We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Beach Resort to your Saves list
Anchorage Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Thank you to Si and Clive, they made us feel very welcome, will be coming back next year. close to everything. wish we stayed longer. Next time we will stay longer.Walk the tracks and you come to a village which s only 5/ 10 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bula Christine,
Thanks for your review. Si and Clive are indeed great ambassadors of Fijian hospitality and friendliness and we are lucky to have them on the team.
It will be great you see you upon your return.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    113
    70
    44
    43
See reviews for
85
148
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Worst stay ever. Avoid this place if you can. Nothing good to say at all except for leaving. Shivin an indian reception clerk at front desk is a shifty conman who will try and rip you off with Taxi's . Place is rundown and old and neglected. My bathroom stunk of vomit. Shower head was no good had to try and shower with it in one hand while it was pointed in the wrong direction and mountain view spas old and dirty. Food overpriced and not at all edible. Just stay away

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bula Disappointed1
Whilst it is disappointing to read your review and it appears that our property was a mismatch to your own expectations, the vast majority of our guests pass positive feedback about everything that makes the Anchorage special and memorable for them.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very pleasant resort.Ideal for island hopping and we also visited mud baths and orchids of the sleeping giant.You may need a taxi to take you to these.You can negotiate a set fee.Very pleasant staff both here and on Beachcomber.The pool is beautifically clean and nice sun loungers scattered around where you can read a book and sunbathe.We equally walked the track.went to the village and first landing resort nearby the marina.If I had any suggestion I would suggest that there needs to be a collective effort by all local residents to clean up the environment.the amount of discarded rubbish just outside the resorts perimeter and behind the Splash caravan is rather concerning.The villagers who I see are supplied with skips prefer to burn there rubbish rather than dispose of it through the skip service.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are more expensive,lovely views, and there is a sugar train which passes through a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bula Simon,
Thanks your your review. Yes, the Anchorage is a good base to visit the local attractions and to go island hopping from. A lot of the rubbish that washes up on beaches is the result of it being disposed of in rivers in the surrounding area and it then washes up with the next high tide. All our resort waste is removed at least once a day by Carpenters Shipping.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just finishing our week stay at this lovely resort. Great base for island hopping, island day trips, or catching the local buses to Lautoka or Nadi. Walk the train track to Vuda Marina for lunch and a drink. Walk the track towards the village to catch the bus without having to climb the hill! Lots of options here. Not to mention the lovely staff, Si, Clive and Iessi in the restaurant. Dont forget to have a wonderful massage in their new beauty bure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bula Twebb21
Thank you for your wonderful review. As a Top Contributor on Trip Advisor, your comments are highly valued. We do hope you return to the Anchorage in the future and again enjoy everything that makes the Anchorage so special.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Anchorage for a month and during that time we were made to feel like members of a big family. The staff here are joyful, talkative and very keen to make sure you have everything you need. Clive hosts the breakfast show with characteristic energy and style, ably helped by Mere and Viri. Alassi, Si and Andi (and the Serenaders) make sure dinner is a mini-celebration. Sam and Tulia are models of efficiency on reception. All in all we had a really good time.

THE OWNERS could really make the most of the gorgeous setting and great staff by paying attention to a series of less than satisfactory customer interfaces. Room safes that don't work, plastic plates at breakfast, no saucers or tea spoons, wooden decking with raised nails - these are the small details that counter balance the positives. And there's a sugar cane train running right through the resort - idiosyncratically photogenic during the day, less entertaining at 3.30 in the morning. And again at 5.30. Nothing the management can do about that, but they really should attend to the details.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are also beside the rail lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bula Ian,
Than you for your mainly positive review. We have taken on board your comments about the areas where improvement is required.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Anchorage is a great place to stay, the staff are so friendly and helpful! Management was very helpful during our stay to help make plans for trips to different places around Fiji. As mentioned earlier the staff were excellent and were definitely the best part of staying there! They are always so happy and kind. Some of my favourite staff are Clive, Tulia and Liku as they are always so friendly to everyone. In the rooms the bathrooms aren't the cleanest, but you get what you pay for! Overall our trip was a great one where it wouldn't have been nearly as great without being at the Anchorage!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Bula Hadyn,
Thanks for your wonderful review and we are very happy that your trip was so memorable. We do have many fantastic staff, whose names you see repeated here often.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Anchorage Beach Resort Lautoka Fiji 30/6/14 - 5/7/14. This is the second time we have stayed here and we will be going back for a 3RD!! We took our teenage kids with us this time and they had an awesome time.

The staff are so friendly and helpful - especially Clive, Tulia, Leku and ANU. They all remembered us from last year and that made us feel like we hadn't left. A huge THANKYOU goes to ANU for all her help - she went out of her way to ensure we really appreciated this and we have promised her that we will back!

For the price it is exceptional value and a great place to base your stay. Head off to the local villages or islands (I recommend the Beachcomber Island day trip) or spend a day in Lautoka (the markets) or to Nadi and Port Denarau. The resort offers watersports activities out at Beachcomber Island and Funky Fish Resort (Anu is going to make sure we get there next time!)

The rooms are more than adequate and the beds are comfortable. - this time we stayed in an Ocean Front Spa room so we didn't have to walk up and down the hill all the time (lazy I know but we were on holidays). Absolutely love how the sugar cane train rattles through the resort day or night....right in front of our room (and no....this didn't bother us - it was actually quite unique.

Transport was available to get into the towns and we used taxis as they were quite cheap (about $15 FJD) to go in to Nadi or Lautoka.

If you want an honest, friendly and down to earth resort (without the over-rated 5 star bells and whistles) this IS the way to go.

Do yourselves a favour and try it out... you wont regret it! We might see you there when we go back for our 3RD stay!!!

Cheers

Room Tip: Ask for a room down by the restaurant and pool if you don't want to be walking up and down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Bula Lester,
Thanks for your wonderful review. We do have many fantastic staff, whose names you see repeated here often. The day trips we offer to our other resorts, Beachcomber and Funky Fish, are great opportunities to get away from the mainland for a day and enjoy the marine environment and catch some sun on the beach.
Looking forward to seeing you again for the third time.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.