We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Beach Resort to your Saves list
Anchorage Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed for one week from 18th-25th July paying $3000AUS which was the worst money we've ever spent. The staff were unfriendly, unhelpful and quite rude often ignoring us as well as service being very slow.

We didn't have hot water for 3 days for which we were told "the other rooms must have used it" which naturally, annoyed us more. We had paid for full board - VERY disappointing. The breakfast was poor - cereal, fruit and toast, and lunch and dinner very limited. Our one saving grace was our room - we stayed in a ocean view villa, which was nicely decorated and relatively clean.

Our safe was broken and we were told to come up to reception to put things in their safe, but as we were towards the bottom of the gigantic hill, putting money and valuables wasn't worth the time and effort. When our room was cleaned, we were often left without towels, and on top of not having any hot water was another annoyance.

The beach isn't a beach at all. The sea is very murky and you can only walk on the "beach" when the tide is out. The pool bar is never open, nor is the other bar at the top of the hill. It is advertised for having 2 bars, but only 1 is open which closes at 11pm. There is no regular evening entertainment, we often had staff members singing christmas songs. We were in bed around 9pm every evening as it was unbearable for us.

We visited Beachcomber Island, the Anchorage's partner hotel. In comparison to our resort it was a Godsend and we were so disappointed to be coming back to the Anchorage.

We advise people to NEVER go to this hotel, its a waste of money and time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    104
    65
    42
    39
See reviews for
79
139
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

First up I need to state that we booked this at a very good price, especially compared to going to Denarau or out to the Mamanuca's. So we weren't expecting any thing super flash and were pleasantly surprised by the ocean front spa rooms we were placed in. Our keys didn't fit the front doors but we could secure the room by exiting out the back door (which our keys did fit), the TV had only 2 channels, but the tvs we came across in town (at the Novotel) only had 3 working so it seems unless your property has the full sky digital in Fiji then the coverage is limited. Anyway we didn't need anything beyond the news, and the rugby (for my husband) played on the big screen at the bar.

The room had a lovely high roof with windows facing the sea, and the cane train comes right past the window twice a day which the kids loved. The large bathroom with spa bath and shower was also a pleasant surprise. I've seen the staff here be very indifferent, but actually they were very pleasant, and when we were up before 7 one morning they let us have coffee and toast even though breakfast hadn't started which was nice. Breakfast is limited but fine, kids loved the fruit. Our favourite was the fish bits off the bar snacks menu, the fish is fresh and quick cooked in a light crispy coating: delicious! Drinks are expensive, but you can buy also drinks and supplies from the store at the Vuda Marina which is extremely well priced and run by a very lovely Fijian lady. We also went around to a fantastic market at the Vuda Marina which runs every two weeks from 12-12 on a saturday, there were lots of craft stalls, a bouncy castle, kids art activities and then lots of people arrived for dinner, and the band was playing -really nice, lots for kids and adults. Vuda Marina is $5 taxi ride away or a pleasant walk down the railway tracks when it's not cane season. The taxi drivers are local, pleasant and in our experience don't try to rip you off like the strange Denarau ones do!

The beach is a mudflat, but the pool is actually pretty good, and the restaurant like the rooms is of a nice design with a pleasant deck. It's a resort with good bones and if you can get it at the right price then great for a couple of days, or as a stop at either end of your trip as it is an easy 20 minute run from the airport. And if you can get it for a great price like we did then it's quirky and quite pleasant. We recommend taking a day trip to an island (the nearest being only about 30mins away -closer than Denarau is), or ask about Liti tours from the local village right next door who do interesting guided local trips to Lautoka, mud pools, garden of the sleeping giant, waterfalls and the archaeological site of the old village which apparently dates back to 2000BC; all of these being closer to the Anchorage than pretty much any other resort....

So if you've booked this because it was a great price and come in with the right expectation then... well... not so bad!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

First of all, this is a three star hotel at best. The service was 'ok' most of the time, but on a number of occasions we had to approach the bar for drinks as the waitresses did not come to our table as they should have. We had to switch rooms because there were cockroaches in the bathroom and we were both covered in mosquito bites at the end of our stay so I don't believe this hotel fogs grounds like others we visited whilst on the island.

Secondly the location is perhaps the worst thing about this hotel. You have a feeling of being 'trapped' because there is nothing in walking distance except a bar/restaurant at the nearby marina. This wouldn't be a problem if there was something else to do in the hotel, but apart from a daytrip to Beachcomber Island (also owned by the same people who own The Anchorage), there's nothing. The TV's in our room only had two channels, both of which had terrible reception.

Beachcomber Island (also owned by the same people as The Anchorage) is 'OK' but is overpriced and less fun when compared to the other nearby islands such as Treasure Island and Manta Ray. We've been there three times over a period of two years and it's getting quieter and quieter and is starting to get a 'run down' feeling. On each occasion there was no DJ, just a CD player of some sort hooked up to the speaker system. Also noted that the entertainment is usually the same. Spoke to some long-term residents of Beachcomber who were training for their diving certificates and they said that the entertainment recycles every few days and the food isn't up to much for the money they paid.

Overall, I can see the attraction of The Anchorage if you are a couple looking for some serious peace and quiet, but I would definitely think twice about bringing children here for more than a couple of days. There's absolutely nothing to keep them interested apart from the pool, so god help you if it's raining. There is a pool table but it's seen much better days.

