We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute divine location, perfect place for families to enjoy Fiji” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rakiraki
SYDNEY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolute divine location, perfect place for families to enjoy Fiji”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is one of the best places we have stayed as a family. We had a very comfortable two bedroom villa with it's own beach for just $250 a night for a family of five!
The location is perfect, snorkelling, fishing, great food, great staff, few people and close to villages. This is a quiet resort, no kids club and not too many other kids but perfectly safe and excellent activities for the family. We loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    67
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
172
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My Wife and I returned to the resort after a stay in May of 2010 which we have reviewed . our second visit was better than the first We arrived very late on Xmas eve after a flight delay but the resort team made sure that a meal was ready for us which was delivered by the fantastic security guys. Beato meet us at reception with a reception team member then the General Manager Ben came from his home to make sure all was OK (see if you get that at any of the big international hotels). The next day was Christmas. When we walked into the dining room for breakfast the team greeted us as old friends - what a reception. Ben with his wife Rachel invited us to sit with his family and friends for Lunch as we did not know anyone at the resort and they didn,t want us to be left out on Christmas Day. Over the next 12 days we had a ball I had my fishing gear with me expecting to catch the big one but I didn't even go out as the relaxing time swimming drinking and eating was just terrific.New Years Eve was a blast with a fireworks display with the food being another highlight. Staying at the resort is not for weight loss as the portions are generous and quality very good. Ben & Rachel eat from the Menu which helps keep the Chefs at their already high standard. The soups are a real highlight!Every day you can do diifferent things do as little or as much as you want
Make sure that you visit RAKIRAKI a $30FIJI return trip from the resort - it shows you real Fiji with people just saying Bula all the time. While we stayed at the resort a wedding took place which did not inpact on any other guests. We met lots of lovely people who enjoyed the resort except a young couple from the USA who just complained and complained about everything thinking that the world revolved around them.
We ate we drank we enjoyed.The bures(rooms) are cleaned very well The pools are cleaned and great to swim in (we had a private pool) At the resort 4 of the bures have them and for the little extra cost it is great . The cost of beer and wine is reasonable by Fiji standards and the beer is always ice cool.
As always, the staff were fantastic - friendly, happy and we had lots of laughs with them. thank you to all of them- won't name them as I may leave someone out, whch would be terrible. Ben and Rachel are doing a brilliant job at Wananavu and we can't wait to go back (september this time). the only down-side to Wananavu is having to leave
Andrew & Robyn

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Whilst staying with some friends in Sigatoka we decided to hire a 4wd and drive up the coast for the night. Sure enough - Paradise Found! Wananavu is an amazing little resort overlooking the north coast of Fiji near Raki Raki. We turned down the unsealed road and dubiously drove until we came to the resort. We were not dissapointed!

This place is amazing!! We asked about standby rooms and chose the beachfront bure as they were so cheap for what you get. The grounds are immaculately kept, the pool was lovely and the food in the restaurant was very good. The only thing it lacks is a wonderful beach but it is literally a 10min boat ride to the island opposite. We took a snorkeling tour and they were happy to help us as we were leaving at 12 to drive back. The snorkeling behind the island is some of the best we have done and we are both divers!!!!

