however most people just stay here for a night before or after they go to another island, so I'm not really sure the point of the kitchens at all.

We had 2 single beds in our room which was fine because I was sharing the room with another girl that was in our group. The beds were standard twin size. We had to be up the next monrning early to have breakfast and then meet with the hotel manager to do a site inspection of the property.

The breakfast area was great and had plenty to choose from. Most of the time you can get a package that has the breakfast included. Ours was included and so we were able to just give our name and room number and go have at it.

We got to see a couple of the different rooms which was nice to see. We saw a standard room and then a 1 bedroom room. The one bedroom room would be great for families because it has an actual separate bedroom.

After breakfast and our site inspection, we were given some free time to look around the hotel before having to leave for our flight to Moorea. I walked around the pool area a bit and took some pictures. The pool is an absolutely beautiful infinity pool that overlooks the mountains of Moorea. So incredible!! The only thing missing was my husband. :( However, I was here on a trip for work and so it was myself and some other travel agents without our husbands.

I would highly recommend this hotel for an overnight stay coming into or leaving French Polynesia.

Room Tip: a higher floor room will give you a better view of Moorea. If you have a lower level floor, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night before we headed to Moorea and Bora Bora. We considered a few places in Tahiti and ultimately landed on this resort. One note - the taxis start charging more at 8 PM (about $10 more I think). We dilly dallied in the airport shops and got to the taxi at 8:04 and they charged us the higher rate, so that is just an FYI. We paid about $200 USD incl tax for their lowest room. Intercontinental was more expensive and had not as great of reviews so we decided not to spend more on the name brand. The Manava was good - the room was nice but faced the road, no noise to bother us. It didn't make any difference to us because it was dark the when we arrived and we left right away in the morning. Before we left we took a walk around the property, it was well maintained and beautiful. There's a little lagoon area with a boardwalk so you can observe the marine life - we saw an octopus swimming around - that was SO COOL! Everything was clean, there was a huge bath tub which I am sad to say we didn't use, and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Like many other reviewers, we only stayed here for one night as a place to sleep after landing in Tahiti off a red-eye flight from Auckland, NZ. This review may not be the fairest review since this hotel really was just a place to crash in between staying at two luxury resorts in New Zealand and Bora Bora.... but a STICKY hair-dryer in the bathroom?! That was pretty gross... I had to wrap a tissue around the handle in order to use it without gagging. The hair-dryer was also tethered to the bathroom vanity so that it could not be removed, and the electrical cord was so short that I had to crouch down to use it effectively. Everything else in the bathroom was fairly sticky-feeling as well... just not pleasant.

Bathroom problems aside, it was a very average hotel. The grounds were nicely kept, but the room was a bit odd. We were in a lagoon-view suite, and the first thing we noticed when we walked into the room was that it was very narrow. We walked into a narrow hallway, with a small kitchenette to the side, as well as two more doors on the same side--one leading to a very small stuffy chamber that contains a toilet and a tiny sink (and maybe it was just me, but the height of the toilet seemed a lot higher than normal...), and another leading to the shower, tub, and sinks. There were also a couple of closets in the hallway.

After passing through the narrow hallway, the room finally opened up to the bedroom, where it was slightly better and less cramped. There was a small seating area with a couch/table, and a king bed next to the sliding door that opened out into a small patio that overlooked the pool. The TV that was in front of the bed didn't work--or at least we couldn't get it to. There was a small light that was on, indicating that the TV was receiving power, but the power button just ended up turning that light off.... then after a few seconds the light would come on again.... weird. The pillows on the bed were also those huge square pillows that one would typically use as floor cushions, so we had to look in the closets for some regular-sized pillows. We weren't quite sure if the square pillows were normally used on the beds or if they were supposed to be used as decorative pillows.... again, just a little odd.

The breakfast buffet was a little more than $30 USD per person for the full hot food spread, and about $20 per person for the continental (typical bagels/bread/yogurt/cereal, etc.). Pretty high prices for blah food but prices are high for everything in Tahiti anyway... the outdoor dining area was pleasant though.

Luckily this was just a stopover hotel for us.... I wouldn't plan to travel all the way to Tahiti to stay at this place. It's the kind of place you stay at when you are on a road trip and need a place to sleep for a few hours... not a hotel that you would cross an ocean for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Address: Cote Ouest de Tahiti (PK 10,7) | BP2851, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian décor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.