We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience, a perfect wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience, a perfect wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

In the Fijian language, Wananavu means wonderful. Our experience there was nothing short of that. Situated on a hill overlooking the blue waters of the Southern Pacific ocean, our Oceanview Honeymoon Bure was everything it was promised. Keleni, Beato, and the entire Wananavu team made us feel more like treasured family than holiday visitors.

We traveled with 21 of our closest friends and family for our wedding at nearby St. Francis of Xavier Catholic Church (also known as Church of the Black Christ). Everything was arranged by the amazing staff at Wananavu, and I couldn't imagine a more perfect day. I would highly recommend this for anyone searching for a Catholic destination wedding. We are counting the days until we can rejoin our friends in Fiji

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    75
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
64
188
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

First trip to Fiji and did we ever get spoiled here! Beautiful setting, super-friendly, gracious & accommodating staff. Bures nicely appointed - loved all the wood - felt private without being off the beaten path. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The resort is great with good people, good food, and good accomidations.
The diving sucks because there are not many fish near the resort. If you take the one hour trip to Bligh Waters, then you will see a great number of fish and great soft coral.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I recently went to the South Pacific to scuba dive with friends. WE spent two weeks on Viti Levu (Fiji Land) the main island in the Fijian chain. And although much of the island is made up of villages that lack some basic amenities, what we found at Wananavu was absolutely top-drawer!!! The grounds wew exceptionally well maintained and planned. The staff remembered everyone's name, I mean everyone, even changing faces during the week we stayed there, and we all became friends. The dive staff on the Ra Divers dive boats, were equally friendly, professional, personable and skilled. A an hstorian, I have done a lot of travelling. I have been to fifteen countries from Australia to Canada, the U.S to all over Europe. My MUST say, I have never stayed anywhere like Wananavu. Before I went there, I researched a LOT about Fiji and Wananavu, and read many reports here on TripAdvisor, some which were not complimentary. I don't know where those people stayed, but it was clearly NOT the same place i stayed! The rooms (bure's (bu-rays)) were charming and clean, the food excellent, the drinking water safe, the staff fast and careful, the prices affordable, but compared to several other such resorts on Fiji, Wananavu is first class!! Not only would I recommend it to everyone, but I would like to spend a couple more months there again diving five days a week. It has everything one ccould want in a tropical get-away, except the crowds, the noise and the overt commercialism. I, we, also stayed at the Uprising and The Pearl in southern Fiji, and I cannot say I feel the same about either one (although the Pearl is far nicer than the Uprising in MANY respects (more on those in another review).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Stayed in a private house near Wananavu. We were told we could use the facilities at Wananavu but they had a full house and we were told we couldn't use any part of the hotel at all.
We did dive with Ra Divers. Only good things to say about the dive sites, but the equipment Ra Divers had available to rent was in appalling condition. Regulators that leaked and were very difficult to breathe through, wetsuits that were falling apart (literally!), BCDs that were ragged and falling apart. One in our group had to disconnect her BCD from her regulator as it was constantly filling the BCD. The poor divermasters were very embarrassed by the gear and all they could say was "please email the boss". I would not dive with Ra Divers again unless I had every single piece of my own gear.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Well. where would I start... Wananavu is just gorgeous. We had a ball. I just cant wait to go back one day... Ill start with the beginging and ramble on..

The drive from the airport is an eye opener and takes about 2 and a half hours.. Its through the "real fiji" and you see all sorts of things. You see the poverty and how the real locals live, you see lots of sugar cane and fields and animals everywhere. I would not say its a scenic drive as its not coastal, but its interesting thats for sure. I guess I was surprised at how much poverty there is and had not expected that but the locals smile and wave to you in the bus and thats lovely. The last 20 minutes to the resort is very bumpy as the road is just rubble, so hold on tight! Its in the middle of no were and its really the only place for miles and miles so if you are looking to completely excape then this is the place to go. If you are looking for shopping and nightclubs/pubs/people, then this is not the place to go.

I would not say its a place for kids really under 12. There was no children there really at all, mainly couples and diver groups..

When you arrive at the resort you walk into heaven. Its amazing. The whole place glisens and sparkles and is clean and well looked after. Its really truly a special place.. The gardens are spectacular and the flowers are lovely and the paths around the resort are just so nice to walk around. If you want total peace and only to hear the birds and the trees swaying then this is your place for sure. No kids running around, no cars, no noise of any description apart from the gardeners chopping down the palm leaves..

The recepion area is lovely and Meli on reception is a joy. The other ladies too on reception cannot do enough for you and no problem is too big to fix. There are no tvs, radios and only one computer in the little shop for internet if you must have it!! The rooms are very clean and modern and lovely and have mini bars and air conditioning and fans. The rooms were covered in local flowers when we arrived which was so nice.

