We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wananavu Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Wananavu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rakiraki
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I traveled north out of Suva after finishing the initial stage of my assignment there. About an hour out of Suva you hit a really bad road and some of the most amazing scenery possible. There is a stretch of the Kings Road that is being rebuilt and the existing road is a challenge - but it seriously adds to the enjoyment of the trip. My only complaint is that there are no convenient places to stop and photograph some of the most stunning scenery I've seen in Fiji!

When you hit the north coast you come to beautiful bays, coastal road and mountains coming down to the water. Great scenery.

Arriving at Wananavu is very understated. You park and enter a very understated reception area. That is where you will experience one of Wananavu's strongest points - excellent service. You are made to feel welcome, the check in process is a breeze and by the time I got back with my bags there was a lovely fruit cocktail waiting for me.

I stayed in one of the garden bures. It was very comfortable and spacious and had everything you could want including a mini bar (not common in a lot of resorts). Importantly it didn't have a TV in the room!! Great value for money - the garden bure is their best priced accommodation. I also visited one of the bures on top of the hill with its own plunge pool and great view - fantastic!!

What is good about Wananavu?

1) The staff - Fiji is known for being friendly. The people at Wananavu take it to another level.

2) The food - absolutely excellent. One of the few "smaller" resorts that has a full a la carte breakfast included in your rate. It also offers a fully inclusive rate where you also get a two course lunch and three course dinner as part of your daily rate. Food was excellent.

3) The location - situated on a point on the northern part of Viti Levu, the main part of the resort is on the side of a hill. This affords brilliant views over the bay and the surrounding islands. The restaurant deck and pool are all protected from the prevailing wind. On one day the bay was unbelievably choppy as we came back from snorkelling but once in the marina it was as if there was no wind!!

4) Activities - while Wananavu offers some of the usual resort activities visitors to Fiji expect (hotel tours etc), they offer spectacular snorkelling trips (and I'm told diving). There are a number of islands just north east of the resort which present many opportunities, including going for a picnic which the hotel will arrange for you.

5) The guests - this is one place where the atmosphere led to everyone actually speaking to each other, having drinks and dinner with each other and becoming friends!! The Irish honeymooners Conner and Donna (I kid you not) would definitely attest to this!!

I enjoyed my stay so much I extended for another night. I will definitely be back there on my next visit to Fiji.

In conclusion, the Fiji quartet and staff singing Isa Lei to all those leaving the next day could bring a tear to a glass eye!!

There is also a spa there...but I can't comment as it was always busy and I didn't get in early enough!!

Reading Jenny R's comments - 10 days is probably not quite enough!!!

Room Tip: All bures are excellent. It just depends on what you are looking for...and afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    68
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
172
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights when we came for a friend's wedding. The resort itself was really nice, and the staff are great (only one exception I can think of!). They all remember your name and room number instantly - don't know how! We stayed in a beachfront bure which was nice but there isn't really a beach - just a strip of sand. This did not bother us at all but it might bother others. We also found that people tended to walk right in front of our bure as a shortcut which was a bit frustrating, so we probably wouldn't pay extra for beachfront if we came again.

We went diving which was fun although they did run into a few boat issues.... we had to come back in as the boat was taking in dangerous amounts of water! I am sure this is sorted now though. We ended up having to go for an afternoon dive instead of morning. For me, the diving was not as good as other places because I love loads of different fish. The coral was lovely though - just wish there were more fish!

We did the island snorkelling trip which I wouldn't really recommend (we had boat issues on the trip as well!). There were tons of mosquitos and the snorkelling was non-existent. The snorkelling near the dive shop at the end of the jetty is the best.

The events we did as part of the wedding, including the actual wedding, were all really well organised - could't fault it. We did see the honeymoon bure and that is really lovely too - well worth the cost I think! The married couple were really pleased with everything as well.

All in all this was pretty much a faultless holiday. It was spoiled a bit at the end though when it came to airport transfers. We were meant to leave at around 1:30pm for a 6pm flight. This then got changed to 1pm, 12:30pm, 11:30am and finally 11am! We asked why we had to go so early as it meant we would be at the airport for hours. There were six of us, four wanting to go later and two needing to go earlier. We were told by the manager (the female Australian one) that the minimum number of people for a transfer was four people, so they would have to charge the two who needed to go early if they went alone (despite us being picked up as just a couple). Nobody wanted anyone to pay extra so we agreed this was fine and the six of us would go together. However - when we got on the transfer bus there was another couple, making it 8 in total. This other couple were also on an earlier flight so they could have taken those four, and then the four of us with later flights a couple of hours later. They clearly just didn't want to do two transfers. I would have preferred if they had been honest about this rather than telling me there was a four person minimum, etc.

Anyway, in the big scheme of things this was minor, but it wasn't the best way to leave the resort. We were also double charged for a few things so make sure you check your receipts.

Room Tip: Honeymoon bures are great. I don't think the beachfront bures are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in the Villas above Wananavu and honestly, this place was amazing!

The GOOD:

-The STAFF, I'd actually say the AMAZING when it comes to them. They make you feel at home from the second you get there, even when you just have resort privileges, they treat you like part of their family.

-The food, each day they have a set all-day menu and then a printed menu for lunch and dinner, my girlfriend is one of the pickiest eaters I know, and she didn't have one thing there that she didn't absolutely love. Try the Bligh Burger, it tastes like a cross between a sloppy joe and a burger, it was wonderful. The Beers were reasonably priced at F$6, the all day menu was generally F$18 (U$D 10) and the daily menu for lunch was between F$18-26. The desserts were a little overpriced and mixed drinks were F$18 except at happy hour from 17:30-18:30 where they are F$12 (except Long Islands). Additionally, we got off the beach around 16:30 and asked when happy hour started and they said they'd start it now for us.