I'm not putting this hotel down completely, if you're looking for isolation and peace and quiet you should stay here as long as you're happy to sit next to the pool and don't want a beach. Be prepared to book taxis or just rent a car if you want to get to Lautoka or Nadi.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Thank you , thank you , thank you .
for yet another amazingly memorable holiday , we always find it hard to leave the anchorage , its our home away from home . the property owners are lovely the staff are beautiful , you'de be hard pressed to find a better location with this fabulos service any where in the world . every day is another day in paradise . if you are looking for a party location - go to beachcomber island , if your looking for a great family atmosphere or just a great place to relax this this is the place to be , we had a great time out fishing , went to beachcomber for the day , went shopping in luatoka , spent time at the local village and most of all still spent plenty of time resting and relaxing , sipping cocktails by the pool . the staff at the anchorage are more than accomodating in organising your day trips . see you again next year , we cant wait to come back . again thank you so very much
Bill & Jo

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights as part of a bigger tour of Fiji for our honeymoon. We stayed in an oceanfront spa room which are the closest to the restaurant/bar and swimming pool. We checked in quite late as our flight arrived late from Sydney but the reception staff were very friendly and gave us our key, remote control for the TV and one for the aircon too. We've never stayed in a hotel before that did this so maybe they go missing from the rooms a lot. The first thing I noticed was the TV remote which was really shabby and covered in tape to hold it together.

As our room was a fair walk down the hill from the reception, they arranged to take us and our luggage down in a van. As it was late and there was no other staff available, the manager of the resort drove us down and showed us to our room. The room was actually very nice, with a nice spa bath and separate shower. The bed was a good size and a nice touch was that someone had spelt 'Welcome' in fresh leaves on the bed sheet!

Now some things I didn't like about the room (that took me a while to notice):

1) The TV only has a couple of working channels, and both of those are pretty bad quality. Obviously you dont come to Fiji to watch TV but sometimes you just want to relax after dinner.
2) The shower was clean on first inspection but the grouting was actually very dirty especially around the door rollers.
3) We would often see ants in the bathroom and sometimes in the bedroom. There was also the occasional gecko (or whatever you call them) but you see these everywhere in Fiji anyway.

The food in the restaurant was actually very good, especialy the fish dishes which were amazing.

Now, here's the main reason I'm not recommending this hotel....

Most evenings we would go to the bar and enjoy the views across the bay. Every night we were there, the owner's behaviour was deplorable in front of the guests. He would often be shouting at the staff and being very rude, arguing with who I can only assume was his wife (who was also a very unpleasant person) and talking and swearing loudly on the phone, and being generally unpleasant. If I owned this hotel I would be doing all of this somewhere private and away from the guests. The staff were tolerating his behaviour but you can tell they were very embarrsed at being abused in public and I genuinely felt very sorry for them. They are clearly trying their best in terrible circumstances. If we were staying at the hotel with children I would be absolutely disgusted with his behavior. As we weren't, I simply won't be coming back until I hear that the hotel has changed its ownership.

On the bright side, the manager of the resort (a young british man) who had just started when we were there, was very professional and went out of his way to talk to the guests and clearly commanded the respect of the staff who worked in the bar and restaurant. Good luck to him as he clearly has his work cut out to turn things around at The Anchorage!

A few other observations:

1) The hotel says it has a beach but it has not. There's sand exposed at low tide but it's hardly very welcoming and often covered in litter and seaweed.
2) The pool is very large and very deep, but nowhere close to the 25 meters I've seen it advertised as!
3) The location of the hotel is very isolated and you need a car or taxi to take you anywhere.
4) Drinks are very expensive and stopped us buying enough to really get merry!
5) Food was excellent but the breakfast buffet was very poor and essentially just toast, jams and cereal. Anything else you want has to be paid for.
6) Pool bar was never open.
7) We seemed to be two of only a few guests staying at the hotel. It felt 'dead' at times which I suppose is fine if you're looking for peace and quiet.

Overall, The Anchorage has the potential to be a brilliant hotel. It has some really good staff working really hard to keep the guests happy in the face of some serious abuse by an owner who likes to drink his own bodyweight in booze every night. There's no way we'll ever come back until we know it's under new ownership.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

The ocean view spa we requested was the last at the bottom of the hill and had a great view and nice ocean breeze. We were delighted each day by the cane train traveling through the hotel grounds just outside our rooms. It also travels at night, but the sleep is so restful that it didn't really disturb. Much time was spent on the deck outside of the room and on the beach reading. The meals were very good and the staff there accommodating, however the prep time was quite slow. We enjoyed the pool which was almost always empty and the beach which was uncrowded. A delightful place to spend 2 weeks and I wish we could go back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We found the resort to be exactly what we expected for a 3star resort in Fiji, yes the rooms and facilities are a bit dated, however we could not fault the staff who were very friendly and helpful in offering information on places to go and things to see.
We visited a 5star resort and found the staff there sour and unfriendly we could not wait to get back to the anchorage where we were always acknowledged and made welcome.
The food was quite acceptable, breakfast is a very basic continental breakfast with fruit,cereal and toast,cooked breakfast was available on request, their restaurant menu had seafood,chicken,beef and pork selections and they were willing to cook anything that you asked for.
The location is in a quiet little spot with a lovely outlook for watching sunsets and enjoying the view back over to Nadi and Denerau.
We swam in the beach at high tide and the water was fine. The pool was always clean and perfect for swimming. The tv reception was not fantastic but who goes on holidays to spend it watching tv!
Would recommend hiring a car as it is very easy to drive around Fiji and the resort is tucked away near the Vuda Marina.
Overall we had a wonderful relaxing holiday and would have no hesitation in returning. We got exactly what we paid for and loved every moment of it!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.