We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Banana

Blue Banana
PK 11. 1 Cote Mer, Punaauia, French Polynesia
40.41.22.24
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Punaauia
Cuisines: French, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were taken to the Blue Banana by a local cousin. While it is very French, it mostly serves local sea food but the menu has something for everyone. I had the Tuna tartar trio and it was very good. Of course the wine was excellent.

The setting is very polynesian, right on the sea shore. Tables are available inside or outside but everything is open. The staff was pleasant and the service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    16
    33
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Why, Lonely Planet, why..?"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We tracked down this restaurant on the advice of Lonely Planet Tahiti, which had raved about it and described it as a must-do #1 Attraction etc. But we couldn't see what all the hyperbole was about...it was nothing out of the ordinary. On the positive side, the food was reasonably priced (relatively speaking, in expensive Tahiti). And the waitress was friendly and helpful to non-French speakers.
But get some perspective, Lonely Planet...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice view,food so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I walked from Manava Suite Resort to this restaurant in about 8 minutes (Turn right when you come out of the hotel). I was surprised that there has not been any reviews in English for this restaurant over a period of one year.

The outdoor sitting area is very nice. We went there early at 6:15PM to see the sunset.(Dinner starts at 6:30). Unfortunately the cloud structure did not allow a great sunset!

My wife had the "Gratin de la mer". I ordered the "Menu Touristique" with Poissan Cru(raw tuna in coconut juice), chicken with vegetables and chocolotte mousse which we shared. Food was not very exciting, just so so. The total bill was about $73.

We had better meals at the "Roulettes" in the parking lot about 300 meter on the opposite side of Manava, at less than half the price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When your trop end in Tahiti, Blue Banana is the place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Steve and Capucine are The Owner always there to Welcome you.
She is running The show in The dinning room while Steve preparing The specials.
On friday and saturday night The place rock with live Band and DJ .
Blue Banana is The place i always go during stop over in Tahiti.
Instead of waiting at The airport i do recomande to hang out there watching sunset

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food was decent, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Food was just ok. Slightly overpriced compared to other restaurants on Moorea.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Banana also viewed

Punaauia, Tahiti
Punaauia, Tahiti
 
Punaauia, Tahiti
Punaauia, Tahiti
 

Been to Blue Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Banana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.