We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Awesome getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Awesome little getaway in Viti Levu, one of the best destinations on the main island.

Stayed in a beachfront bure, which was awesome. The sea at the resort is not the most inviting for a swim but the beach is very pleasant, with lots of coconut trees, hammocks and an awesome sense of relaxation throughout. The villa was very good, very clean and comfortable.

In terms of cleanliness, this is one of the top resorts we've seen in Fiji, with a lot of effort gone into it .Also very few flies and mosquitoes!

In terms of standards they also make a big effort and staff were extremely pleasant and were service-oriented, from the reception to the bar to the dive shop. High standards throughout. I was personally disappointed with the 2 dive sites I saw but I'm sure there I was just unlucky as I was placed in a group which had been there some time and had already covered the good sites.

The resort also makes an effort with organising interesting activities daily.

Finally, food was good and there was a great selection of cocktails. Overall, highly recommended and we're returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    74
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
63
181
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yulara
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in a Beach Front Bure & had a beautiful relaxing holiday. The 3 hour drive from the airport was a wonderful opportunity to see a little more of Fiji as we drove though lots of little villages & got a feel for how the locals live. We thought of it as a tour, "not a long boring trip" and it was just as interesting on the return trip. The resort is not brand new, but the rooms were comfortable & clean and the view from our bed each morning was exactly what we wanted from our Fiji holiday.
We were looking for relaxation & the therapists at the Wai Spa certainly helped us do this. We had massages, pedicures & manicures with each treatment we had leaving us wanting to return for more. We also had the pleasure of taking a dive tour with the Dive Wananavu Crew. Whilst the conditions weren't great, we still had a fun trip & saw some amazing corals & fish. Possibly one of the best features of the resort are the Staff; they were friendly, welcoming, funny, attentive & really helped make our holiday special.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were looking for a holiday where we could relax and read all day and not lift a finger. The entire Wananavu experience met this requirement easily. Some people on here have commented on the road...all I can say is that they mustn't have travelled often/they expect Fiji to be a developed country. Fiji is a tiny little deserted Island which, in my opinion, is the reason that it is so attractive. You are forced to sit back and take in the beauty that is this amazing island and by the time you get to the rocky/dirt road to the resort, it honestly made me so excited to think that I was in the most isolated and remote place in the world (which of course it isnt) and that it was indeed going to be the ultimate relaxing experience.
RESORT: The resort is situated on quite a steep hill, which meant that most/all rooms have a view and sense of isolation. The restaurant has beautiful views no matter where you sit. It was sunny through the day, and stormed at night, which was awesome because the lightening lit up the bay and the weather added to the tropical island experience. You can order drinks from the pool and the cocktails are AMAZING! Long island ice tea is well worth it (not for the light hearted). The Fijian Premium is delicious.
ROOM: We had a Beachfront Bure, when we visited there were only 3 other couples in the entire resort - due to the quiet period before Easter holiday madness. So we honestly felt like we were all by ourselves and it was SO QUIET! We had the entire beach to ourselves, including the hammocks. The room was perfect, it had the Fijian feel, wooden shutters (and fly screens), the massive shower with glass wall and the entire bathroom was wonderful, they really bought the outdoors inside. The King Bed was comfortable, there was a well stock mini-bar (good prices) and also plunger coffee. Very clean. Could lie in bed and look at the ocean and sleep to the sound of the waves. You can pay for Wi-Fi (same company that is at the airport) and there are ceiling fans and A/C. No other technology, which is great!
FOOD: We got a package, its was cheap for what you get. We arent enormous eaters, so we ate/had WAY too much, you could just order off the menu to your appetite and it would be fine. Friendly service, 'Ma' was lovely!
ACTIVITIES: The water straight infront of the beachfront bures can be a little dangerous as there are stingrays, but we only found this out on day 3 and we swam there without issue. The best place to go is over the other side of the marina, grab your free hire snorkel gear and right at the bottom of the ladder is a coral reef with heaps of colourful fish (disclaimer: we arent divers or regular snorkelers so it was good for our standard). You can also grab a kayak and go to the different islands or tie up at one of the other reefs and jump overboard. We didnt do any of the paid activites but those who we spoke to loved them. We did the couples arrival massage which was pretty good. WEAR SPF 50++, snorkelling for 2hrs meant we were fried even with suncreen!!
OVERALL: We really enjoyed ourselves, we had wanted to stay on one of the islands but due to the complex/expensive nature of transfers we stayed here instead. It was the next best thing, "island feel with mainland convenience".

