We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to stop on our Georgia O'Keeffe tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abiquiu Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Abiquiu Inn to your Saves list
The Abiquiu Inn
21120 Highway 84, PO Box 120, Abiquiu, NM 87510   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Abiquiu B&B and Inns
Pine, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to stop on our Georgia O'Keeffe tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed at the Abiquiu Inn in July 2014 while on tour of Georgia O'Keeffe sites. We booked one of the Red Mesa rooms based on the room descriptions on the Inn's website (using the AAA discount) and were not disappointed. The room was large, with two double beds, lovely decor and a back door to a small patio with two chairs and a wonderful view of O'Keeffe mesas. We stayed two nights so we could tour O'Keeffe's home and studio, which is a hop, skip and a jump from the Inn, as well as Ghost Ranch, just down the road. Absolutely do not miss either one of these places! We spent several hours one lovely evening on the patio behind our room sketching, as did other guests. The food at the Inn is good, not great (breakfast is best, don't miss the potatoes), but the service is excellent. We are already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    52
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
99
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Abiquiu Inn, in Abiquiu, NM, is a lovely place to stay, with quiet rooms in separately joined cottages (ours shared a fountain in the courtyard), spread out grounds and an excellent restaurant. We were also able to enjoy the nearby Georgia O'Keefe Ghost Ranch, with its history and buildings honoring the late, great painter of Southwestern landscapes in an awesome desert setting.

Room Tip: When choosing a room, if you are a light sleeper, ask that the room face away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Having heard of Abiquiu Inn from our son and his family for several years, we decided to stay for one night last week. The rave reviews were not exaggerated. Immediately upon entering our room, we felt the calm. The staff was helpful, our dinner and breakfast at Cafe Abiquiu were enjoyable...try the Agave Wine Margarita, and we are already planning a longer stay in the near future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here a number of times and it is always a little better each year . The grounds are well kept and the rooms clean and comfortable . It has the best restaurant in the area . Very convenient to Ghost Ranch which is a great place to hike . I found all all the staff to be very helpful and friendly which is a sign of good management .

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I booked a room at The Abiquiu Inn so that we could visit Georgia O'Keefe's home while in the area. We enjoyed our stay at the Inn so much that we decided to stay an additional night. The Abiquiu Inn is terrific--very friendly staff, great food in their restaurant, and a nice gift shop! It's a very relaxing place, affordable, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay there. If we're ever back in Abiquiu (and I hope we will be), The Abiquiu Inn is where we'll definitely be staying!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Abiqui Inn is spread out over a large areas with five different groupings of buildings. I was first assigned a room #18, which is very small, with a dreary surrounding, and too near the highway for a quite night's rest. i do not recommend unit #18 or #19 which are next to each other. so I upgraded to room #6 inside a complex called Plaza Blanca. I highly recommend any of the rooms Plaza Blanca, and hope to return there myself for a longer stay. The building is in a shady area, and the room was very large, with a sitting area with a great chair and reading lamp, an entertainment center with an excellent TV (that actually had a lot of good cable channels), a wooden writing desk and lamp, and queen beds. The beds had excellent mattresses, luxury linens and beautiful wooden headboards. (In the center of each head board was an iron ring which could be entertaining for some people.) The floors are high quality tile and walls are white washed plaster that looks like adobe. (It isn't, but looks like it) The ceiling has the traditional vegas in dark wood. So the room has the feeling of the southwest, done in a lovely way and tasteful way. The bathroom has high quality towels, and beautiful tile work on the walls. I loved the private courtyard, which can be accessed only by people staying at Plaza Blanca. There are flowers, and a little fountain in the center of the courtyard. A lovely spot to sit in the morning sun. In addition, the gift shop is very good, the restaurant in excellent, and the over all service from the staff is very high quality.

Also, while strolling the grounds on my way to dinner, I met the owner of the hotel. He does not live in the area, so it was an odd chance that I met him. He quizzed me about my opinion of the hotel, before I found out he was the owner. He truly wants to know what people think of his place, and to make it the best place it can be. Seems like he is doing a great job of that.

Room Tip: Rooms in Plaza Blanca are beautiful and have access to a private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed here two nights - it is the place to stay when you intend to visit Georgia O'keefe's home tour and places where she used to go to paint her pictures. The room was very spacious and the bed was luxurious. The food in the restaurant is exceptional - piñon nuts in pancakes with rosemary syrup. Ceiling fans and nice windows that can open. Our beautiful room was in the building that had a back door to a panoramic view of the mountains. It was quiet, dark and I slept well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abiquiu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abiquiu Inn

Address: 21120 Highway 84, PO Box 120, Abiquiu, NM 87510
Location: United States > New Mexico > Abiquiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Abiquiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abiquiu Inn is perfectly situated in the beautiful Chama River Valley close to the Georgia O'Keeffe Home & Studio. The casitas are lovely with cozy fireplaces & breathtaking views. Explore the magnificent landscape made famous by Georgia O'Keeffe. Cafe Abiquiu features a delightful New Mexican menu & AZUL Gift Store offers pottery, paintings and jewelry created by local & international artists. Wine and beer served and small meeting spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Abiquiu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abiquiu Hotel Abiquiu
Inn Abiquiu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abiquiu Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.