We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added First Landing Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Lautoka
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
514 helpful votes 514 helpful votes
“VERY Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We originally chose this particular resort after a lot of research and checking of the internet and the hotel's website. We had spent 3 wonderful weeks staying in the Cook Islands, New Zealand and a week on one of Fiji's outer Islands (Matamanoa) and had the most fantastic time. We had planned to stay 3 nights at the First Landing Beach Resort as we thought it would be nice to spend our last few days on Nadi having a look around a bigger place, checking out the shops etc and just relaxing before the 2 long flights home.
This resort has its own beach and pool and I thought it would be just right. On the internet it looked beautiful and we decided to book a garden bure.
On arrival, the reception staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and we were greeted with a lovely cold drink, but the walk through reception and to our bure was a let down - everywhere looked very neglected. Our garden bure that we had looked forward to was nothing more than a ply-wood shed in my opinion. Plain plywood walls, high ceiling with beams, but quite smallish and very, very dark and dank smelling. There was an enclosed verandah area covered on all sides with ripped mosquito/fly netting - the area was full of moths and bugs, so was hardly mozzie proof. The room was very dark and even on going round putting all the lights on - 3 small wall lights, 2 small bedside lights and one tiny table lamp - it was still too dark. I had to lean very close to my bedside lamp to be able to read!
The 2 white walls were dirty and stained with mozzie bodies and the floor was very dusty; the skirting boards with thick with grey dust!
There was a double bed and a single bed, 2 small bedside tables, 2 armchairs and a small desk area with chair. The air conditioning wasn't working when we arrived and we had to call an engineer to fix it. The air con only works when you are in the room and place your key in the slot, so every time you leave the room, you come back to stifling heat and have to wait for the air con to kick in and cool things down again.
There was a small wardrobe with 5 hangers! Tea/coffee making facilities and a few cupboards and drawers. An extremely dark corner area for suitcases - not that you'd be able to pack properly as it's almost pitch black!
The bathroom was fairly small with WC and walk in shower - nowhere to put anything at all in the shower apart from a wall mounted soap dish that was disgusting - it was filthy and had almost an inch of dried soap stuck underneath it - yeuk it was like candle wax! No hairdryer and not even a plug for the sink! No iron or ironing board. There were toilettries supplied with the usual shampoo, conditioner etc and lumps of possibly the worst smelling soap it has ever been my misfortune to use! It left your hands stinking like stale sweat - luckily I had my own.
I was feeling quite miserable by this time and really not happy about the accommodation at all. We had planned this 'holiday of a lifetime' really carefully for more than a year and this really was't what we'd had in mind. We decided to put up with it as it was only for 3 nights and to make the best of things and try to enjoy ourselves.
We came across the pool area and, again I was struck by how neglected it looked. The pool with covered with leaves floating on it and the bottom looked black and filthy, with tiles missing - not at all like the internet pictures! A few tired and broken looking sunbeds were scattered around this sad and neglected area. A manky pool table completed the scene.
We were really starving hungry and decided to to get a snack for lunch and walked down to the beach restaurant which was below some palm trees on the beach. I had to move tables as so much folliage was dropping on my head and would have ended up in my meal. A few tables, complete with those green plastic garden chairs completed the 'beach restaurant'. Our table was dirty and the cutlery wasn't clean, in fact my knife had large chunks of dried bird poo stuck to it - very old dried bird poo! The napkins seemed dusty and the side plates were rather grubby. So we ordered a plain bula burger and a cheese burger (mine being without cheese as I don't like it) - the order came back wrong and I had to send mine back. The waitress was very unfriendly despite it being her mistake. Thought I'd put a little salt on my fries but the salt had moulded itself into one solid lump and was unusable. The meal wasn't particularly nice, but we were very hungry so just ate what we could. Only 3 nights - we'd make the best of it.
A walk along the lovely beach would cheer us up a bit so off we went. Oh dear, more let down. The sand was more like car park gravel and the beach was covered with large rocks and rubble with lumps and holes everywhere. We walked further towards the waters edge and the water seemed very cloudy and murky - not really the sort of water you'd actually want to swim or snorkel in. There were a few broken and tatty looking beach chairs.
We went back to our room to unpack - the air con had been fixed by this time. Within 5 minutes of walking round the room barefoot, my husband's feet were black! I kept my flip-flops on.
The resort is an awful long way from anywhere, so a walk to local shops was out. But we did walk through the resort to the harbour area behind and found a really nice general store which sold all sorts of goodies and snacks - which kept us going. And the prices were a quarter of what they were in the hotel. We went there daily for large bottles of Fiji water and beers and stuff.
Just along from the harbour is the Vuda Yacht Club Bar and Restaurant and we went there for most of our meals - really nice and much better than our hotel.
The next day the pool had been cleared of all the leaves, so after breakfast we decided to try it out - the bottom was still dirty and many tiles were missing round the pool area. My swimming costume is covered in catches and will now need replacing - this is from sitting on the steps and on the side of the pool!