Room Tip: Beachfront bures quiet and isolated Use sunscreen Cocktails/Happy Hour are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went up here mainly to dive, but we were very impressed with the resort. The resort is a three hour drive from Nadi (not the two hours and 15 mins stated on the website.) but worth the trip One thing to note was that no water was provided on the journey. We felt this was poor service given the length of the journey.Maybe this could be provide in future?

We stayed in an Ocean view Villa which was basic but clean. It had two ceiling fans, air con and VERY good insect screening over all windows and louvres. A small mini bar/fridge and kettle with tea and coffee supplies. Great water pressure in the shower too! Water is fine to drink as they have their own filtration /treatment system on site, This saved us a fortune in bottled water costs as was much more convenient.

We were on a meal plan which included breakfast (buffet style with eggs cooked to order) , two course lunch and three course dinner. Food was generally very good with a daily 'special' menu for both lunch and dinner. Bread was baked fresh every day and was delicious.They also do a lovo evening and a bbq night, which makes a nice change. Drinks are a reasonable price too, which is not always the case in resort bars,

The resort is set into the side of a hill, but nothing too steep. The grounds and pool are are beautifully maintained, but peolpe 'reserving' loungers by the pool with towels needs to be stopped. We went there one day and every lounger had some item on it, but no one was at the pool....

There are loungers down on the beach area by the dive shop and more out on the point by the steps to the house reef, so the rest of the resort didn't feel crowded.

The staff were all excellent. Introduce themsleves to you at the start of your holiday and greet you by name every day. Happy and smiling and great fun. Loved the live music every lunch time and evening too. There is a spa on site too. but we didn't use it so can't comment.

We did 13 amazing dives with Chris and Vicky, who run the onsite dive shop 'Dive Wananavu'. Our gear was whisked away from our room when we arrived and was loaded onto the boat every day. At the end of each trip, it was taken off the boat and rinsed ready for the next day. The hire gear is in excellent condition too.

The have Nitox available and we did our Nitrox cert while we were there. They run a very tight ship and have a fabulous team working with them. Josh and Jimmy took us on some of the most beautiful dives we have ever done and Mere spoiled us after every dive, with water and snacks and dry towels. They were also happy to go out to the Vatu I Ra passage with just the two of us on board. Three dives a day was no issue either. These guys really do look after their divers. Chris and Vicky are both amazing photographers and Chris spent some time with my hubby giving him some tips and tricks to get the best out of his new camera.

Gold star service. Cant wait to go back..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited last weekend with friends from Sydney. Absolutely fantastic!! I can't believe it took so many visits to finally have an island picnic. Awesome beach with just our group on it. Great for the kids as the water inside the reef is shallow and they can relax and enjoy.

Food fantastic...

Service awesome....

Once again to the the fantastic people of Wananavu....Vinaka Vakelevu.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

In a tropic paradise the most important things to myself and my partner are beautiful surrounds and great cocktails. The resort was fantastic and comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful. Snorkeling was great, and we loved the coconut presentation. Deserving of the high rating.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 and returned, so my husband could again enjoy the diving. The setting, although a haul from the airport, is lovely. Ocean view bures have divine views. Food is very good, and there is a lot of it on the meal plan. The grounds are well-maintained; the staff members, as we remembered, are very friendly. As is in the case on many islands of the world, the pace is relaxed. As some one else remarked, it is superior to Denaru island, which from a Los Angeles perspective, seems like Palm Springs next to an ocean.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.