There is only a sheet and a very thin blanket on the beds, so ask at reception and they will give you more blankets. There are no safes in the rooms but you can leave valuables at reception if you need to but we felt totally safe.. We started off in a garden view bure but ended up upgraded to the honey moon bure which is out of this world. own plunge pool and undescribable views. Bure number 23 is the one to ask for if you are getting married. Unreal..

The night we arrived we got in at ten pm so the place was very quiet and everyone was asleep. We got a sandwhcih which was nice but the fried were stone cold. I think the kitchen must have been closed and waiting for us to arrive!!

Now to the food. The food manager Beato is wonderful and nothing is a problem. He genuinly wants everything to run smoothly and listens to any constructive critism. This is a 3 and half start resort and some people may forget this, so really the food is wonderful. A couple of hints were the soup was luke warm, although very tasty, but as soon as we mentioned this is became warmer, but not piping hot.. But I looked forward to the soup daily. The milk is full cream and I would have liked to see some semi skimmed, but maybe fiji cows dont do semi skimmed!!!!!!!!! The Wedges/chips could have been a bit more cooked and crispy and sometimes looked half done, but in the moring they always seemed hotter.. Yes wedges for breakfast!! Thats what they call hash browns!! Breakfast was limited but lovely and the eggs were amazing. bacon very tasty but again always half cooked but the loevly ladies were always more than happy to crisp it up a bit. The fruit and muffins were nice but most days by the time we got there they were finished and that was that. We only once made it on time to get the gorgeuos pinneaple. But we always got melon..So I guess they need to cater a bit more on the fuit and muffin department!! Over all though breakfast was lovely..

Luncu and dinner.. The same menu was daily but each day a special list came out with a few specials and that added a bit of variety.. Pizzas lovely, burgers lovely, no pasta, fillet steak really nice, chicken was always thigh and brown meat but ok. Salads nice but coudl have done with a bit less lettuce and a bit more of the other stuff and I would have loved to see some salad dressing of some sort, italian or frend or even some good old balsamic.. Deserts wonderful..

The lovo feast is fantastic and really enjoyed the food that night. Didnt quite so much enjoy the mongolian night as felt ill afterwards and as its all cooked to order opnly tip wopuld be to make sure what you are eating is actually cooked properly..

Overall I could not really fault the food and as I said tha food and beverage manager is a joy and so friendly..

Tables and glasswear immaculate and a good selection of wine and local beers and spirits and cock tails and not at all expensive really.. A coke is about $3.50 fiji and wine about $9 fiji.

So enough on the food....

The managers Rachel and mr Ben!! Lovely and friendly and helpful and caring and genuinly care about their guests. I would not have wished for better hosts!!!!!!!!

The staff.. Too many to mention. Silivia, Kali, Andi, Ma, Crazy Asinate, they were all wonderfull and remembered our names from day one.. The staff make this place special. They are the nicest most smiliest crowd ever..

There is a group pf four men who sing and play guitar at lunchtime and dinner time and thats a nice touch and really the only music apart from the odd tape playing in the bar.

The spa is lovely and just tiny. I had a massage and a pedicure. Just heaven.

We did the island discovery tour with Cevi. Great fun and he is hilarious. There is not much sand around and most beaches are pebbly so it s the white sand you want then this is not the place.The marina is beautiful but you cant really swim there. the beach is ok for swimming but you have to wear shoes for the rocks and coral. The hammocks and chairs are ok. The chairs coudl do with an overhaul, but still clean enough.

The acitvity bure is good and the lovely old man who runs it knows everything about evertying. You can buy a beer at the beach and just sit and listen to the birds and the trees. Heaven.

The village tour is great to see how the real locals live.

There is snorkelling and kayaking and tennis too.

The pool area is very well kept. Chairs pool side immaculate and the staff come and ask if you want lunch down there or a cocktail by the pool..

I honeslty could not really fault Wananavu apart from the odd thing here and there but it was just a dream holiday if you want to be romantic and escape litteraly the world.

Take a good book and just relax... Fiji time.. Im planning my next trip to heaven as we speak!!!

Vinaka Wananavu. Heaven......

Morven and Graeme

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My family stayed at a luxury house adjacent to Wananavu for 10 days. All was well until the resort was closed for a wedding for the last 4 days of our stay. It would have been considerate of the hotel managers to inform us, but no. They took a booking ( 2 days previous) for a family celebration dinner with cake etc & on the night said the resort was closed & we were no longer welcome - by the way pay your bill in the morning ! One problem with Wananavu is it is so remote that any alternative for meals & tours is almost non existant. However the main problem we had was with the EXTREMELY rude female manager, her complete lack of consideration & manners. I think it just demonstrated her lack of personal skills & ability to juggle a full work load. Maybe she should take up cleaning the bathrooms. Thankfully all the Fijian staff were amazing , friendly & always polite. Lessons could definitly be learnt here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.