We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Diving, Outstanding Resort Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Diving, Outstanding Resort Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Wananavu for 5 nights with a crew of three adults and eight high school students on an extraordinary adventure. Four kids were still finishing their dive certifications and the remainder were more experienced. We stayed in the villa at the top of the hill. This used to be the resort founder's house which shows in the attention to architectural detail. Young legs had no trouble with the walk up the hill. It was bit more effort for me.

Resort staff were absolutely fantastic and made us feel at home from the moment that we arrived. The diving with Trevor and his dive staff was superb. They did an excellent job of sending us on progressively more challenging dives as skills developed. Each day we were diving on coral pinnacles in the Bligh waters that rose from the bottom to within about 15 feet of the surface. This provided a great opportunity to dive deep and then slowly work our way towards the surface while viewing different levels of the pinnacles. Corals were beautiful and fish were abundant.

Some day I shall return to Fiji and spend more time getting to know its many islands and its wonderful people.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    76
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
66
194
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Truly a wonderful dive destination with a great relaxing atmosphere. The diving was well organised and the diving itself was spectacular.
The resort staff were wonderful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay a comfortable one.
A truly relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay here was absolutely fantastic! This place truly has it all - delicious food, gorgeous location, variety of fun activities, and the most friendly staff I have ever encountered! The menu is not extensive, but it does change every day and always includes a vegetarian or vegan option. The scenery is perfect as a postcard with plenty of hammocks (both the traditional and chair variety) to curl into with a good book. I was pleasantly surprised by the extent of the activities. There was a very informative presentation about coconuts complete with Jesse scurrying up the coconut tree to retrieve tasty treats for the very impressed guests. The best activity was obviously the diving though and I highly recommend it regardless of your skill level; Trevor and his "dive boys" will make a novice diver feel safe and comfortable while also impressing the advanced diver with their extensive knowledge of the flora and fauna we saw at their diverse dive sites. I'm almost positive the entire resort staff knew me and all the guests by name within 24 hours of arrival. As the name suggests, Wananavu was awesome and wonderful and I wish I could return again and again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbourne, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Our daughter treated us to two nights at Wananavu and what a delight it is. The resort is nestled into the palms and very unpretentious yet also very luxurious. The staff are very professional and friendly, and knew our names by the end of the first day. The rooms/cabins are very clean, spacious, with a large bathroom and glass walled shower looking outside but shielded by a bamboo screen. Great pool and lots of activities.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Having been to many dive resorts around the world I want to compare Wananavu to other similar operations. Many places have fine food, or lovely rooms, or great views, or idyllic environments, or warm welcoming staff, or good service, or great dive operations and magnificent pristine reefs. What sets Wananavu apart is that it has them ALL !

The moment you arrive in Nadi you are in their care. The classic native Fijian culture of "Welcome" starts with your first BULA! and ends with a beautiful haunting farewell serenade by all the resort staff. In between is the nicest week of custom breakfasts, gorgeous reef diving with a professional dive staff that epitomizes concierge diving, lunches with a great variety of choices for every palate and taste, Afternoon relaxation in a waterfall pool, dinner with constantly amazing sunsets, and live music at lunch and dinner every day and the option of visits to local villages and massage services. The private bures (bungalos) are spotless and are scattered hillside with the ocean as close as 50 feet and no greater than a couple of hundred feet. The vegetation is lush and tropical, heavily studded with palms and flowers.

Did I mention the dive operation? Just in case you missed it, these people are tops. Their style is relaxed, friendly and personally attentive without being intrusive. The dive groups are small with no more than 4 divers per dive-master. They know each reef intimately and always make sure that you get the most out of every dive. They are particularly attentive to the needs of U/W photographers.
If you want to get a pictorial feel for this place, check out the Fiji 2015 gallery on my web site at www.bobpliskin.com.

Thank you Alan, Trevor, Josh, Mere, Ma, Tiko, Jesse, Julia, Joe and all the staff for one superb vacation!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Overall, an excellent trip and stay. As part of a large dive centric group, there was always plenty going on, both on the surface and underwater. If you're not a diver then then you'd better like lounging by the pool, the bar or the small beach because there's very little else to do.

Resort bures are good quality with the ocean view ones offering great vistas. I've stayed in better, but also had far worse rooms in more traditional upmarket hotels.

Food is varied. Some dishes are outstanding, some are a little tough in the meat department but all tasty. Service is excellent and the staff attentive both in the restaurants and in the resort as a whole.

A special shout out for the dive operation. Trevor and his team are outstanding and ably handled the mix of divers and skills the group had, from novice through to technical divers diving rec. All fills were spot on and the boat handling excellent (can't comment on rental gear - we all brought our own). Costs of diving seemed a little varied - in some cases (such as Nitrox fills), they were what I'd pay in the US. For extending the dive package, they were a little out of whack.

Why only a 4? Dinged a bit on the varied food quality and some of the dive extras. All other services were great.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view or beach front room. The 'garden view' bures are off to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

With my girlfriend we wanted to explore the Blight Water and the diving aroud Rakiraki. Wananavu was the best choice possible. Sitting on a hill the resort offers beautiful bure, very private, air conditionned and facing the sea. The pool side got a waterfall and the bar overlooked it while offering a nice view on the different islands.

You have a tennis cours, a volley ball court and even petanque ball which should make any french happy. Even happier would be the french discovering the bottle of Pastis at the bar.

The food was good and every night a local orchestra plays local and international songs.

The diveshop, managed by Trevor, is so far the best I have seen. I also manage a diveshop and got some idea from him. Two spatious boat bring you too numerous and different dive sites. With the captain and divemaster you always have a deck hand helping you after the dive. You equipement is taking care of after every dive and the morning you just have to grab you dry wet suit.

We haven t done any activities except diving, but there is some waterfall, tour of the differents of islands, village visits...None diver will aprpeciate the place

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.