We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polynesian hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Bali Hai Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cook's Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Bali Hai Hotel
Bp 26 | Pao Pao, Cook's Bay 98728, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cook's Bay
Paopao, French Polynesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Polynesian hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have traveled to French Polynesia for the first time. I have staid in Club Bali Hai for 19 days in a beach bungalow. I had a blasting time here. This is not a resort full of party people, but nice friendly folks. The location on the Island is perfect, everything is really close.
Just a minutes away you have supermarket and petrol station, where you can get food and drinks, also there is a small shopping village.Also just cross the street is a 4x4 rental ant tourist agency who cares for Motu trip "Island trips, shark and ray feeding" they also offer Jet ski safari.

Rooms are very nice, cleaned and service is also really nice, they also offer Free Wi-Fi at the check-in area. They helped me a lot to see and do things on the island, meat a lot of new friends.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who are not on Luxury travel. This is a Polynesian style hotel with big heart. You wont leave this place disappointed, but with the smile on your face and a will to come back again.

Like many people the only shame is that the restaurant in the resort isn`t run by the same people. It needs improvement, think that personal running the hotel should take it over.

I still have 4 days left in this resort, but if the decisions would be easier I would make it a lifetime saty.

Once again I would like to say THANK YOU - Bianca, Iska and their Mom. Had a lovely time and hope to see you soon again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    26
    22
    14
See reviews for
26
88
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We traveled to Moorea for a few nights prior to a cruise and the experience was fantastic. We booked the 2 bedroom for four of us and the accomodations ,were amazing. Its a big bungalow and it is right on the bay. We had rain most of the time, so the bay was a bit cloudy but the loaction is fantastic.

As with most great stays however, the best part was the people and the outstanding service. The people were helpful, friendly and wonderful. At the end of the stay they really proved how great they were however. We wanted to catch the last ferry, and they allowed us to stay for a very late check in. When we went to the ferry building, my folks left there bag with all of their money, CCs and passports in the lobby area. While we were panicking at the ferry terminal (last boat was to sail in a few minutes) Ellen (I hope I got your name right!) came speeding up in a car bringing us the bag. A real life saver! (well trip saver anyway). She, Olga and the others there really made the stay fantastic.

In addition to the great people and views, the bungalow is a short walk from an excellent restaurant (Le martinez) and Pizza Place (allo pizza). If you come to the island, rent a car for at least one of the days and drive around the island, and for sure do a stingray/shark swim.

Again, everything was wonderful and we can't wait to come back. a 5+ star experience.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom was Ideal for 2 couples or a family. No question the way to go for more than 2 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Resort is making upgrades and some rooms are much improved from our previous stay in 2008. Pool still needs work; especially hand rails into the pool and repairs to tiles. Our overwater bungalow was adequate but certainly needed updating. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a medical emergency and we could not ask for better help as we were driven to and from the doctors & pharmacy and received a follow-up visit by a member of the staff the next day. This is not a bad resort and the management is definitely making improvements but if you're looking for a Hilton--this is not it. This is one of the oldest resorts on Moorea and reflects the quaint Polynesian lifestyle. If the management continues to make improvements, this could be a nice resort.

The restaurant on-site is not run by the resort but is available for breakfast and lunch. They need to pay more attention to cleanliness and keeping chickens off counters and tables. Not much attention paid to safe handling/storage of food.

Room Tip: Presently the rooms in the hotel portion are in better condition than the overwater bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Incredible setting, very nice people (very Polynesian) and a clean bed. Don't expect anything else.

For the money I would go back for the "setting"; even to the ants, no TV, no eggs for their advertised full breakfast.

It is convienient to many restaurants, they will pick you up at no charge. Do the Circle Island Tour. No need for a rental car. Save your money, you'll need it here. very expensive.

It 's a love, hate relationship, I would always go back to.

Room Tip: Room 35. great view, close to lobby, beautiful water for swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, CA - USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited during our South Pacific cruise aboard the Sapphire Princess. This was one the top highlights of the 28 day trip. We could have stayed forever. The location and setting my mystical and just what you imagine the South Pacific Islands should be.

Room Tip: Go for the over the water bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place was great. No it was not like the Hilton, i.e. super luxury. However, the price was very affordable. The room was a bit outdated but clean. The view was the best one you can get on the island. Hey have a little restaurant at the ocean that serves the best pancakes you will ever have in your life. So says my kid and I say so when I usually do not even like pancakes. It was very low key and the people that work there were superfriendly and nice. In the morning you can see fish swimming by and sometimes even a shark. The also have bungalows but I stayed in a room as it was my daughter and me who were traveling and she is fussy with regard to air conditioning etc. I checked out the bungalow though and they looked fine. Again this is an older hotel. The prices are affordable and the view unmatched or so I believe. I am from Germany living in NYC so maybe I have not had every view in Moorea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Club Bali Hai's reviews are so interesting...... Either you love it or hate it. We stayed for 4 nights and then moved on to Bora Bora to a 5 star over water bungalow. To be honest, we preferd Club Bali Hai. The hotel is natural, low key, friendly and has the best views of Cooks Bay. We stayed in the OW bungalow #41 with a fantastic view and a huge deck. The bungalow is not luxury.... Very roots, but clean and comfortable. No telephone in your room, no tv and the reception closes at 6pm. We had a small kitchen and enjoyed cooking local fish and even a steak..... There is a small market a block away. We bought wine and fruit and just sat out on our balcony and enjoyed the scenary. It was very romantic. It was very relaxing to be able to just enjoy our view and cook together and also the restaurants in Moorea are really nothing special....save a few. We were close enough to go get pizza one night as well. We also went to get take out at Le Martinez.... Which was wonderful as well.
The hotel needs to have a better restaurant.... Blue Pineapple. We agree with previous comments that the restaurant needs some new ownership and to do more to attract people in the evenings, like actually serving wine and having some more interesting menu items. The restaurant is not open in the evenings except for Wednesday. The restaurant has an amazing view and they haven't taken advantage of this for out of hotel guests.
The best bungalows are: 40,41,42.
Quick advice: no wine or beverages can be purchased at stores on Sundays. Only at hotels and double the price.
Overall A great place if you are looking for a relaxing real Tahitian experience outside the international hotel changes......but maybe that's too adventures for some people who have to have a bit of "USA" with them where ever they go.... Ahaha.

Room Tip: Bungalows 40, 41 and 42 for best view and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Bali Hai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bali Hai Hotel

Address: Bp 26 | Pao Pao, Cook's Bay 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Cook's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cook's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated Overwater Bungalows at affordable rates on Moorea, Tahiti. All excursions depart from Club Bali Hai at the best prices. Breakfast and Lunch daily at Club Bali Hai's world famous Blue Pineapple resturant with weekly Tahitian dinner shows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Bali Hai
Club Bali Hai Hotel Moorea, French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Bali Hai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Club Bali Hai Hotel to your Saves list