Breakfast - stodgy thick toast, cereals, very strong concentrated fruit juice, coffee, a small bit of fruit or pancakes - nothing very special. You could order a cooked breakfast if you wanted, which my husband did on the 2nd morning. Eggs, bacon and sausages. He said it wasn't very nice, the bacon was cooked to one hard lump and I tried a small chunk to discover that it tasted heavily of fish - obviously fried in the same oil.
We had to go in search of beach towels as the pool hut seemed to be deserted. 2 were sent to our rooms and we had to use them again the next day!
Showering was really, in our opinion, quite dangerous and a total nightmare. You could fiddle away with the taps for ages but it didn't help, the shower constantly ran either scalding/freezing/scalding/freezing and nothing in between. We were jumping in and out trying not to get burnt or frozen - very dangerous if you have young children. The floor of the shower was always wet and had half an inch of stale water left in it - very slippery.
Because of the grounds and the foliage everywhere, you really have to coat yourself from head to toe in insect repellent, which we both did constantly, especially early in the morning and around 4pm. Despite this, we were both bitten - the blighters even bite through your clothes!
In our time at this place, we only saw one woman go into the water on the beach and she came out almost immediately. Most people seemed to just be staying only 1 or 2 nights at the most before going home or having just arrived and the place wasn't crowded ever. We spent our days sitting by the pool or walking round the harbour just counting down the days till we could go home - ridiculous when you think this was supposed to be our luxury holiday!
I must say that some of the other guests we met were quite happy with the place. They were staying in much bigger garden villas with their own pools - and their showers were fine and their rooms were very tidy and apparently clean.
On our last day we had an evening flight and the reception had kindly arranged for a courtesy room for us. It was a very tiny garden bure at the back of the property, with a tiny double bed in a really small room; the shower door wasn't attached properly but we didn't care, the shower was really powerful and we both had the longest and best shower we'd had in 3 days! We actually felt clean and refreshed!
Our friends on the other hand, had been given a courtesy room of a garden bure - similar to the one we'd had to endure and they couldn't believe the difference from their original garden villa. They complained that it was really dark and dirty and were so pleased that they hadn't had to put up with it for the duration of their time there.
So, all in all, steer clear of the garden bures - they are awful. Personally, we would not recommend this resort. It's dirty, very neglected and miles from anywhere. Don't be fooled as we were by the internet site with the clever photos. I don't know what we would have done without the harbour to walk round, the general store and the Vuda Yacht Club!! The last 3 nights of our holiday was really ruined staying here and we'd had the most fantastic time everywhere else - such a shame we chose this place to end up in.

  • Liked — Staff were friendly
  • Disliked — Very dirty rooms and the resort was extremely neglected
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    160
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
114
207
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We had read other reviews before we travelled to this resort. This was our first visit to Fiji. The resort is a secluded and quiet location, we stayed in a garden bure which had a spa bath in the bathroom, it was very clean and well looked after by the staff during ourstay with fresh flower decorations every day.

