We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abiquiu Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Abiquiu Inn to your Saves list
The Abiquiu Inn
21120 Highway 84, PO Box 120, Abiquiu, NM 87510   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Abiquiu B&B and Inns
albuquerque
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

I have been visiting Abiquiu since before the Inn was even built. I've visited several times since it has opened and everyone of those visits has been perfect!!

It's nice to drive up after the Santa Fe Opera during the summer months or I recently visited during the dead of winter with Snow every where. It was incredible with the Mesas and the colors and the comfort. The light is everthing.

The Resturaunt is excellent, but no beer or wine. The prices are extremely reasonable, and the servings are more than sufficient. Breakfast is included in the room price. You should also order a box lunch for the next day! Don't eat the cookies before you eat the meal!!!

The nicest thing about the Inn are the Rooms. it's tradtional New Mexico architecture, warm and comforting. Extremely clean. The in-room coffee and tea are nice, but even more important are the bath accessories. These are herbal preperations, from where I know not, but they are wonderful. I've purchased bulk items in their gift shop.

Some of the rooms have fire places and they only warm your heart, but bring some newspaper to start a fire. During the summer there is excellent ventilation for fresh air, along with air conditioning. The beds are most comfortable with pillow top matresses. There is an Artist Studio tour durning the early weeks of October, so book early.

The management is most accommadating and will meet your every need. You can easily book online.

Please don't tell anyone about my secret hide away, and more than resonable prices.
John

  • Liked — The clean rooms and the bath ammenities
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    52
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
99
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

I was shocked to see bad reviews of this place... we found it to be terrific! We stayed in a casita for three nights over Thanksgiving, so had a lot of privacy, and were very impressed with the Southwest decor, amount of space, and atmosphere. There was also an almost-complete kitchen, with dishes, hot plate, mini fridge, and microwave. The room was very clean, and housekeeping washed the few dishes we left in the sink one night. The best part though was the kiva(?) fireplace. They provide you with kindling, matches, and an ample wood pile, and the housekeeping staff was very clever not to completely clean out the fireplace each day so that starting new fires was easier at night. I was even more shocked that there were complaints about the restaurant... for a place with zero competition, they really don't have to try at all... but we had some excellent meals, including a special Thanksgiving dinner buffet. I wish I could have bought a jar or had the recipe for their cilantro cranberry sauce. The restaurant service was also impeccable. We had dinner there the day after Thanksgiving and the waitress gave my husband some leftover pumpkin pie, on the house! Our only complaints were that breakfast wasn't included- and the breakfast menu is a little lacking. Also we have Verizon, and there was zero cell coverage there, and wi-fi only in the restaurant/lobby. Not a big deal, but sometimes it is handy to check Google for directions. There also seemed to be a large staff... so maybe it depends on who is there for how good the service is. Still... would definitely stay here again instead of the "touristy" strips in Taos or Santa Fe. Both towns are less than an hour from Abiquiu, and the Ghost Ranch scenery can't be beat.

  • Liked — Restaurant, room decor/quality
  • Disliked — No cell coverage or internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

This property is isolated from any other properties of a similar or better quality. They have you as a captive because if you do not like your quarters, you have no other place to go. We were given a handicapped room and we are not handicapped and did not request such a room. They did not say a thing about it at check in. The shower was without a barrier of any kind which seemed odd. The sink was higher than normal and the mirror over the sink was lower than normal. The room was dusty and dark. The restaurant (which has a very tasty sounding menu on line) was bad. I ordered chicken enchiladas with green chile. The chicken was straight out of can. The waiters were high school students who knew nothing but how to carry dishes back and forth from the kitchen. We did complain to Fabian ( a manager?) about the room, but he just argued with us and said that at the time we reserved the room the handicapped was probably all they had left. We were tired and disappointed and didn't want anymore hassle. We did get a very smarmyy sounding e-mail from someone (in authority, I suppose) who wanted to know if we were happy with our stay. I did not feel they deserved a reply. They know what they are doing.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

The rooms seemed to have been recently redecorated and are in good condition. The food at the resturant was decent and reasonably priced.

The only problem was noise. The wall air conditioner was loud and there was traffic noise from the road.

