We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK HERE FOR BEST DEAL
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Suva
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went to there from Suva by car. The road condition is better than before but from main road to Hotel is not good. The hotel located on the shore. They don't have a sand beach but you can enjoy snorkeling in front of the hotel. Hotel provide you snorkeling trip with extra cast. Hotel facility is not so new however it is clean and good maintenance. They have Fijian Meke show on Saturday. Fijian sing a song very well and you can enjoy singing and dancing. The services is very good. The waiter and waitress seem to train a lot. They will help you what you want to do during your stay.

Room Tip: Honey moon bure has a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    86
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
72
208
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Absolutely amazing! Spent our vacation in the Honeymoon Bure enjoying the benefit of a private outdoor shower and private plunge pool. Absolute Heaven! Waking up to that view felt like we were truly in PARADISE. Most of the people were extremely friendly and helpful. Hope all are privileged to enjoy the friendliness of Ana and Osea ~ two of the best people at Wananavu Beach Resort. Island music was presented at meals but wasn't loud and annoying ~ just gave us some island flair. Flowers were freshly placed in our bure every day. The food was delicious and well-presented. We came one week after the cyclone so the island was still reeling from it. Also, we came at an Administrative transition time with Ben and Rachel moving on and emotions were running high. We assume that is why one of the "great meal functions that was to embody the Fijiian lifestyle with food and dance was cancelled even though it appeared on the event board. Although there were some snafus, all-in-all it was a lovely FAMILY Christmas vacation.

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the Honeymoon Bure #50. It is on the beach and the views are spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Agree with other reviews, although only our 1st trip to Fiji. We had 5 night stay, initially here due to not wanting to lose 2 nights in transit to another island, and so happy we did with beautiful setting, good value, friendly staff and great snorkling. Recommend intermediate/ ocean view fale for distance to main blding vs. ocean front with not a true beach, and garden view with little breeze or view. Also, meal plan, menu prices are reasonable so you could eat for less but it would mean missing excellent fresh seafood and cultural bbq for burgers and chips or own food with no other options in the area. Good quality snorkling gear for free, recommend bringing surf leash or rope to kayak out against current and then tie off and drift snorkel back. Snorkeling and picnic trips also good value with spectacular settings on/off deserted white beaches. We saw a wedding there and it was lovely.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean view fale close to main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our stay at Wananavu was absolutely incredible! It was our first time overseas & our belated-honeymoon & all i can say is that i am so happy we chose this resort to stay at. The staff are all so lovely & the activities/dive team were all so funny & crazy!
It was soo nice to be welcomed by name everyday (wherever you were on the resort)

We stayed in the "Beach front Honeymoon Bure" & it was the most romantic place to be!

There is soo much i could say about this amazing place but i wouldnt want to let all the great surprises to be ruined!

Whatever you do - make sure you do the heart pool water slide tour & sun shine coast tour!

I recommend this fabulous place to everyone! Couple & Families!!!

Truley Amazing xx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and i stayed at Wananavu for 7 nights for our 10 year anniversary and can i just say that it was such a beautiful place to stay. The staff were fantastic and very helpful too. Definetly would come back.

Room Tip: We had the ocean view room and that was beautiful. Waking up every morning to a beach was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It ay not be 5 star in Paris or New York but Wananavu is 5 star in Fiji with a laid back attitude because of Fiji time, which is surely what we all need on a holiday. Leave technology at home and just have fun. We arrived for this trip just after the cyclone and saw the destruction answer drove up from Nadi. Surprisingly, the road was better than on any other trip.
Until our last day the resort was running on generators, which went off each night for a couple of hours but I defy anyone to complain as we had power and water(no Internet, goodie, goodie) while the local villages had neither until around 10th January. Rebuilding continues around the area.
As usual, the staff were fantastic, with a couple of new staff learning our names and drinks very quickly, Alcindor, Josie and the rest of the catering staff producing fattening, fabulous food including a wonderful lobster dinner beside our pool, an enormous Christmas lunch with just the right amount for dinner that night and a great news eve dinner and then lunch on 1st. If you are able to spend Christmas Eve at Wananavu, the choir from Rakiraki village is even better than the professionals at home and everyone this year was moved.
Thanks to Manju yet again for keeping 2 untidy people organised in our bure. Thanks Viva for your great staff. If you want anything extra from the boutique, Buna will do her best to get it, thanks Buna.
We look forward to returning later this year when there will have been some renovations and changes to the outdoor dining and I hope that Beato will have an even bigger smile.
Thanks to all the staff - you know we love you. And thanks to all the orphans- Susan, Petra, Rachel, john, jo, Michael, Louisa, Kieran, Sean, Ramon, Stein you helped make our holiday fantastic.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend the honeymoon villas highly enough- 2 rooms with a pool and more isolated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the resort for the sixth stay so we must like it ,why because it is the real Fiji sure the road is much better but still a little rough and this was days after the cyclone hit, We arrived the day before Xmas with the resort full, must be due to my great reports in the past. The reason that it is full is that the place looks like a garden palace, the food is really good make sure you try the pickled fish as an first course and at lunch the Sun Coast sandwich.Sadly Ben & Rach have moved on the a resort in Australia after 4 years, the tears from the staff on the last day was unreal.
The new General Manager has taken the resort over and after staying under his guidance for a number of days he is a mover, Allan has been around the resort for about 10 years on and off. I look forward to staying again in 2013.

Over the stays we have had this would have been the best as we saw people from previous stays plus meeting people from around the world Sten from Norway ,John from South Africa/suva plus the travelling girls from Europe.

The food is outstanding with me putting on more weight that I would care to recall this aided the extra splash in a tradition JETTY JUMPING what a blast.

Make sure you go into RakiRaki the local town the market is great plus everybody is wonderful its about a $40fiji round trip plus the taxi will wait for you.

At Wananavu the great team led by the attentive Beato who is everywhere all of the girls on the front desk,Sereti,Keleni,Meriani plus MA ,Kali there,s lots more the ground staff the housekeepers keeping your Bure spotless.

we stayed after the cyclone with no local power no problems they have a huge generator that just keeps going. The New Year Eve fireworks looked great some people stayed up until 5 am I lasted till about !.30 but I looked better that some in the morning.

As far as food goods if its in season the kitchen will get it an prepare,in the morning breakfast can be anything your eggs cooked whatever way,Lunch and dinner the soups are outstanding who would think of having soups in a hot climate but it works.I would suggest the meal plan as it works out a better price, beer and wine is a good price not over the top with the cocktails very good so everyone tells me.
The Dive group mentioned in another review should have been more respectful,but they really did not represent normal dive groups as mostly they mix in not this lot but it was a one off so don,t let them put you off.Perhaps the Dive masters should advise people of how too act no swimmers in the dining room etc.But as stated most dive groups are good fun.

My special thanks to Allan and a special special BULA to Beato

Kind Regards
Andrew & Robyn

Room Tip: Ocean views are good Honey moon Bures Better with the Villa that can hold 3 couples really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.