We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel but expensive meals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel to your Saves list
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, P.O. Box 31, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel but expensive meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night during May as part of a business trip. The hotel itself is quite comfortable. It has a nice reception area and restaurant too. The rooms are out the back and around a small swimming pool. They also have a pool table by the swimming pool. The hotel is set 5-10 minute drive outside of Rakiraki town and there is no shops or amenities within walking distance.
The room itself was quite large with a double and a single bed. The bed clothes were clean and the bed was comfortable. The cupboard to hang up clothes is actually in the bathroom but that didn’t matter and there was plenty of room to store clothes (but only one hanger!!). There was a good selection of tea bags to make tea in the room. The bathroom is ok – the shower has good water pressure and was nice and hot but the appearance of the bathroom overall is that it needs modernisation and some basic maintenance. The small toiletries selection in the bathroom was good. We had dinner at the hotel as there weren’t really any other options. I have eaten here before and I would say the food and service is average and expensive compared to other similar places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
14
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We spend several weeks of the year at the Rakiraki Hotel and have always enjoyed our time at the hotel. This year they have new management who I'm sure will maintain the positive familiarity of the hotel while enhancing the professionalism of staff and what the hotel offers.

Improvements are happening and we look forward to our visit in July.

Room Tip: Ask for down stairs as they don't have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stopped in at the Rakiraki Hotel for lunch on a trip around Veti Levu
From the time we walked in the door, the service couldn't be faulted.All the staff were so friendly and helpful. We found it hard to say goodbye when we left. We hope to return later this year

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

wow - what a change to the previous "resort" we stayed at! Lovely staff - friendly and happy to talk to you, clean fresh sheets on the bed and lovely clean floors. no mess swept into the corners! Air conditioning in the room, hot water shower that didnt smell of Bore water - it is lovely!
close to town and comfortable - we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and were looked after beautifully.
Our room was basic but clean and comfortable. The pool was clean and thee was a tennis court and bowling green nearby. Most of all we enjoyed our drinks in the lounge - a comfortable area where it was easy to meet and talk with other visitors. Our main meals were delicious and the omelettes for breakfast were the best.

Room Tip: Upstairs you get a good breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Q
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I am about to return to Fiji for the 5th time soon........and there will be no relaxed time until I go back to Rakiraki and catch up with "old friends". The very next morning upon landing in Nadi, my partner and I will hire a car and head due north to Lautoka and then on the Kings Rd to Rakiraki.........about a 3 -4 hr drive. We have stayed at the Rakiraki Hotel twice before when we have traversed Viti Levu and can only say "you get what you pay for" and so never expected resort style accommodation in the north. And may I say it is CLEAN and TIDY.
But like all OVER Fiji, the people are always friendly and welcoming and we always want to go back. No, the rooms aren't 5 star and the pool is small and the menu not extensive.........but that is not why you go "off the beaten track" to where true tourist resorts are scarce. THIS is the real Fiji, and the towns and villages, sights and people that you meet getting there!!
OK the Indian manager is a little bit reserved.......... he is Indian Fijian. But all his staff are Fijian ........and they are just beautiful people. They all happily advise where the best boating is........and Ellington Wharf is the place to go to adventure out on a local little fishing boat to explore the surrounding islands...........what an adventure that is!!! And so CHEAP ......... compared to the Coral Coast or the very touristy Denarau (which could be the port of Cairns now).
We have been welcomed in to the local school next door to the hotel, we have played island rugby football with the local young men after work till dark and then been invited into their village next door which was an honour. We have found young children who we have befriended and taken lollies and treats to, met their families and held their newest babies.
It has been an honour to stay in Rakiraki Hotel and be able to mix with the locals so easily. So much so that on this visit to Fiji, we want to take some gifts to our new found friends by taking some Aussie books and treats to the school next door and to the familes that we have befriended.
The relaxation by the pool on Denarau can wait until we have made the trek back to Rakiraki on our return to Fiji next month.
And to the last reviewer of this delightful place, well done.....I agree with your endorsements wholeheartedly so just "Remember where you are and enjoy the moment".
PS......a warning to those now planning to go up there..........the easiest way to get to Rakiraki is up thru Lautoka on the western side of Viti Levu.........a much better road than the Kings Rd north of Suva. Believe me...........we have driven on them all.......in the wet and the dry!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent 2 weeks exploring Fiji by 4wd staying at Rakiraki hotel for 3 nights.It's no the glitzy pseudo Fijian resorts to the south but a not overpriced genuine welcome haven at the north of the island. Staff and management, all very friendly and helpful, facilities clean and tidy, bed comfortable, pool warm and inviting, meals well presented and tasty. The chief even prepared a fresh water prawn curry (not on the menu) - delicious. Take the time and opportunity to talk to the hospitality training students from the pacific Islands who train in conjunction with the hotel. Visit the oldest sugar mill in Fiji.
Look- value from any experience depends on your contribution to it. Check your attitude, realise where you are, and experience a hint of colonial past in true Fiji.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel

Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box 31, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Elvoline ltd, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Rakiraki
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel Fiji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.