-Pool: Was nice with a waterfall dropping into it, chairs, etc.

-Ambiance: During lunch/dinner they have a group of guys singing with instruments, they were wonderful, very laid back tropical feel to it. The grounds are well appointed with lots of trees, palms, flowering trees etc. The restaurant is beautiful with leaves tied up the wooden poles, and torches in the evening.

-Lovo: IF YOU GET A CHANCE do it (they only will do it if there are generally 30+ people there), its F$45 per person and just a treat. All you can eat buffet, amazing food and then the Meke is a must see. They bring in people from 2 local villages and they sing and dance, it is authentic, not like one of those Hawaiian Luaus, this was the real thing, a wonderful experience and worth the price of the meal.
ACTIVITIES:
-Snorkelling (Gear is available, not sure if it costs $$ it is included no the F$30 trips): There is snorkelling right off the Marina, you walk around and there are steps right down into the water. The variety of fish is not great (actually rather disappointing) but the coral is beautiful, lots of Blue Starfish and a couple deep red too. Also did see a black/white striped sea snake, thought it was really cool until read later they are very poisonous, so be careful.

They will also arrange for F$30 a 1.5 hour snorkelling out near the islands (Nanu-I-Ra), the coral was HUGE and we were told by a couple that had just come from the Great Barrier Reef that the coral was better here, but the fish again, not many varieties.

-Scuba: While I didn't go, they offered training courses (they also recommend you have a computer to download the manual and video to save F$125) and for those wanting to go on just uncertified dives with an instructor it costs F$180 for the 1st dive and F$170 for all the rest.

-Kayaking: They do offer several kayaks including 2 person ones.

The BAD:

Well we really couldn't find any for us, but I know where people will have a problem.

There isn't a "beach" there is a ledge above the small "beachy" area that runs the length of the resort, which they fill with sand (replenished whenever the sand washes away as we were told) and they have lounge chairs, small tables and hammocks.

Additionally, you're not going to find the light blue ocean water right at the shore because of the reefs, so to go swimming you may have to walk around to the snorkelling entrance. So for anyone looking for a white sandy beach and the baby blue water at the banks, this may be a let down for you, but for us everything else completely made up for that.

NOW what the people that are looking for that may want to consider is scheduling F$40 r/t transfers to the island across that has that OR go with the snorkelling trip for F$30 at 10:30 and get dropped off at the island (I believe they'll even give you a table and 2 plastic sitting chairs too) and then get picked up at 15:30, a couple from Finland did that for a day.

This place is a GEM and we'd come back and recommend anyone we know to go there.

Room Tip: Beachfront Bure or Beachfront Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our second stay at Wananavu so we decided to upgrade to the 'Villa' that overlooks the resort to treat ourselves and our teenage girls. OMG !! another nine days and nights of pure bliss in natural surroundings. Tranquil, secluded, beautiful staff. My wife and girls all got into the introductory dive thanks to the very experienced and patient operators of the dive team (thanks Jeremy and Kirsten). This resort allows you to do as much or as little as you wish. A must do, is the village tour combined with the walk to the unique waterfall nearby. To have the privilage to participate in the village culture, talk, walk and swim with this group of lovely people is something my girls will remember. The resort, village and Rakiraki itself were all eye openers for my teenage children. As we decided to upgrade to the 'Villa', we had this very large home to ourselves (its even better tahn the pictures). Whilst it sleeps up to ten, a couple of families would easily enjoy this experience for that added luxury (and splitting the cost). To have your own ten metre pool overlooking the stunning view, decking, huge bedrooms, bathrooms (outdoor showers!!) and leather lounges is certainly a very special place. Worth every dollar. Whilst the Villa was seperate from the resort, it was still only a few hundred metres away (two minute walk down hill, four minutes to get back!). As with our previous visit last year (no kids), we found the food was plentiful and varied. Staff are great and more than happy to assist with the language to make you feel relaxed. Bula to Carly, Ma and all the gang. Venaka

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newham, Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just returned from 10 days at Wananavu. We desperately needed a relaxing quiet holiday, booked an all inclusive package for meals and accommodation and the resort met our every expectation, the food was wonderful, varied, fresh and good quality, the wine list was reasonably priced, the accommodation was comfortable, well appointed and the staff were lovely. So a holiday for us that totally met our expectations, could not recommend it highly enough

Room Tip: Rooms are well sited with good space in between - lovely views - we were in an ocean view room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka, Fiji
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

A little get away from training to go enjoy some time away from the city. This beautiful property is set along a hillside overlooking the ocean and the islands off of Raki Raki. Extremely well maintained property that gives you the feeling of total seclusion through use of plants, trees and flowers. It was raining while I was there but that did not diminish from the wonderful time, beach front bure view or the enjoyability of this resort.
The food was quite nice and the sunset cannot be put into words.Dont miss out on a truely remarkable experience. Its WANANAVU.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Out of the way but a great place for divers. Dive shop and staff were the best. Resort is beautiful with plenty to do. Food was ok. The staff at restaurant was very friendly and a joy to have around. Massage was not bad. They have wireless available for a reasonable price. The only bad rap was at check out. We were not the only one with added charges that were not supposed to be on bill. It took some talking but we got all the charges off but one. The store over billed us too and we did not notice it until it was too late.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Only just over 2 hours from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wananavu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.