We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD GLORIOUS FOOD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
CHCH, NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“FOOD GLORIOUS FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently stayed at a holiday house nearby to Wananavu Beach Resort. The resort welcomes guests staying nearby also. It was our plan to cook and eat at the house we had rented, BUT once we had wandered through Wananavu and experienced our initial dinner - we didn't look back!! We were there daily enjoying sunset cocktails and the absolutely gorgeous a la carte dining AND all day menu on offer. The chefs standards are exceptionally high and food is well worth the cost. An even bigger surprise on our return home to NZ, was the exchange rate working in our favour and reducing the expenditure :) We found both the Wananavu staff and the resort to be of the highest quality, cleanliness and standards and would not hesitate to stay or eat there again - in fact, would plan a trip there just for the food! Take a trip to the REAL Fiji and see what they have to offer :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    73
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
180
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did a lot of research on where to stay in Fiji, and for travel logistics, exorbitant cost to get to some of the other islands, and good reviews from Trip Advisor, we chose to stay at Wananavu for 5 nights in January.

The staff was fantastic - starting with the the shuttle driver who picked us up from the Nadi airport for the three-hour trip to the resort. Yes, it's a long drive on not-well maintained roads, but you're not off-roading and you are in a developing country, so you have to roll with it a bit. Don't let the other reviews scare you about the drive. I loved going through the heart of Fiji's most populated island to actually see another culture.

When we got to the resort, we were greeted warmly, given a welcome drink and immediately shown to our beachfront bure. We were so happy we paid extra during this once-in-a-lifetime trip to Fiji and got a room right on the beach. It was so amazing to wake up every morning to that famous view of the Fiji water and coastline!

The food was fine. Some meals were better than others, and I was pleasantly surprised with the variety of options at each meal. We went with the all-inclusive package so we had our choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner of something from the standard, daily menu and they had a daily special each time so you didn't have to eat the same thing every time if you wanted a bit of variety.

While we understood it, it was a bummer that the a/c (essentially a swamp cooler) couldn't be on while we were out of the room. (Your key has to be inserted into the unit for it to work.) We were there in the height of summer, so maybe it won't be an issue year-round, but this is the tropics, so if you want an ice-cold room, this may not be the resort for you.

The best part of Wananavu is the plethora of activities to choose from. If you want a pool or beach vacation, you're in the right spot... but if you're wanting to experience more, this is definitely the place for you. There's an on-site spa for facials, massages, and other treatments. Water activities include snorkeling, scuba lessons and kayaking. The resort had cultural classes too - an herbal medicine talk, a cooking class, soccer/football on the beach, and sulu-tying lessons.

Hands-down, though - the best part of staying at Wananavu is the accessibility of off-site activities. Our favorite day was hopping into a resort shuttle bus and going with two other couples to a local farmers market and then visiting a local village a few hours away from the resort. There, we were greeted with a kava ceremony before riding on horses to a nearby water fall that was a natural water slide. (If you go on this trip - wear old board shorts! You don't want your bottoms falling off or your nice shorts getting ripped!!) After that, the local women served us homemade lemonade and pancakes, and we perused a market of handicrafts they had made. The villagers were so incredibly friendly and welcoming.

Wananavu bills itself as the "real Fiji" and I think there's something to that. You're on the main island, and able to immerse yourself a bit in the Fijian culture. There are beautiful palm trees and azure-colored water - but the best part is being able to meet people who make Fiji great.

Room Tip: Beachfront bures are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Wananavu or wanna be. If you like 4 wheeling it, then you will enjoy the horrid dirt road that leads up to the resort from the the Kings highway. If your mother couldn't cook and you ate cafeteria food and you enjoyed it, then this restaurant at the Wananavu beach resort is for you. Beware: you will be paying 4 star restaurant prices for your 1 star meals. Hospitality is fickle. There is Ma and Ani who are always pleasant, but you never know what mood Tina is in. My wife and I tried to stay out of her way. The weather was perfect and we immensely enjoyed snorkeling, but gave up our scuba plans there and headed over to another resort because their Dive Master, Vicky, is a bit persnickety. The grounds are lovely to walk around, and that young chap that takes care of the beach is just a nice fellow.

I don't think that we'll be back, nor could we recommend it as a wedding site given the food served and the inconsistency in the services rendered. We checked out Voli Voli down the road (rough road) and the food was a little better. The Vonu on draft was really nice. Still, we got hustled by the waiter, Soni,trying to convince us to go into his village and drink Kava. I don't want to drink Kava, I have a medical condition that would make drinking Kava detrimental to my health. Wow. That really ticked him off! So even if the fish burger was great there, we would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just spent a weekend at this resort as a family with three girls ages 7.5 and 4 years old. We wanted a place to relax and be close to nature and each other and this place did offer it for us. We had a garden view bure surrounded by lush tropical trees. I loved the peace and the quietness of the place, it soothes your nerves. The girls enjoyed the pool as well as the beach and snorkeling. I liked the restaurant's view overlooking the sea and the other islands- nice sun set view. The breakfast was ok but they could always improve it by adding more to the variety such as baked beans and more fruit, was a bit disappointed not to see paw paw or bananas. there. We had an incident in respect to the ice-cream size as it was not fairly served to us but after I perused the matter the problem was rectified and the supervisor Osea was really sorry for what had happened. The staff are nice but I want to mention Ma especially who warmed our cooked food and served to us by the pool. Thank you Ma I appreciated your kindness and thank you Osea for your heartfelt apology. Thank you also Sili for being a great help to us. I thought the resort was a bit pricy but to us was all what we wanted to have for a weekend. We left the place taking with us good memories.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Elisabeta

Room Tip: Garden view bure 32 is a bit far from the beach but close to the peace and singing of the birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Awesome little getaway in Viti Levu, one of the best destinations on the main island.

