We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U get what u pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Fenua

Save Saved
You added Relais Fenua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Fenua
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   BP 381 585 | Tamanu, Punaauia, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Punaauia B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“U get what u pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed for only one night until our flight to Bora Bora. Place was tidy and clean (although I found a cockroach sharing the bathroom with me). Air conditioner worked well but the noise from the neighbouring rooms woke me up early the next morning. The main issues we had though, was with the cost of the extras. For example, the airport transfers were really expensive (7000 cfp one way per couple). As we flew in at midnight, we paid for the transfer to ensure a smooth pick-up and transport to the right location. Next morning, to get back to the airport we went out to the main road and caught Le Truck (the local bus) for 200 cfp per person. Also, breakfast was not included with the accommodation even though it is supposed to be a b&b. Breakfast consisted of bread rolls, sweet bread and banana cake, with an array of jam spreads and tea/coffee. Hardly worth the 2500 cpf price tag. So while the accommodation is relatively cheap, the extras certainly are not value for money.

Room Tip: Tahiti is very humid, even in the rainy season. Stay in an air conditioned room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
71
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My partner and I and our adult son stayed in the studio for 5 nights. It was very comfortable and had a very small kitchen area which we used everyday. It wasn't super equipped to make meals but it was adequate for preparing sandwiches or making an omelette. The room had good air conditioning and a safe. There was access to an area in the back where we ate breakfast every morning. This place has a laid back feel, we asked for what we needed and were helped with gusto. Davy was extremely helpful and Maeri booked our activities for us. If you don't mind being out of Papeete and want to be near one of the best beaches on the island, this is the place to be. A short walk (8 mins) to the beach where you can walk for ages, have access to great snorkelling, and a picture perfect view for sunsets. Bring swim shoes as it is rocky in places. There is a grocery store 5 mins away, a car rental 2 kms away and various roulottes to eat at. You can take the public bus into Papeete which runs regularly and is very inexpensive - it takes about 1/2 an hour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I usually start my reviews with positives and then add any negatives. This time I havent got any negatives. As far as friendliness, this place would be hard to beat. Annabelle and Vincent are a young, enthusiastic couple (with the most adorable little 2 year old girl who makes herself feel at home in any of the guests rooms) and simply cant do enough to help. Davy, a young multi-lingual French guy works for them but to tell you the truth, you would think he was one of the owners. Take his advice if you're wondering what to do or where to go. (By the way Vince and Davy - we went to the Lagoonarium at Moorea just as you suggested and were amazed by the corals and fish. Thanks heaps for that suggestion). There is definately a very homely feeling about this place. We left feeling we had made friends for life. The rooms are set around a small swimming pool in tidy gardens. Everyone meets at the large table near the pool for breakfast, pre-dinner drinks, after dinner drinks (I must compliment Vincent on his choice of rum!!) or just to pass the time and chat when there's nothing going on. The rooms are basic, clean with a summery casual decore. You can have one with a kitchenette or not. Each one has a little private part out the back for privacy. This pension isnt a 5 star hotel but its extremely well-priced, clean and friendly. A bargain as far as we are concerned and if we come back again we wouldnt stay anywhere else. We hired a car and pretty much did all of the island. Weren't we thankful that we'd picked a pension right next to the only beach with yellow sand and worth going to - with really good snorkling. (About 10 minutes walk) So I simply cant rave enough about this place.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one not near the car park. But really they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed there several nights.
The room is impeccable, clean, air conditionned, TV, large shower, quiet. Decoration is a bit outdated but is ok.
Small swimming pool, not private, but nice for q last dive because going to bed under the stars.
The beach is nearby, only 10mn walk and you will see there the best sunsets on Moorea ever!
Davy, who is helping and managing the pension with the owners, is extra helpful and friendly - he will go the extra mile for you. Do not hesitate to ask! He can drive you in town or indicate you the best ways to get there.
The parents are the loveliest people I met, so kind and helpful too - you really feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Fenua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Fenua

Address: BP 381 585 | Tamanu, Punaauia, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Relais Fenua 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Relais Fenua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fenua Tahiti/Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Fenua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.