There are newer casitas in back further from the road and I would recommend these to light sleepers

  • Liked — Convenience to Georgia O'Keefe house
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

The Abiquiu Inn is located in a very beautiful part of New Mexico with few other options for accomodation (or food) nearby, so I thought I would write a review, as there seem to be few recent ones on this site.

I am happy to report that my friend and I enjoyed our stay -- We found the staff to be very friendly while the Inn itself is lovely and for the most part quite comfortable. We stayed in one of the casitas (No. 16) which had a view looking out over the meadows and landscape that used to inspire Georgia O'Keefe (whose house up on the hill is visible from the property.) The property also features a sculpture garden, picnic area complete with several very well frequented hummingbird feeders, a well-stocked gift shop, a gallery, and the very good Abiquiu Inn Cafe.

The Cafe seems to have a new menu and a new chef from the ones previously reviewed on Trip Advisor and happily, it seems to have improved significantly, as we enjoyed our two dinners and two breakfasts thoroughly.

We did have a couple of relatively minor complaints: While the room itself was attractive and well decorated, it was not really designed to take advantage of the terrific view -- you had to go out to the screened porch for that and the porch was, well, sort of shabby! Also although the Inn is a non-smoking property, this ban does not extend to the screened porches as we discovered when our neighbors lit up one evening! Also we were under the impression that the room would have two full size beds but it had a Queen bed and a sleeper sofa (which was okay, sort of)


However, those issues aside, I would certainly recommend the Inn to others, particularly the casitas. Be sure to check out there Web site and speak to the staff about the accomodation you are booking.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room/porch layout and furnishing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We arrived beat and were attracted by the $79 room rate on the sign out front. Of course that room was not available, BUT they gave us a 2 bedroom suite for the price of a double. The grounds and rooms were very nice, kind of countryish.

I was disappointed about no breakfast being included, but the food at restaurant is very good there and reasonably priced.

In short - a nice relaxing place to stay, but be ready to lay out some cash.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

On a Monday my husband and I were in Santa Fe, at the La Fonda Hotel, which is lovely and proved to be an excellent value, and we wanted to spend Wednesday night outside the city before leaving for Albuquerque and the plane home. After reading good reviews, we booked the Abiquiu Inn on the internet, opting for a king-sized bed, which was the least expensive on the list ($139.95).

When we reached the inn, we were disturbed by the neon sign advertising rooms for $79.95, and we found the staff interested mostly in having us process our charge card before anything else. When we reached our room (#10), we appreciated the decor but not the partially eaten large dog biscuit lying on our carpet. The desk clerk found the biscuit amusing when we took it to her; we found it and her reaction totally inappropriate.

It was soon dinner time, and we could not bring ourselves to give this place another cent, so we drove several miles to a small restaurant for dinner. Then we spent a less than comfortable night, as the air-conditioner loudly cycled on and off, never quite getting the room cool enough for the excessive bedding, which we stripped down as much as possible.

The fan in the bathroom was even louder than the air-conditioner and did less good, and the hairdryer went off several times as I dried my very short hair. We found it difficult to manipulate the old-fashioned television, which required three pages of notes and two remote controls to work, and we could not make phone calls except through their system, for an extra fee, since there is no cell phone service in that area. All in all, we found the experience harrowing, and we would never stay there again.

It is too bad that this place, which has a tasteful Southwestern decor, seems to have little sense of hospitality, and ironic since it is owned by the Dar Al-Islam Mosque, for whom hospitality is an important component of Islam.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The feeling of having been ripped off
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abiquiu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abiquiu Inn

Address: 21120 Highway 84, PO Box 120, Abiquiu, NM 87510
Location: United States > New Mexico > Abiquiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Abiquiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abiquiu Inn is perfectly situated in the beautiful Chama River Valley close to the Georgia O'Keeffe Home & Studio. The casitas are lovely with cozy fireplaces & breathtaking views. Explore the magnificent landscape made famous by Georgia O'Keeffe. Cafe Abiquiu features a delightful New Mexican menu & AZUL Gift Store offers pottery, paintings and jewelry created by local & international artists. Wine and beer served and small meeting spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Abiquiu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abiquiu Hotel Abiquiu
Inn Abiquiu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abiquiu Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.