The staff were excellent, friendly, they all took the trouble to ensure they knew your name and they were prepared to go to any extra trouble to assist.

The food was very good, with a varied menu and snack menu withg a range of Pizza's, something for everyone.

We have no hesitation in recommending this resortand will be returning in the near future.

  • Liked — The whole ambience, attitude of staff, location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

After our 3 week thrash around NZ we decided that a few days in Fiji would allow us to calm down and relax. Choosing a hotel in Fiji was difficult but First Land ing was near the airport so didn't involve even more one night stays.
Transport was a little worrying , but we got there quite quickly and the welcome was genuine. Our Garden villa provided us with our own pool and privacy. It was very comfortable and fully air conditioned. The washing machine was missing but they offered to do any washing for free. The villa could have been cleaner ,our room maid was very cheerful but could have spent a little more time with a mop .Generally the place was fine.Set in lovely gardens and right on the beach.Very tidal ,strange that ,must be something natural.
We were well satisfied with the food and service was very friendly.
All in ,we really enjoyed our time here. It felt much more genuine Fiji .I suppose if you want a fully sanitised room built to an anywhere standard ,then it might not hit the spot. We had a TV but only about 3 channels.....so what , plenty of time for TV when home.
Conclusion.....we fully enjoyed our stay ,the staff were golden ,we thought the price and quality of food was excellent ,the weather treated us quite well and we were relaxed ready for the next part of our holiday.
PS NO fish fingers!!

  • Liked — Space
  • Disliked — A little more maintenance
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

2 Adults and 2 children 4 & 5 years old,5 nights, although this resort is rated 3 1/2 I would make it more 3.We try 2 different resorts each year & this would be the lowest(Shangri-la the best). Although we were prepared,we got eaten alive by mossies,you had to pay for replellant(some resorts kindly provide it).The food was limited,boring and very pricey,the kids lived on chips,chips and more chips as there wasnt much else for them(not sure why they dont provide nuggets,fish fingers etc) and they took along time to deliver your meals.
The rooms were ok,great large bed and well set up for the kids in separate beds.Cleaners daily forgot to deliver fresh towels.
We tried to upgrade as they advertised at reception,but unfortunately they must have been full,although the resort didnt seem full at the time.Peni was great but unfortunately the activities for the kids didnt happen,raining for 3 days,they just didnt cater for the few kids that we there.
The pool was good,deck chairs/tables very old .
Overall it was about 4 nights too long,small resort and a budget one. Not one of our favourites that for sure.....

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Expensive,didnt accommodate families
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Where do we begin, perhaps from the shoddy car that picked us up from the airport. We had booked one of the new deluxe garden bures which had a seperate kitchen , bedroom and living room, as we have a 8 month old baby so wanted some space. When we arrived we were shown to a very very average bure right at the back of the resort, while I like things to be tidy I am not a clean freak, but I have to say I didn't even want our daughter crawling on the floor. The cleaners attention to detail was non existent, there was excrement on the wall by the toilet. When you opened the kitchen cupboards they stunk of mice. We were so disppointed as we were paying over NZ$300 for this bure. When we told staff the next day we weren't happy they said would we like to move to another bure, they showed us the Deluxe garden bure which we should have been into start with! It was 10 times better than what we were in, but we were furious at being ripped off as we should have been in this room to start with.
We also weren't impressed by the food at the restaurant which was very pricey. My husband and I ordered a prawn cocktail which cost $18 and we got 3 prawns each and a bit of lettuce.
The breakfast was terrible, they didn't even have a banana they could give our daughter.