This really is an amazing little dive resort and a wonderfully kept secret. Althought it is a 2+ hour easy drive from the airport, we would do it again in a heartbeat. The management and staff of the beautifully kept Wananavu are to be commended on this amazing place!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Wanananvu is the real Fiji. The Resort is located two hours from Nadi Airport but reliable and friendly transfers are provided by the Resort. Upon arriving at the Resort we were overwhelmed by the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. We were ushered to the bar and resturant, our 15 month old given lots of attention and our bags taken to our bure - what a welcome!
We were at Wanananvu becuase friends were getting married there - the wedding was amazing- it ticked all the boxes and the organisation was seamless - a very stressfree bride!
Over our week stay, we were continually impressed by the staff - they quickly learnt our names, what we liked to drink and were only to happy to entertain our daughter whilst we enjoyed a meal or drink. Our meal plan was excellent. Highly recommend the omelette with taro on the side for breakfast and the ham and pineapple pizza was the best I have ever tasted. Menus varied with something for everyone. The children's menu was fantastic - beware meals are big and coudl easily be shared bewteen chidlren.
The pool area was good and ideal for younger children. We also took advantage of the nanny service which worked very well.
We had a wonderful truly relaxing and carefree holiday and woudl reccommend the resort to any yound family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Spent a week at the Wananavu Beach Resort begining on November 6th. My wife and I were traveling with a dive group of about 19 people most of whom reside in and around San Diego. The resort does take a little bit of time to get to (about 2 1/2 hours from the airport in Nadi). Fiji has a national speed limit of 80 kilometers per hour and the road is only two lanes. Our group arrived pretty early from LAX and got to the resort around 9:30am. Our rooms were not quite ready yet, as was expected, but they kept breakfast for us and held our luggage. At breakfast we met some of the staff that would be serving us through the course of our stay. Our bags were in our rooms by the time breakfast was over.

The rooms were very nice with your own small deck and they were well appointed. Do not expect TVs, phones, or Internet in your room. When you go to Wananavu you are dropping off the planet...unless you are carrying your own cell phone, which I had good reception the entire time we were there.

Down by the marina there were kayaks available for the two of us and Vini (spelling is probably wrong) introduced herself and got us situated. When we came back in she addressed us by name. The vast majority of the staff only needs to meet you once and they remember your name. It was very welcoming. The staff was always very accomodating and exceptionally friendly. The staff is really what sets this resort apart from many other hotels we've stayed at.

The food was always tasty at the restaurant, but a couple of times took a little while to get served. Of course we were a large group and tended to show up for dinner at the same time. Breakfast and lunch was never a problem. Enjoyed the curry of the day several times and the Mongolian barbeque one night was delicious. They always had live music during lunch and dinner and the staff sings a traditional Fijian farewell song whenever a guest is checking out the next day. It is very touching and you hate it when it is your turn. We didn't want to say good-bye to Ma, Asinate, Kali, Kelani, Evuloni, Vulo and all the others.

The spa is simple, but again the staff was quite nice and we wish we had spent more time there. The services were also very affordable.

The beach was comfortable but not what you would typically expect at most resorts. The water is very calm and the tide drops quite a bit, so it isn't a beach where you would frolick in the water. The snorkeling is quite good though. It is very relaxing with several hammocks and plenty of lounge chairs. The swimming pool was like bath water it was so warm.

The resort managers, Ben and Rach were awesome too. They had a cake baked at the resort for my birthday and brought it out during lunch and sang to me. They also set up a private table set up for us at dinner down by the pool. Had the weather been more cooperative it would have been down at the beach. They knew we were newlyweds and we chatted about weddings and their own recent ceremony. They were just a great couple and they got to know everyone in the group.

Without a doubt the best dive resort I've been to. The diving was pretty good too. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Having recently attended a wedding at Wananavu Beach Resort, I feel I must commend Ben and Rachel - the Managers - on the incredible organisation, attention to the smallest detail and lack of stress for the bridal couple and their guests. The Staff were wonderful too with their happy, friendly service and showing that nothing requested was too much trouble.
A truly memorable occasion from which I can recommend the resort to anyone wishing to be married in Fiji, plus a relaxed holiday for them and their guests. The Management will look after you, your requests and also be happy to make suggestions which would be worthwhile for any couple to listen too! Relaxed, stress free and a truly romantic place in which to get married.
Well done to all at Wananavu - my memories are so very special

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Friends recently had their wedding at Wananavu resort in Rakiraki. My husband and myself travelled with our five children (aged between 5wks and 14yrs), and stayed for a week. The wedding day was truly magical, every girls dream. The ceremony was beautiful, and the entertainment (local dancers/fire twirlers etc) during the reception was excellent.
The rest of the week was a great family holiday. The staff were all so lovely and helpful, and the food was delicious. The kids had a great time, and so did we.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.