Stayed in a beachfront bure, which was awesome. The sea at the resort is not the most inviting for a swim but the beach is very pleasant, with lots of coconut trees, hammocks and an awesome sense of relaxation throughout. The villa was very good, very clean and comfortable.

In terms of cleanliness, this is one of the top resorts we've seen in Fiji, with a lot of effort gone into it .Also very few flies and mosquitoes!

In terms of standards they also make a big effort and staff were extremely pleasant and were service-oriented, from the reception to the bar to the dive shop. High standards throughout. I was personally disappointed with the 2 dive sites I saw but I'm sure there I was just unlucky as I was placed in a group which had been there some time and had already covered the good sites.

The resort also makes an effort with organising interesting activities daily.

Finally, food was good and there was a great selection of cocktails. Overall, highly recommended and we're returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulara
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in a Beach Front Bure & had a beautiful relaxing holiday. The 3 hour drive from the airport was a wonderful opportunity to see a little more of Fiji as we drove though lots of little villages & got a feel for how the locals live. We thought of it as a tour, "not a long boring trip" and it was just as interesting on the return trip. The resort is not brand new, but the rooms were comfortable & clean and the view from our bed each morning was exactly what we wanted from our Fiji holiday.
We were looking for relaxation & the therapists at the Wai Spa certainly helped us do this. We had massages, pedicures & manicures with each treatment we had leaving us wanting to return for more. We also had the pleasure of taking a dive tour with the Dive Wananavu Crew. Whilst the conditions weren't great, we still had a fun trip & saw some amazing corals & fish. Possibly one of the best features of the resort are the Staff; they were friendly, welcoming, funny, attentive & really helped make our holiday special.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were looking for a holiday where we could relax and read all day and not lift a finger. The entire Wananavu experience met this requirement easily. Some people on here have commented on the road...all I can say is that they mustn't have travelled often/they expect Fiji to be a developed country. Fiji is a tiny little deserted Island which, in my opinion, is the reason that it is so attractive. You are forced to sit back and take in the beauty that is this amazing island and by the time you get to the rocky/dirt road to the resort, it honestly made me so excited to think that I was in the most isolated and remote place in the world (which of course it isnt) and that it was indeed going to be the ultimate relaxing experience.
RESORT: The resort is situated on quite a steep hill, which meant that most/all rooms have a view and sense of isolation. The restaurant has beautiful views no matter where you sit. It was sunny through the day, and stormed at night, which was awesome because the lightening lit up the bay and the weather added to the tropical island experience. You can order drinks from the pool and the cocktails are AMAZING! Long island ice tea is well worth it (not for the light hearted). The Fijian Premium is delicious.
ROOM: We had a Beachfront Bure, when we visited there were only 3 other couples in the entire resort - due to the quiet period before Easter holiday madness. So we honestly felt like we were all by ourselves and it was SO QUIET! We had the entire beach to ourselves, including the hammocks. The room was perfect, it had the Fijian feel, wooden shutters (and fly screens), the massive shower with glass wall and the entire bathroom was wonderful, they really bought the outdoors inside. The King Bed was comfortable, there was a well stock mini-bar (good prices) and also plunger coffee. Very clean. Could lie in bed and look at the ocean and sleep to the sound of the waves. You can pay for Wi-Fi (same company that is at the airport) and there are ceiling fans and A/C. No other technology, which is great!
FOOD: We got a package, its was cheap for what you get. We arent enormous eaters, so we ate/had WAY too much, you could just order off the menu to your appetite and it would be fine. Friendly service, 'Ma' was lovely!
ACTIVITIES: The water straight infront of the beachfront bures can be a little dangerous as there are stingrays, but we only found this out on day 3 and we swam there without issue. The best place to go is over the other side of the marina, grab your free hire snorkel gear and right at the bottom of the ladder is a coral reef with heaps of colourful fish (disclaimer: we arent divers or regular snorkelers so it was good for our standard). You can also grab a kayak and go to the different islands or tie up at one of the other reefs and jump overboard. We didnt do any of the paid activites but those who we spoke to loved them. We did the couples arrival massage which was pretty good. WEAR SPF 50++, snorkelling for 2hrs meant we were fried even with suncreen!!
OVERALL: We really enjoyed ourselves, we had wanted to stay on one of the islands but due to the complex/expensive nature of transfers we stayed here instead. It was the next best thing, "island feel with mainland convenience".

Room Tip: Beachfront bures quiet and isolated Use sunscreen Cocktails/Happy Hour are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.