Basically this resort is very very tired and needs a good makeover. You can't walk on the beach in barefeet as it is covered in coral.
We wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone, especially if you have children. After one night we left and moved to a 5star resort which cost much less!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness and being ripped off
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Our family of 2 adults and 2 young kids stayed for one night in a one bedroom garden deluxe bure. The bure was very large with everthing one would need for a home away from home feel. The bure was very new and had a kitchen with a microwave and dishwasher, there was a washer and dryer in the bathroom. The batroom had a spa bath and outdoor shower. I would not say that the bure was spotless but it was clean enough. We really enjoyed our evening meal, apart from Toberua this would have to be the best meal we have had in Fiji and our waiter Esemeli was very nice. The resort has a nice pool area and resort shop as well. I would say that this resort would make a great alternative to a airport hotel as it has more of an island feel, but it would also be a great base for day tours of Viti Levu.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

First off let me say that the previous two posters must have stayed at a different First Landing or were expecting (and paid for) the Hilton.
For our first Fiji experience, the First Landing took a little adjusting to. The final stage of the drive into the place past the oil tanks is less than inspiring as is the bland frontage but once you walk down the covered path into the place it definitely improves.
We stayed in a Garden Villa and were delighted with it. Heaps of space, our own pool, privacy, half the price of Denarau (which is as genuine as Disneyworld) - great! We made friends with folks in a garden bure and found it spacious but dark. And clean - everything was clean - spotless in fact - even the loos at the bar.
All said, Fiji is about the islands - not Viti Levu. We day tripped to Castaway, Plantation, Mololo, Bounty and Beachcomber and will happily stay on Castaway or Plantation (we're adults and Bounty and Beachcomber are backpacker places) in a heartbeat.
First Landing is a good spot to spend a couple days on your way in or out of the islands to do that shopping trip to Lautoka or whatever. We drove the Coral Coast - its nice (Shangri La is lovely) but the islands are the go. I'd think twice and do careful research about staying anywhere else in Nadi or Lautoka as most of the rest is very ordinary or very expensive (like Denarau).
The bar and restaurant are excellent in our opinion and the lady (Marianne?) who manages the restaurant at night is a delight - can't do enough for you. Even if you stay elsewhere its worth coming here to eat - better yet, book a trip with the resort on the launch Alexander to the outer Mamucalas with Lai at the helm and have the best day ever boating, swimming and snorkelling then have dinner at the Landing after the cruise. At $150 Fiji a head its the best thing we did in Fiji.
The staff here are friendly and attentive - sometimes you might have to remind somebody or ask twice - but its Fiji for Pete's sake, not New York so just chill out and relax.

  • Liked — Restaurant, the Villa and trips on the Alexander
  • Disliked — The drive into it.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First Landing Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Landing Beach Resort & Villas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our first guests arrived 3,500 years ago and liked the place so much, they stayed ...According to local legend, the first Fijians arrived around 1500 BC, landing on the beach at First Landing. Today, you too can discover and enjoy this intimate, authentic Fijian resort, ideally located only 25 minutes away from Nadi and 35 minutes from Denarau Island, for your Fiji holiday. The resort has easy access to the nearby Mamanuca Islands, by boat from the resort’s new jetty or adjacent Vuda Yacht Marina daily. The resort is nestled amidst magnificent tropical gardens, majestic palms and massive rain trees, just 15 minutes by road from Nadi Airport, and blessed with one of the only white sand beaches in the Nadi area. The beach faces due west, giving breathtaking sunsets across the nearby islands. We are a small, owner-operated resort, featuring a range of accommodation options from Fijian style Bures to our two bedroom, luxurious, self-catering Royal Villa or Garden Villas, each situated in their own enclosed tropical garden with a full sized pool. We also have a lively bar and popular beachside restaurant. We pride ourselves on personal attention to our guests, and the genuine hospitality of our staff will ensure your stay is a memorable one. First Landing Beach Resort is the perfect location for a destination stay in Fiji, in combination with an outer island resort or cruise or a short stop-over in Fiji due to our location. Come and learn about the fascinating history, culture and natural heritage of this very special place.First Landing Beach Resort is famous for our true Bula Pride and Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your First Landing Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Lautoka
First Landing Beach Resort And Villas
1st Landing Beach Resort & Villas
First Landing Beach Hotel
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.