We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Priced Small Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension de la Plage Tahiti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pension de la Plage Tahiti to your Saves list
Pension de la Plage Tahiti
PK 15,4 | B.P. 381593 Tamanu, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Punaauia B&B and Inns
Kelowna
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well Priced Small Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Three nights at Pension de la Plage, and were pleasantly surprised at the overall quality, considering the very reasonable prices for French Plynesia. The hosts, Vincent and Anne-Marie are so friendly, helpful and accommodating, he even taking us to the downtown Papeete area, rather than our having to wait for the bus, or taking an expensive taxi. In private, nicely maintained garden, just across the street from an ocean front public park, and we were able to borrow snorkelling gear. In evenings, two Roulottes are parked in the public park, with just excellent food - one serving steaks, ribs, seafood, the other crepes of every description. Only problem, they serve too much food. A great place to stay, away from main tourist areas, yet less than 10 minute walk from good local shopping centre with supermarket, banks, ATM's, restaurants - just about everything a visitor could want.

Room Tip: A room towards the back, or backing to the small private road, rather than to the main road. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
60
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very clean friendly and comfortable small hotel 12 rooms. All questions answered by the owners Vincent & Anne-Marie. Meals available if needed. Close to fuel station with a small snack shop. Beach across the street but be careful-lots of traffic. Refreshing swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have stayed here for three days and enjoyed the warm and helpful hospitality of the owners, Vincent and Anne-Marie. Very good continental breakfasts, enjoyed outdoors. Across the road, within one hundred yards, there's a public park area with beach access, and, in the evenings there are two roulottes - mobile restaurants - serving excellent dinners with steak, fish, pork, chicken etc., and one specializes in crepes - the orange with Grande Marnier is superb. Good library, with some books in English, TV with about six channels, all in French, and a clean fresh water swimming pool.
Within 10 minute walk of a small commercial centre with more restaurants, two banks and ATM's, supermarket etc.
Have so enjoyed our time here that, though we'd planned our last two nights in Polynesia following our two week Aranui 3 freighter cruise through the Marquesa Islands, we've changed plans and are returning to Pension de la Plage.

Room Tip: Rooms not backing to the main road are quieter. All have small covered terraces for relaxation and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Charming Motel in Puna'auia (Tahiti). The hosts, Vincent and Anne Marie are very nice, welcoming and helping. The rooms are modest but very nice and clean and with just enough Polynesian touch (I grew up there, I know). Vincent had re-arranged them so we could have 4 separates beds as we were travelling as 4 single persons. We stayed in 2 contiguous rooms for 6 nights while in business (and fun) at Tahiti. Great little pool and nice set up for breakfast where it is easy to meet some of the other guests. The beach is very close and snorkeling was great. A shopping center with many very local stores is also close. The Meridien hotel is also at walking distance and we went to enjoy a buffet and dance evening there. Few "roulottes" are around for dinner but for the last nigh we let Vincent and Anne Marie prepare a delicious "poisson cru" for us. Great price for Tahiti too. Had some trouble and frustration with WIFI internet access (but that is not their fault) but when Vincent heard about it he said he would have set us up with another access to download pictures..etc. Great time at the Pension and we will go back there without hesitation if business (and fun) brings us back to Tahiti and French Polynesia (and it will...).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pension de la Plage turned into our base while travelling around Polynesia and we stayed on 4 separate occasions as it was good value for decent accommodation and Vincent was very helpful, sorting car hire and storing our excess baggage (10kg limit in inter island flights!) for free.

You should take Vincent up on airport transfer as cheaper than a taxi if you arrive late at night. Ideally you should hire a car at the airport as the Pension is a bit out of town or to save money you can get one at about 30% less at Tahiti Auto Centre which is a few km on from the Pension (10 mins 250CPF bus).

You can buy water (tap is not drinkable) at the small shop next door in the petrol station. In the evening there are a couple of roulottes (snack vans) opposite but ideally drive into the main town for the food market by the port as quality better. During the day you can buy fruit opposite and fresh baguettes in the petrol station if you want to save money on breakfast.

Wall safe is a nice touch and we didn't have a problem with the wood bars that lock the sliding door, I am sure it works better than the original lock. The pension is surrounded by a high wall and an electronic gate at night.

Kids loved the pool. Aircon is extra or you can stick with the fan to save money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

While in Tahiti, my husband and I had the chance to stay at the Intercontinental as well as Pension de la Plage. Both were great experiences, but La Plage felt more like real traveling. The rooms were modest and the pool was small, but none of that matters when you are literally across the street from a beautiful beach.

We were within walking distance of Le Meridien, which was a fancy hotel where we ate dinner and caught a Tahitian Dance Show. The staff was very nice and we especially loved Tiki, one of the resident dogs.

Breakfast is served every morning and is included in your rate. It's very basic: coffee, fruit and some bread.

Great value for the room - if you don't need fancy-schmancy, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our staying here in the pension was very niche: Motel style rooms face a swimming pool in the middle of a garden; friedndly and helpful staff; nice atmosphere. The beach ist just one hundretfifty meters away, and there is also a "roulotte" just across the road.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without kitchenette; we preferred the last ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension de la Plage Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension de la Plage Tahiti

Address: PK 15,4 | B.P. 381593 Tamanu, Punaauia 98718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island of Tahiti, "Pension de la Plage" is built in colonial style and set in a colorful garden with tropical scents.Glowing in the center is a charming swimming pool.Where you can sun bathe, cool off, or simply stretchout and rest in a peaceful warm environment.Ours is a special family atmosphere and we will share our knowledge and love of Polynesia with you, and make you feel most welcome.300 m up the road is the Meridien Hotel, and a shopping square offering all the comforts: bank, pharmacy, restaurants, bookstore, physicians, jewellers, news agents, salons, florist, boutiques, petrol stations, curios, etc...The public bus stops at our door.It is 20 min. by car to both the airport and Papeete center, and 25 minutes to the port.Each room is approx. 32m² and has a private bathroom with shower, as well its own terrace overlooking the pool.Some rooms have a kitchenette for dining-in, and some are arranged especially to accomodate children.Every room has a refrigerator and television.Nearby is an open terrace with a palm-thatched roof for complimentary breakfasts and optional dining.We also provide wireless internet access.12 airy, light and clean rooms are decorated in Polynesian flair, with bamboo furniture and local artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension de la Plage Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plage
Pension De La Plage Tahiti Punaauia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension de la Plage Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.