We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the budget minded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension de la Plage Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Pension de la Plage Tahiti to your Saves list
Pension de la Plage Tahiti
PK 15,4 | B.P. 381593 Tamanu, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“For the budget minded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Tahiti is expensive like Paris is expensive. We were shocked by the cost. At Pension de la Plage you can save because they have a kitchenette which we used a lot. At the bigger hotels, they don't even have coffee makers but at PLP they give you a french press. There is a small grocery next door. And if you want to eat at PLP instead, Vincent and Marie will feed you much cheaper. The rooms are small but neat and tidy with a very nice balcony. And we really appreciated the fact that we could check in early because our flight from the states arrived at 6 AM. The only problem we had was the bus to the hotel. While it ran in front the airport, it did not run frequently. It the Tahitian heat, waiting for a bus can be miserable. If you are renting a car, then it is easy and there is a parking lot at the pension. Across the street is the beach. It is very rocky but tolerable. Overall, I recommend this hotel. Be sure to get air conditioning!

Room Tip: The rooms on the side near the highway have nice views of the pool and the street noise wasn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
58
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, it only takes two minutes to get to one of the wonderful white sand beaches.
Managers are very friendly and helpful, always ready to give a good advice.
Rooms are comfortable and very clean. There is a small kitchen with all you need.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here just for two nights when I returend from other islands and waited for my flight to Japan.
This pension is very reasonable priced even with transfer cost from the airport.
The pension arrange the transfer from and to the airport.
The room is very clean and facing the swiming pool.
The owner prepared very well designed introduction booklet to give guests detailed information on shopping, entertainment and culture.
Hotel Le Meridien is very close and there I could see fantastic Tahitian dance show.
The small market is next to the pension and a big shopping mall is just 10 minuites walk.

One negative point is the noise from the traffic behind the pension.
If you very sensitive to that, please ask the owner to assign the room away from the traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchs Aargau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent two nights there and it is as it is called a pension, so the rooms are small and simple but with everything you need and clean. The kitchenette and shower seemed very old but were working fine. We especially enjoied the atmosphere at the breakfast place, although we had our first contact with polynesian prices and found the breakfast very expensive for the rather small variety. Booking a trip, doing laundry, asking for things to do: we had some difficulties in communication but Anne-Marie gave us a hand whenever needed. She is extremely precautious so maybe we missed some adventure because we were disadvised to explore the island by ourselfes. The roulottes right outside the pension area are great but else there is not much to see, literally at night when the streetlights are turned off or do not exist at all, despite the traffic and the barking, seemingly agressive dogs around. It is a nice place to stay for a few nights, for longer it I think it is too off-track and too spartanic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Three nights at Pension de la Plage, and were pleasantly surprised at the overall quality, considering the very reasonable prices for French Plynesia. The hosts, Vincent and Anne-Marie are so friendly, helpful and accommodating, he even taking us to the downtown Papeete area, rather than our having to wait for the bus, or taking an expensive taxi. In private, nicely maintained garden, just across the street from an ocean front public park, and we were able to borrow snorkelling gear. In evenings, two Roulottes are parked in the public park, with just excellent food - one serving steaks, ribs, seafood, the other crepes of every description. Only problem, they serve too much food. A great place to stay, away from main tourist areas, yet less than 10 minute walk from good local shopping centre with supermarket, banks, ATM's, restaurants - just about everything a visitor could want.

Room Tip: A room towards the back, or backing to the small private road, rather than to the main road. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very clean friendly and comfortable small hotel 12 rooms. All questions answered by the owners Vincent & Anne-Marie. Meals available if needed. Close to fuel station with a small snack shop. Beach across the street but be careful-lots of traffic. Refreshing swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have stayed here for three days and enjoyed the warm and helpful hospitality of the owners, Vincent and Anne-Marie. Very good continental breakfasts, enjoyed outdoors. Across the road, within one hundred yards, there's a public park area with beach access, and, in the evenings there are two roulottes - mobile restaurants - serving excellent dinners with steak, fish, pork, chicken etc., and one specializes in crepes - the orange with Grande Marnier is superb. Good library, with some books in English, TV with about six channels, all in French, and a clean fresh water swimming pool.
Within 10 minute walk of a small commercial centre with more restaurants, two banks and ATM's, supermarket etc.
Have so enjoyed our time here that, though we'd planned our last two nights in Polynesia following our two week Aranui 3 freighter cruise through the Marquesa Islands, we've changed plans and are returning to Pension de la Plage.

Room Tip: Rooms not backing to the main road are quieter. All have small covered terraces for relaxation and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension de la Plage Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension de la Plage Tahiti

Address: PK 15,4 | B.P. 381593 Tamanu, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island of Tahiti, "Pension de la Plage" is built in colonial style and set in a colorful garden with tropical scents.Glowing in the center is a charming swimming pool.Where you can sun bathe, cool off, or simply stretchout and rest in a peaceful warm environment.Ours is a special family atmosphere and we will share our knowledge and love of Polynesia with you, and make you feel most welcome.300 m up the road is the Meridien Hotel, and a shopping square offering all the comforts: bank, pharmacy, restaurants, bookstore, physicians, jewellers, news agents, salons, florist, boutiques, petrol stations, curios, etc...The public bus stops at our door.It is 20 min. by car to both the airport and Papeete center, and 25 minutes to the port.Each room is approx. 32m² and has a private bathroom with shower, as well its own terrace overlooking the pool.Some rooms have a kitchenette for dining-in, and some are arranged especially to accomodate children.Every room has a refrigerator and television.Nearby is an open terrace with a palm-thatched roof for complimentary breakfasts and optional dining.We also provide wireless internet access.12 airy, light and clean rooms are decorated in Polynesian flair, with bamboo furniture and local artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension de la Plage Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plage
Pension De La Plage Tahiti Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension de la Plage Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.