We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New wing is spectacular!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tanoa Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Dr | PO Box 4653, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“New wing is spectacular!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for only one night at the end of our trip as we had pre-booked the next night in Nadi. What a jewel! Our room in the new wing (recently constructed) was nothing short of spectacular with all the bells and whistles. We paid less than $90 per night for a room that would have cost well over $350 in Canada or the U.S. The view of the ocean was superb and the pool area was very nice. Our only regret was we were there for only one night. If you are staying in Lautoka (or Nadi for that matter) look no further but make sure you stay in the new wing!

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing. The older wing is fine but not in the same league.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Bula Joel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I was delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Hope you can stay longer on your next visit.

I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    66
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
43
42
13
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

well it was very nice to visit senibua spa and the therapist there who give mee n my husband some loverly treatment massages and facial we will some soon some time to visit u sharon n ur spa thanks to all

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bula Pam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I was delighted to read how you enjoyed the massage at the hotel.I have shared your comments with spa ladies.
This feedback will surely be beneficial for other travellers. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.
Vinaka and regards,
Narend Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Clean, quite, very friendly staff. We stayed there before a cruise that left from Fiji. Much less expensive that the hotel the cruise line suggested. Nothing really to do in the town. We walked around but that was it. If you are there for several days I suggest that you book some tours or snorkeling while you are there. I would stay again. The food in the hotel was very good. Lots of flowers. A nice little balcony.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Bula,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review,its always a pleasure to receive positive feed back from our valued guests.
This feedback will surely be beneficial for other travellers. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I recently travelled to fiji for a wedding reception in Waterfront hotel in Lautoka, as buffet was served, i picked out a clean plate and a cockroach was seen . A woman yelled out cockroach and the buffet organiser ( slim indian guy) quickly took the plate in the restaurant to show the head chef. Shame on , reading this reviews , i urge Waterfront hotel groups to practice hygiene standards. I visited on January 5-10 2013.

Kind regards

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Bula Alvin
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. Your comment has been taken as serious issue and this is far from acceptable and I apologise for this. I have forwarded it to our pest control contractors to ensure that this is addressed as soon as possible.
I am concerned and briefed my team accordingly. Our kitchen and restaurant are regularly inspected by health inspectors and be assured that we practise food safety at the Hotel. On a separate note, apprecite if you can email me further details of the incident so that I can throughly investigate (wfhmanager@tanoahotels.com.fj).
Thank you again for sharing your experience,please feel free to contact me should your travel plans bring you back to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel as it will be my pleasure to be of your assistance.
Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautoka, Fiji
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice clean room (executive) with doors opening to the pool. High cost on Internet (40FJD/day) for use on one device only at a time. Breakfast continental 43 FJD for 2 is also alot considering that you have other options across the park. You get help with your bags upon arrival. Silent and efficient air condition. No beach available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Bula Andreas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review,I have taken your comments and shared them with the team, I appreciate also the constructive feed back you provided.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is my second time here this year and I have several more trips planned next year unfortunately for me all for business but even for pleasure I would stay here.
The chef and bar manager are absolutely outstanding and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome.
The housekeepers etc are also very accommodating and friendly.
Check-in can be a bit dicey if you dont appear on their list but not enough to detract you from their warm hospitality.
Overall a clean, comfortable establishment with caring and happy staff, I wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else in Lautoka.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you can afford it I would recommend an executive room or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Bula Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel and again for taking out your valuable time to post this wonderful detailed review.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will be shared with the team. This feedback will surely be beneficial for other travellers. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.

Please feel free to contact me should your travel plans bring you back to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel as it will be my pleasure to be of your assistance.
Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was my second visit to the Waterfront this year. My previous comments about the staff and food remain - both are very good to excellent.
However in the intervening time the rooms have become more run down. On both trips I was with a number of colleagues so we were able to assess this on the basis of more than one room.
In particular I found the bathrooms to be below par for a property of this standard.
A bit of attention would be of great benefit to the hotel at this time!
An additional niggle was a large party right outside my room beside the small pool on my first night when I was looking forward to an early sleep. To the hotel's credit, when I complained they took action straight away!
I know they have a cyclone to deal with right now but I encourage the management to do some serious cleaning/ upgrades to the ground floor bathroms.
I hope that next time I stay at this property I can see some improvements!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Bula,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel and again for taking out your valuable time to post this review.All feedback, both positive and negative is important to us. We have throughly cleaned the property after the cyclone and we are currently planning to refurb superior ground floor rooms.
Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns, as we believe that it is your way of allowing us the chance to better ourselves.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Address: Marine Dr | PO Box 4653, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb waterfront location with sensational sunsets…Welcome to the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka, Fiji - the preferred Fiji hotel accommodation for the business traveller, conference delegate and holiday maker. This is an excellent stopover point for connections to and from the Mamanuca and Yasawa islands. Lautoka is the second largest city of Fiji and is the second port of entry in Fiji, after Suva. Lying in the heart of Fiji’s sugar cane growing regions, it is known as the Sugar City. It houses the Lautoka Sugar Mill which is the city’s biggest employer by far. From its superb Lautoka waterfront location you can witness sensational sunsets whilst enjoying a refreshing drink or an early dinner in Fins Restaurant. At the Fins Restaurant,we offer a wide range of both local and international fare between 6.30am and 11.30pm. We have 72 well-appointed guest accommodation rooms, each with individually controlled air conditioning for your comfort, and equipped with all guest amenities to suit both the busy executive and discerning leisure traveler. The rooms open out on to their own balcony or self contained patio which engenders the feeling of a cool relaxing space – ideal on ‘sticky’ tropical days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Tanoa Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.