We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wananavu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Wananavu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in October for a wedding and it was wonderful. It is an extremely well appointed resort in a stunning location. The beachfront bures are lovely and it is such a nice feeling to wake up everyday with a view over the water. The staff were friendly helpful and attentive, the food was divine (so hard to decide what to have from the tempting menu) and the facilities of an extremely high standard. From the time we checked in to the time we left every second was enjoyable. The wedding itself was faultless - food, location, decorations, music etc etc There were enough activities to keep us busy for the week yet plenty of places to lounge and enjoy the 'real Fiji'. It is a long trip from the airport in Nadi but well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    74
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
64
186
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an absolutely amazing time at this beautiful resort! The staff were really a pleasure to talk to and the resort itself is beautiful, quiet and relaxing. The live music and frequent trips to the Kava bowl were a lot of fun and everyone staying there seemed to be really appreciating there stay as well. We stayed in one of the villas on the waters edge and the view was really stunning. We spent most of our days diving with the in house dive op, Dive Wananavu, who were also wonderful to spend time with. Afternoons were spent relaxing in the small but nice pool with a bucket of beers. The food was very good all of the time and sometimes bordered on excellence. There is not really any nightlife in the area and the resort is fairly quiet, so if you are looking for a party, this isn't the place. If you want incredible service, diving and tranquility, this is going to be one of your favorite stays.

We stayed at Wananavu in February of 2013 and I am just now getting around to writing this review.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't stay here but i sure wish we did!! We stayed about 5 mins away but we were at this hotel every day.. The grounds are beautifulllll!! Our friends had their wedding here and everything was spectacular! The food, the staff, the setup.. next time we treck out to Raki Raki we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Peaceful yet good place for surfers ..away from the main town nice an peaceful ..if you enjoy surfing swimming or just plain lazy try this 3 hour drive from nadi ..excellent facilities ...once you try this you will love it

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Friendly staff, great food, a clean and comfortable room, flower-scented air as you walk along the pathways, the rustle of palm fronds, wonderful bird song at dawn... this place is truly a slice of paradise. On their last night there the staff sings each guest a traditional Fijian farewell song. It was so lovely! Gentle, beautiful music with lunch and dinner every day.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

My family and I stayed there for five magical days/nights from the 22/9/14 in Bure 40. Apparently one of two self contained bure's. The resort is just spectacular, along with the staff and especially the band who kept us smiling. The food was amazing and the manager Allan was constantly socializing with guests to make sure their stay was up to expectations and willing to help with any matter. As per the new Tourism Fiji adverts I think 'happiness found me there.' I haven't stopped recommending this resort to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: All bure's have ocean views but with all the activites your hardly ever in them. They all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

Wow Wananavu what can we say! My new husband and I spent 10 magical days at your resort and could not have dreamed of a nicer place if we tried. The rooms are funky and exceptional well looked after, the beautifully cut fresh flowers daily, the gardens and resort grounds so tidy and well kept, the food was fantastic (most nights) the amount of food was amazing, the service and manner if all of the staff within the resort is what made out honeymoon. What a beautiful group of lovely happy, friendly, kind people that would do anything to put a smile on your face and make you'd stay a memorable one. From the waitresses, the bar staff, the ladies in the front desk, the band, the housekeepers, the maintenance/yard people you are all a wonderful group of people and make this place the amazing piece of paradise that it is.
There are so many things I want to write here the private island picnic lunch was the best, the snorkelling amazing. Go into Rakiraki town what a really great experience. The only thing I would suggest maybe adding a few different activities, and also the lovo pit feast night should be done atleast once a week we were really quite disappointed in missing out on that.
The only other thing that was quite disappointing was the manager what a shame. He walked around like a grumpy old am we said hello to him one night and he completely ignored us whilst storming through the restaurant with shorts a shirt and no shoes on. You could always hear him talking very rudely to the staff from the office behind the front desk. He has no client relation skills and if the owner has any sense whether he is friends with the manager or not seriously Grant you need to reconsider your management or atleast make him change the way he runs the staff and treats the guests.
Apart from that we will definitely return hopefully sooner rather than later. All the best to the beautiful staff and all of you lucky people coming here in the near future what a little piece of heaven. Miss you all lots already

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.